Amounts reported for Piracetam are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Piracetam
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 3 clinical, 2 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical3 rows
UK licence for cortical myoclonus (Nootropil SmPC)Adults with myoclonus of cortical origin, used alongside other anti-myoclonic drugs
7.2 g per day to start, increased by 4.8 g every 3-4 days up to a maximum of 24 g per day
Daily total split into 2-3 doses
Oral tablets (800 mg or 1200 mg), with or without food
Continued for as long as the underlying brain disease persists, with an attempt every 6 months to reduce or stopNever stopped abruptly; the dose is reduced by 1.2 g every 2 days to avoid relapse or withdrawal seizures
This is the only indication on the UK label, which was last revised in July 2025. The label requires dose reduction by kidney function, forbids use in severe renal impairment, cerebral haemorrhage and Huntington's chorea, warns about reduced platelet aggregation and bleeding risk, and reports a plasma half-life of 5 hours with roughly 90 percent of a dose excreted unchanged in urine. Hyperkinesia, somnolence, nervousness and depression were more frequent than placebo at trial doses of 1.6-15 g a day.
Dose-ranging crossover trial in progressive myoclonus epilepsy20 patients aged 17-43 with Unverricht-Lundborg disease
9.6 g, 16.8 g or 24 g per day
Two divided doses
Oral
Each regimen for 2 weeks, 6 weeks of treatment in totalNo washout between crossover phases
Only the 24 g a day arm improved the primary myoclonus sum score significantly against placebo, the dose-effect relationship was linear, and adverse effects were described as few, mild and transient. The study is the main evidence behind the high-dose licence for cortical myoclonus and says nothing about healthy adults.
National label for dizziness and childhood dyslexia (Biotropil SmPC)Adults with dizziness of central or peripheral origin; children aged 8-13 with dyslexia receiving speech therapy
2.4 g per day for dizziness (three 0.8 g doses); 3.2 g per day for dyslexia in children
Three divided doses (dizziness) or two divided doses (dyslexia)
Oral film-coated tablets
8 weeks for dizzinessNot stated for these indications
This summary of product characteristics for a Polish-made 1200 mg tablet is hosted by the Ethiopian regulator and shows the broader indications that some national labels carry. Its non-clinical section records no irreversible toxicity after single doses of 10 g/kg in mice, rats and dogs, and no organ toxicity in chronic studies at up to 4.8 g/kg per day in mice. These are licensed uses in specific countries, not evidence for cognitive enhancement in healthy people.
Preclinical2 rows
Mitochondrial function in aged mice and PC12 cellsYoung and aged mice; PC12 cells under oxidative stress
100-500 mg/kg per day in mice; 100-1000 micromolar in cell culture
Daily
Systemic treatment of mice; direct addition to culture medium
Repeated treatment, duration as per each experimentNot applicable
Piracetam improved mitochondrial membrane potential and ATP production after oxidative stress in cells and in brain cells taken from treated mice, with the benefit seen mainly in aged animals and little in young ones. The authors propose mitochondrial stabilisation as the mechanism behind effects in elderly patients. Rodent milligram-per-kilogram figures do not translate to a human dose.
Chronic cerebral hypoperfusion model in ratsRats with 30 days of bilateral common carotid artery occlusion
Daily oral piracetam reduced the spatial learning and memory deficits, raised hippocampal amino acid content and limited neuronal damage in this vascular dementia model. The dose is about a hundred times the per-kilogram amount a person would take at 4.8 g a day, which is typical of rodent racetam studies.
Community-reported3 rows
Community protocol with attack dose and choline pairing
1.6 g three times a day (4.8 g per day); attack phase of 4.8 g twice a day (9.6 g per day) for the first 3-7 days
Three times daily, morning, midday and mid-afternoon
Oral powder or capsules, paired with alpha-GPC or CDP-choline
4-12 weeks on2-4 week washout after each block
Community resource2026
This 2026 guide calls 1.6 g three times a day the canonical protocol, describes an attack dose to shorten a 1-2 week onset lag, and lists cycles from 6-12 weeks down to a quarterly 2-week washout for continuous use. None of these schedules comes from a trial in healthy adults; the attack dose in particular is community practice, not a label instruction.
