Important limitations
- Safety, Limitations, and Cautions: Important limits of the current evidence
- Future Research: What would need to be clarified next
9-Me-BC (9-methyl-beta-carboline, 9-methylnorharmane) is a small synthetic beta-carboline, a class of pyridoindole compounds that also occurs in cooked food, tobacco smoke and the human body.
No mass-based amount example with adequate calculation context is available for this compound. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No clinical amount or schedule is inferred from this material. Source verification is pending, and every displayed amount remains educational context rather than guidance.
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
| Context | Dose | Frequency | Route | Course | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preclinical4 rows | |||||
| Rat MPP+ Parkinson model, intraventricular infusionRats pretreated with the neurotoxin MPP+ into the left cerebral ventricle for 28 days | 0.48 µmol/kg (about 87 mcg/kg), the figure as summarized in a 2011 review of the study | Continuous delivery over the treatment period | Into the left cerebral ventricle | 14 days after the 28-day toxin phaseNot applicable | Pharmacological Reports (PubMed)2010 |
| After the toxin had lowered striatal dopamine by about half, 14 days of 9-Me-BC restored dopamine in the treated striatum, returned tyrosine hydroxylase-positive cell counts in the substantia nigra to normal and raised complex I activity and expression of several neurotrophic factors. The drug went straight into the brain, so the study says nothing about how much of an oral or injected dose would reach it. | |||||
| Rat spatial learning studyFemale Wistar rats tested in an eight-arm radial maze | 2 µmol per 100 g body weight (about 3.6 mg/kg), the figure as reported by later papers describing the study | Once daily injection | Systemic injection | 5 or 10 daysNot applicable | Journal of Neurochemistry (PubMed)2012 |
| Ten days of treatment, but not five, improved spatial learning, raised hippocampal dopamine and produced longer, more branched dendrites with more spines on dentate gyrus granule neurons. The abstract gives the duration but not the dose, which is quoted here from secondary descriptions of the paper, and the work has not been repeated in another laboratory. | |||||
| In vivo dose range summarized in a 2011 reviewMice (toxicity studies) and rats (protective study) | 0.25 mmol/kg (about 46 mg/kg) produced toxic effects in mice; 0.48 µmol/kg (about 87 mcg/kg) was protective in rats | Repeated daily dosing in the toxicity work (7 days in the 1998 mouse study) | Systemic in mice; intraventricular in rats | 7-14 daysNot applicable | Expert Review of Neurotherapeutics (PubMed)2011 |
| The review by the Dresden group points out that the same molecule caused bradykinesia and dopamine loss in mice at a dose roughly 500 times higher than the dose that protected rat dopamine neurons, and that the pharmacological range needed in vivo is unknown. The 1998 mouse study attributed the toxicity to conversion of 9-Me-BC into a di-N-methylated cation in the brain. | |||||
| Enzyme and astrocyte culture concentrationsRecombinant monoamine oxidase assays and mouse midbrain and cortical astrocyte cultures | IC50 of 1 µM against MAO-A and 15.5 µM against MAO-B | Single exposure | In vitro | Not applicableNot applicable | Journal of Neural Transmission (PubMed Central)2020 |
| The 2020 paper found that 9-Me-BC inhibits both monoamine oxidase isoforms, with MAO-A inhibited at a far lower concentration, and that astrocytes exposed to it raise expression of Artn, Bdnf, Egln1, Tgfb2 and Ncam1 through the PI3K pathway. The authors treat the MAO inhibition as a possible explanation for earlier dopamine findings in culture and state that in vivo tolerance and side effects still have to be shown. | |||||
| Community-reported3 rows | |||||
| Community sublingual protocol | 15-30 mg | Once daily, usually in the morning | Sublingual powder held under the tongue for 1-2 minutes (some users report nasal use) | 2-4 weeksOff period equal to the time on, described as allowing MAO enzyme recovery | Community resource2026 |
| A vendor-affiliated 2026 guide collects self-reported protocols and is explicit that none of them is medically validated and that no human dose, half-life or toxicity data exist. It also describes the powder as light-sensitive, advises amber containers and refrigeration, and relays community advice to reduce sun exposure during a cycle. | |||||
