Seltorexant, developed by Janssen as JNJ-42847922 and earlier as MIN-202, blocks the orexin-2 receptor selectively, unlike the approved insomnia drugs that block both orexin receptors.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: JNJ-42847922, MIN-202, Seltorexantum, UNII AIS8N3O50B, CHEMBL3586436, DTXSID201336125
Amounts reported for Seltorexant are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Seltorexant
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 6 clinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical6 rows
Phase 2b adaptive dose-finding as an add-on in depression287 randomised patients with major depressive disorder who had responded inadequately to 1 to 3 antidepressants, aged 18 to 70
20 mg or 40 mg once daily at first; later patients were assigned 10 mg or 20 mg after the 40 mg arm was dropped
Once daily
Oral capsules, on top of the patient's existing antidepressant
The 20 mg dose improved depression scores against placebo at week 3 and showed a smaller, non-significant difference at week 6. Patients who entered with an Insomnia Severity Index of 15 or more improved considerably more than those below it, which is the finding that shaped the later programme. The 40 mg arm was stopped at the interim analysis, and the common adverse events were sleepiness, headache and nausea.
Phase 3 add-on trial with long-term extension588 adult and elderly patients aged 18 to 74 with major depressive disorder and insomnia symptoms, on an inadequately effective antidepressant
20 mg once daily
Once daily
Oral tablets, added to the existing antidepressant
A double-blind phase to day 43, then an open-label extension running to about 52 weeksNone described
The registry record is complete with results posted, built around change in the clinician-rated depression scale at day 43 plus sleep-disturbance and response measures. The long-term phase tracked adverse events of special interest for this drug class, including cataplexy, sleep paralysis, parasomnias such as sleepwalking and sleep terrors, falls and motor vehicle accidents, which is the safety profile regulators look at for orexin antagonists.
First proof-of-concept study in depression47 patients with major depressive disorder, compared against both placebo and diphenhydramine
20 mg once daily
Once daily at night
Oral
Core effect measured at 10 days, with treatment continued to 28 daysNone described
Ten days of treatment improved core depressive symptoms against placebo and the gain held to 28 days, while the sedating antihistamine comparator did not work. The antidepressant effect appeared without obvious changes in the overnight sleep recording, which is the study's main argument that the effect is not simply sedation. The 20 mg dose was chosen from predicted receptor occupancy in earlier work, where doses of 10 to 80 mg were considered safe in healthy volunteers.
Single-dose sleep-laboratory crossover20 men and women with major depressive disorder on antidepressants who still had persistent insomnia
10 mg, 20 mg and 40 mg as single doses, each against placebo
Single doses in a four-way crossover with 7 days between them
Every dose shortened the time to persistent sleep against a placebo average of 61 minutes, and total sleep time and sleep efficiency both improved, measured by overnight polysomnography. The response flattened above 20 mg, which matches the later finding that 20 mg and not 40 mg carried the mood benefit. Only the 40 mg group showed a trend towards better self-rated mood after a single night.
Six-month exploratory comparison against quetiapine XR107 patients with major depressive disorder and inadequate response to 1 to 3 antidepressants
Flexible 20 mg or 40 mg once daily, against flexible quetiapine XR at 150 mg or 300 mg
Once daily
Oral, added to an SSRI or SNRI
24 weeks of double-blind treatment, with 2 weeks of follow-upNone described
Time to stopping the study drug, the primary endpoint, did not differ significantly between the two drugs. Patients whose most frequent dose was 20 mg improved more on depression scores than those on 40 mg or on quetiapine, again with a larger gain in those who entered with worse insomnia. Treatment-emergent adverse events were reported in 65.4 percent on seltorexant against 80.8 percent on quetiapine. This was an exploratory study and was not powered to prove a difference.
Ongoing Phase 3 programme752 planned adult and elderly patients with major depressive disorder and insomnia symptoms
Adjunctive seltorexant against placebo; the registry lists a 20 mg programme dose
One of several Phase 3 studies in this programme, which also includes a completed comparison against quetiapine XR in 757 patients, a terminated study of 212 patients and a monotherapy trial that began recruiting in 2026. A recruiting trial has no results, and a programme this size means the efficacy question is still open.
Community-reported1 row
Vendor capsule product
5 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle (300 mg total)
Not stated
Oral capsule
Not stated
Community resource2026
A vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. The capsule is a quarter of the 20 mg dose used in every positive trial, and seltorexant is an unapproved investigational drug, so nothing sold this way has been through the manufacturing or labelling controls applied to trial supply. The listing states the material is not for human use.
Plus 1 community resource (a dosing guide, forum thread or vendor write-up), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Seltorexant, developed by Janssen as JNJ-42847922 and earlier as MIN-202, blocks the orexin-2 receptor selectively, unlike the approved insomnia drugs that block both orexin receptors. The idea behind it is that excessive arousal is part of depression rather than just a symptom of it, so damping night-time arousal might lift mood as well as improve sleep. Across Phase 2 studies at 10, 20 and 40 mg once daily it shortened the time to fall asleep at every dose and improved depression scores at 20 mg, with the clearest benefit in patients who had marked insomnia at baseline, and it has since been taken into Phase 3 trials as an add-on to antidepressants in major depressive disorder with insomnia symptoms.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Phase 2b adaptive dose-finding as an add-on in depression
The 20 mg dose improved depression scores against placebo at week 3 and showed a smaller, non-significant difference at week 6. Patients who entered with an Insomnia Severity Index of 15 or more improved considerably.
3
Phase 3 add-on trial with long-term extension
The registry record is complete with results posted, built around change in the clinician-rated depression scale at day 43 plus sleep-disturbance and response measures. The long-term phase tracked adverse events of.
4
First proof-of-concept study in depression
Ten days of treatment improved core depressive symptoms against placebo and the gain held to 28 days, while the sedating antihistamine comparator did not work. The antidepressant effect appeared without obvious changes.
5
Single-dose sleep-laboratory crossover
Every dose shortened the time to persistent sleep against a placebo average of 61 minutes, and total sleep time and sleep efficiency both improved, measured by overnight polysomnography. The response flattened above 20.
6
Six-month exploratory comparison against quetiapine XR
Time to stopping the study drug, the primary endpoint, did not differ significantly between the two drugs. Patients whose most frequent dose was 20 mg improved more on depression scores than those on 40 mg or on.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
6 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Not graded
Community-reported use
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Seltorexant. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
JNJ-42847922, MIN-202, Seltorexantum, UNII AIS8N3O50B, CHEMBL3586436, DTXSID201336125