Nootropic blog dosing recommendation
1,600 mg three times a day; an attack dose of about 3,000 mg three times a day for the first 3 days; up to 9,600 mg a day described as a ceiling
Three times daily
Oral
Ongoing daily use describedNot specified
Community resource2026
A widely read supplement blog, republished in April 2026, recommends 1,600 mg three times a day and summarises a 14-day study in healthy volunteers at 4,800 mg a day in which verbal learning improved only after 14 days, not 7. Its claim that piracetam is completely non-toxic even at high doses is the author's framing, not a regulatory finding; the UK label lists bleeding risk and renal dose adjustment.
Vendor research-use listing
600 mg per capsule
Not stated (sold for laboratory research only)
Oral capsule format
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Vendor claim. The vendor sells piracetam as 600 mg capsules with a third-party certificate of analysis for lot PIR01 (HPLC purity 99.36 percent, measured 636.04 mg per capsule). The page gives no dosing information and states the product is not for human consumption.
How a course is commonly described
1
Days 1-7Community-reported
Community guides describe an optional attack phase of up to 9.6 g a day split in two, paired with a choline source, to compress the one-to-two-week onset lag that users report. This loading pattern has never been tested in a trial of healthy adults.
2
Weeks 2-12Community-reported
The maintenance pattern most often quoted is 1.6 g three times a day, with the last dose before late afternoon to avoid insomnia, run for 4-12 weeks. The one healthy-volunteer study the blogs cite needed 14 days at 4.8 g a day before verbal learning changed.
3
Clinical comparisonClinical
Licensed use looks different: cortical myoclonus starts at 7.2 g a day and climbs to 24 g, continues as long as the disease does, and is tapered by 1.2 g every two days rather than stopped. The dizziness label runs 2.4 g a day for 8 weeks.
Piracetam is a prescription medicine in the United Kingdom and many other countries, and the high-dose evidence is for cortical myoclonus; a 2001 Cochrane review found the published literature did not support its use in dementia or cognitive impairment, and a 2024 meta-analysis of 18 trials in 886 patients could not show a clinical difference in memory.
A Cochrane review of acute ischaemic stroke pooled three trials with 1002 patients and found a non-significant trend toward more early deaths on piracetam, so it is not a benign add-on in people with cerebrovascular disease.
It is an oral small molecule with a 5-hour half-life, which is why every protocol splits the daily total into two or three doses. Nothing here is reconstituted or injected, and the rows above record what sources report rather than advice.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Piracetam is a cyclic GABA derivative synthesised at UCB in Belgium in 1964, the compound for which the word nootropic was coined. It is a licensed prescription medicine in the United Kingdom and much of Europe, where the only UK indication is cortical myoclonus at doses that reach 24 g a day, while other national labels also cover dizziness and childhood dyslexia. Cochrane reviews found no convincing benefit in dementia or acute stroke, and a 2024 meta-analysis of 18 trials could not confirm an effect on memory, so the 1.6-4.8 g a day used by healthy adults rests on habit rather than evidence.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
UK licence for cortical myoclonus (Nootropil SmPC)
This is the only indication on the UK label, which was last revised in July 2025. The label requires dose reduction by kidney function, forbids use in severe renal impairment, cerebral haemorrhage and Huntington's.
3
Dose-ranging crossover trial in progressive myoclonus epilepsy
Only the 24 g a day arm improved the primary myoclonus sum score significantly against placebo, the dose-effect relationship was linear, and adverse effects were described as few, mild and transient. The study is the.
4
National label for dizziness and childhood dyslexia (Biotropil SmPC)
This summary of product characteristics for a Polish-made 1200 mg tablet is hosted by the Ethiopian regulator and shows the broader indications that some national labels carry. Its non-clinical section records no.
5
Mitochondrial function in aged mice and PC12 cells
Piracetam improved mitochondrial membrane potential and ATP production after oxidative stress in cells and in brain cells taken from treated mice, with the benefit seen mainly in aged animals and little in young ones..
6
Chronic cerebral hypoperfusion model in rats
Daily oral piracetam reduced the spatial learning and memory deficits, raised hippocampal amino acid content and limited neuronal damage in this vascular dementia model. The dose is about a hundred times the.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
3 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
2 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Piracetam. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
Nootropil, Nootropyl, 2-Oxo-1-pyrrolidineacetamide, UCB6215, Cl-871, Myocalm, Normabrain, UNII ZH516LNZ10
InChIKey
GMZVRMREEHBGGF-UHFFFAOYSA-N
IUPAC name
2-(2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide
Limitations and unknowns
Important limitations
Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.
Sources
8 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 3 community resources reported but not linked.