PRL-8-53 is a benzoic acid ester with a benzylmethylamino side chain, developed by Nikolaus Hansl and first described in 1974 in animal studies.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: PRL-8-53 (hydrochloride), PRL 8-53, Methyl 3-(2-(benzyl(methyl)amino)ethyl)benzoate hydrochloride, Benzoic acid, 3-(2-(methyl(phenylmethyl)amino)ethyl)-, methyl ester, hydrochloride, UNII 2P77XL8HV7, HY-13976A
Amounts reported for PRL-8-53 are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for PRL-8-53
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 1 clinical, 1 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical1 row
The only human study: verbal learning and retention47 healthy adult volunteers recruited from university faculty and students
5 mg single oral dose
Single dose, taken 2-2.5 hours before testing
Oral capsule
Single dose per test session, with recall checked 24 hours and 4 days laterNot applicable
Under double-blind conditions, acquisition of 12-word lists improved slightly and retention improved significantly (most p values below 0.01), with the largest gains in people with poor baseline recall and those over 30; visual reaction time and hand steadiness did not change. The indexed abstract says only 'low oral doses', and the 5 mg amount and 47 subjects come from the paper's methods section. A note added in proof records that the batch used contained a small amount of a desmethyl impurity. The study was never replicated.
Preclinical1 row
Animal pharmacology summarised in the 1978 paperMice, rats and dogs, as reported in the introduction of the human study and in Hansl's 1974 note
Oral LD50 of 860 mg/kg in mice; 160 mg/kg halved mouse motor activity; 20 mg/kg did not potentiate d-amphetamine in rats; no stereotypy up to 200 mg/kg; up to 8 mg/kg left dog blood pressure unchanged
The authors describe a cholinergic response, potentiation of dopamine and partial inhibition of serotonin in animals, reversal of reserpine-induced catatonia, and low toxicity. These figures appear in the introduction of the 1978 human paper, which cites Hansl's own 1973-1974 reports; the 1974 Experientia note is indexed without an abstract, and no modern study has repeated any of it.
Community-reported3 rows
Vendor-neutral research profile with certificate data
Not stated; the page reports 96.8 percent average tested purity across 3 certificates and says no validated human dosing regimen exists
Not stated
Oral (hydrochloride salt as sold)
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
This 2026 profile aggregates three certificates of analysis from two laboratories, averaging 96.8 percent purity, and states that widely circulated claims about specific neurotransmitter effects are unsupported marketing. It lists the absence of toxicology, interaction and dose-ranging data as the central caution. It is a database page about the research-chemical market, not a dosing guide.
Community compound page on the evidence gap
No dose given; the page says the hydrochloride has a molecular weight of 319.83 g/mol and the free base 283.4 g/mol
Not stated
Oral
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Reviewed in September 2026, this page stresses that PubMed holds exactly one record for PRL-8-53, that no pharmacokinetic, repeat-dose, toxicology or registered-trial data exist, and that the often repeated claim of doubled memory comes from secondary retellings of subgroup results. It explicitly declines to give a dose.
Vendor research-use listing
10 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle
Not stated (sold for laboratory research only)
Oral capsule format
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Vendor claim. The vendor sells PRL-8-53 as 10 mg capsules, twice the amount used in the 1978 study, with a third-party LC-MS report for lot PR01 that records appearance only and no purity verdict. The page cites the 1978 paper, gives no dosing information and states the product is not for human consumption.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
PRL-8-53 is a benzoic acid ester with a benzylmethylamino side chain, developed by Nikolaus Hansl and first described in 1974 in animal studies. That note presented it as a spasmolytic and centrally active agent, and its entire human record is a single 1978 double-blind study in which 47 healthy volunteers took one 5 mg capsule and showed better recall of word lists a day and four days later; nothing has been published on it since, in people or animals. It is sold as the hydrochloride salt by research-chemical vendors and has never entered formal drug development or been approved anywhere.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
The only human study: verbal learning and retention
Under double-blind conditions, acquisition of 12-word lists improved slightly and retention improved significantly (most p values below 0.01), with the largest gains in people with poor baseline recall and those over.
3
Animal pharmacology summarised in the 1978 paper
The authors describe a cholinergic response, potentiation of dopamine and partial inhibition of serotonin in animals, reversal of reserpine-induced catatonia, and low toxicity. These figures appear in the introduction.
4
Vendor-neutral research profile with certificate data
This 2026 profile aggregates three certificates of analysis from two laboratories, averaging 96.8 percent purity, and states that widely circulated claims about specific neurotransmitter effects are unsupported.
5
Community compound page on the evidence gap
Reviewed in September 2026, this page stresses that PubMed holds exactly one record for PRL-8-53, that no pharmacokinetic, repeat-dose, toxicology or registered-trial data exist, and that the often repeated claim of.
6
Vendor research-use listing
Vendor claim. The vendor sells PRL-8-53 as 10 mg capsules, twice the amount used in the 1978 study, with a third-party LC-MS report for lot PR01 that records appearance only and no purity verdict. The page cites the.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
1 protocol row on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
1 protocol row describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for PRL-8-53. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
PRL-8-53 (hydrochloride), PRL 8-53, Methyl 3-(2-(benzyl(methyl)amino)ethyl)benzoate hydrochloride, Benzoic acid, 3-(2-(methyl(phenylmethyl)amino)ethyl)-, methyl ester, hydrochloride, UNII 2P77XL8HV7, HY-13976A