| Tiered oral ramp from a dosage guide | 5 mg to start; 10-15 mg mid-range; 20-25 mg upper tier | Once daily in the morning, with food at the starting tier | Oral | 1-2 weeks at the starting dose, then blocks of about 4 weeksShort blocks with breaks rather than continuous use | Community resource2026 |
| This 2026 guide frames every figure as forum practice extrapolated from community reports and says there is no rodent-to-human dose scaling, no ceiling and no human toxicology. It applies MAOI-style precautions because of the in vitro MAO-A inhibition, warning against serotonergic drugs, stimulants and tyramine-rich foods. | |||||
| Retail capsule listing, no validated dose | 15 mg per capsule (retailer listing only) | Not stated; the site declines to give a schedule | Oral capsule | Not statedNot stated | Community resource2026 |
| An evidence-grading site updated in July 2026 lists the one capsule strength it found on sale and states that it is retail context rather than a validated human dose. It grades every claimed effect as preclinical only and flags the MAO-A and MAO-B inhibition as an unmapped interaction risk. | |||||
Community guides describe starting at about 5 mg once in the morning and holding there for one to two weeks to judge tolerance, with sleep disruption, headache and overstimulation the effects most often reported early. No human data define what a starting dose should be.
The most quoted band is 10-15 mg by mouth or 15-30 mg sublingually once daily, with light-protected storage and reduced sun exposure described for the duration. Guides describe the effect as cumulative rather than acute and tie the limited cycle length to the lack of long-term safety data.
Cycles of two to four weeks are followed by an off period at least as long, which guides justify by the continuous MAO inhibition seen in vitro and the absence of any chronic-use data. No source describes a tested rule for when or whether to repeat.
The only timing data come from animals: in rats, 10 days of daily injections changed learning and hippocampal structure where 5 days did not, and the Parkinson model infused the drug into the brain for 14 days. Neither design resembles weeks of oral or sublingual powder in people.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
This process map organizes available educational context. Individual claims remain subject to source-level verification.
How 9-Me-BC appears to influence dopaminergic biology and neuronal growth
Monoamine oxidase inhibition and why dopamine systems are central to 9-Me-BC interest
Gene-expression changes linked to neuronal growth and support
9-Me-BC (9-methyl-beta-carboline, 9-methylnorharmane) is a small synthetic beta-carboline, a class of pyridoindole compounds that also occurs in cooked food, tobacco smoke and the human body. Most methylated beta-carbolines damage dopamine neurons, but German research groups in Berlin, Dresden and Jena reported between 2008 and 2020 that the 9-methyl isomer instead stimulates tyrosine hydroxylase expression, raises neurotrophic factor expression, inhibits monoamine oxidase A and B and restored dopamine neuron counts in a rat toxin model. It is sold online as a nootropic for so-called dopamine repair, but it has never been tested in humans, has no pharmacokinetic or safety data in people and holds no regulatory approval anywhere.
These themes organize the educational information currently available. Individual claims remain under source review and are not treatment claims.
How 9-Me-BC appears to influence dopaminergic biology and neuronal growth
Monoamine oxidase inhibition and why dopamine systems are central to 9-Me-BC interest
Gene-expression changes linked to neuronal growth and support
Effects on dopaminergic neuron survival, differentiation, and restoration
Spatial learning, hippocampal dopamine, dendrites, and spine density
Reduced inflammatory signaling, lower apoptotic stress, and improved cellular resilience
Available context is organized without assigning unsupported study models or evidence grades.
What the strongest source material supports and why no dosing guide is shown
How 9-Me-BC appears to influence dopaminergic biology and neuronal growth
Monoamine oxidase inhibition and why dopamine systems are central to 9-Me-BC interest
Gene-expression changes linked to neuronal growth and support
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
9-methyl-beta-carboline, 9-Methyl-9H-pyrido[3,4-b]indole, 9-Methylnorharmane, N-Methylnorharmane, UNII GC837J2CCJ, DTXSID50179871, MFCD18803860
MABOIYXDALNSES-UHFFFAOYSA-N
9-methylpyrido[3,4-b]indole
0 links carried over from the earlier page, awaiting verification.