Important limitations
- Individual claims and source links have not yet completed editorial verification.
- Evidence level, applicable study model, formulation, route and population remain unassigned.
Learn about Cortagen, a Khavinson peptide supporting central nervous system research and immune modulation.
The moderated mass amounts below are retained for comparison. Near-duplicates, mix-dependent volumes and device markings are excluded. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
Recorded example with no verified study backing; shown for amount literacy only.
Recorded example with no verified study backing; shown for amount literacy only.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No clinical amount or schedule is inferred from this material. Source verification is pending, and every displayed amount remains educational context rather than guidance.
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 2 preclinical and 6 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
| Context | Dose | Frequency | Route | Course | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preclinical2 rows | |||||
| Rat sciatic nerve regenerationRats after transection and suturing of the sciatic nerve | 10 mcg/kg | Once daily for 10 days | Intramuscular | 10 days of injections, with regeneration assessed months laterNot applicable | Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine (PubMed)2000 |
| Treated rats showed a 27% higher growth rate of regenerating fibers and a 40% higher conduction velocity than controls. Only the abstract is indexed, the work comes from the originating institute, and a 2002 follow-up on delayed effects has no abstract at all; no group outside Russia has repeated the model. | |||||
| Mouse locomotor and anxiety behaviourCD-1 mice tested in the elevated plus maze and locomotor habituation paradigms | 0.01, 0.03 or 0.10 mg/kg (Cortexin 0.25 mg/kg as reference) | Single injection, then a 5-day sub-chronic regimen | Intraperitoneal | 5 daysNot applicable | The Open Neuropsychopharmacology Journal (Bentham Open)2011 |
| The 0.03 mg/kg dose increased locomotion both acutely and after five days with little effect on anxiety measures, while the other doses and the Cortexin reference became anxiogenic after repeated dosing. This Istituto Superiore di Sanita study is the only Cortagen experiment from outside the Khavinson group, and the authors' remark that peptides act at very low doses without side effects rests on behaviour in mice. | |||||
| Community-reported6 rows | |||||
| Community injectable course by goal | 1-3 mg (general); 5-10 mg (neurological support); 1 mg conservative start | Once daily, morning | Subcutaneous | 10-20 days (10 days for the conservative start)Repeated every 3-6 months | Community resource2026 |
| A 2026 dosage guide tiers the course by goal, with 1-3 mg a day for cognitive maintenance and 5-10 mg a day for age-related decline or recovery after cerebrovascular events, and sets 10 mg a day as a ceiling because nothing above it has been described. It attributes the ranges to Khavinson protocols and Russian clinical use without citing a dosed study, and PubMed holds none. | |||||
| Oral capsules and intranasal alternatives | 10 mg capsules; 1-3 mg intranasal | Capsules 1-2 times daily; intranasal once daily | Oral or intranasal | 10-30 days (oral); 10-20 days (intranasal)Same 3-6 month spacing as the injectable course | Community resource2026 |
| The same guide lists 10 mg capsules sold in Russia at one or two a day for 10-30 days, explaining the longer course as compensation for lower oral bioavailability, and an intranasal 1-3 mg variant it concedes has less data. No absorption study exists for either route, so the comparison between them is reasoning rather than measurement. | |||||
| Research-context versus community figures | 1-10 mg (described as research-context); 100-500 mcg (community); 10-20 mg oral | Once daily | Subcutaneous, or oral capsules | 10-20 daysCourses repeated 1-3 times per year, typically spring and autumn | Community resource2026 |
| A 2026 reference page separates three bands: 1-10 mg a day attributed to Russian-language clinical summaries, 100-500 mcg a day as the community habit, and 10-20 mg a day for capsules whose bioavailability has never been measured. It states that no validated human dose exists and that no pharmacokinetic value of any kind has been published for Cortagen. | |||||
| Low-dose community pattern | 100-500 mcg | Once daily | Subcutaneous | 10-20 days per courseNot specified | Community resource2026 |
| An evidence-review site records 100-500 mcg a day for 10-20 days as the commonly referenced research-community protocol and calls it an extrapolation from general Khavinson peptide habits rather than anything Cortagen-specific. It notes that the one in vivo mouse study it discusses dosed for 5 days and gives no amount in its abstract. | |||||
| Body-surface-area conversion of the rat dose | About 1.6 mcg/kg human-equivalent (from 10 mcg/kg in rats) | Once daily for 10 days, as in the rat model | Intramuscular in the source study | 10 daysNot applicable | Community resource2026 |
| A 2026 compound wiki converts the rat nerve-regeneration dose to a human equivalent of roughly 1.6 mcg/kg using the standard body-surface-area method, and stresses that the conversion is arithmetic rather than evidence. It is the only dosed figure in the literature and sits two orders of magnitude below the milligram courses sold to consumers. | |||||
| Supplier-quoted range | 1-5 mg | Once daily, in cycles | Subcutaneous | Not specified beyond cyclical useNot specified | Community resource2026 |
| A 2026 reference page reproduces the 1-5 mg a day range quoted in supplier material and states that no trial tested it and no human pharmacokinetic data exist; it removed intranasal figures it had carried earlier because they had no source. The same page says it could not locate the rat nerve study, which PubMed does index, so its evidence summary understates the animal record. | |||||
Community guides describe starting at the full dose on day one, injected subcutaneously in the morning, with 10 days as the standard course and 1 mg a day as the conservative first course. They tell readers to expect nothing acute, framing the course as a gene-expression pulse rather than a drug with same-day effects.
Extended courses of 15-20 days are described for neurological support at the higher 5-10 mg tier, and capsule courses run to 30 days. No source describes a taper or any marker for judging the course.
A break of 3-6 months follows, during which guides claim the gene-expression changes are doing their work, and they describe the most noticeable results arriving only after two or three cycles spread over 12-18 months. None of this has been measured in people.
Courses are described as repeating one to three times a year, often in spring and autumn, following the seasonal pattern used across the Khavinson peptide family rather than anything specific to Cortagen.
The rat study gave 10 mcg/kg intramuscularly for 10 days and measured nerve regrowth months afterwards, and the mouse behavioural study dosed for 5 days at 0.01-0.10 mg/kg. Both are far below the community milligram courses once scaled to body weight, and neither tested repeat courses.
Plus 5 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Cortagen is the synthetic tetrapeptide Ala-Glu-Asp-Pro (AEDP), designed by Vladimir Khavinson's group from the amino acid composition of Cortexin, a bovine cerebral cortex extract used clinically in Russia, and sold as the cerebral cortex member of the bioregulator family. It has the most concrete animal result in that family: a 2000 rat study in which 10 mcg/kg intramuscularly for 10 days after sciatic nerve transection sped fiber regrowth and conduction velocity, followed by rat work in chronic brain ischemia, a mouse heart gene expression study and an Italian mouse behavioral study. Human evidence is limited to Russian-language reports that pair it with Cortexin; there is no controlled trial, no pharmacokinetic study and no registered trial, it is not approved outside Russia and neighbouring countries, and the milligram courses sold online come from community convention rather than from any dosed study.
These themes organize the educational information currently available. Individual claims remain under source review and are not treatment claims.
Mechanistic findings from transcriptome studies
Antioxidant and anti-inflammatory activity
Impact on peripheral nerve repair
Therapeutic considerations
Available context is organized without assigning unsupported study models or evidence grades.
Mechanistic findings from transcriptome studies
Antioxidant and anti-inflammatory activity
These amount records are independent from vial strength, reconstitution volume and measuring device. A recorded source is not the same as study backing, and these values are not recommendations.
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Ala-Glu-Asp-Pro
Cortagen, Ala-Glu-Asp-Pro, AEDP (code used in the papers), SCHEMBL5491754, EX-A16854
PLTRIMAUDDQYRV-NAKRPEOUSA-N
(2S)-1-[(2S)-2-[[(2S)-2-[[(2S)-2-aminopropanoyl]amino]-4-carboxybutanoyl]amino]-3-carboxypropanoyl]pyrrolidine-2-carboxylic acid
1 link carried over from the earlier page, awaiting verification.