Phenylpiracetam (fonturacetam) is piracetam with a phenyl ring added, developed in the Soviet Union and sold in Russia as Phenotropil for asthenia and cerebrovascular disease.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: Fonturacetam, Phenotropil, Carphedon, 4-Phenylpiracetam, Carphedone, Karfedon, 2-Oxo-4-phenyl-1-pyrrolidineacetamide, UNII 99QW5JU66Y
Amounts reported for Phenylpiracetam are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Phenylpiracetam
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical, 1 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical4 rows
Meta-analysis of Russian asthenia studies549 patients with asthenia (mean age 45.9) across 11 studies
Every included study used the same 200 mg a day, and the pooled MFI-20 asthenia score fell by 16.3 points after a month, with side effects in 5.5 percent of patients that resolved within a week of continued treatment. The analysis was published in a Russian journal about the branded product, and the underlying studies were mostly open and small, so the effect size is uncertain.
Stroke rehabilitation programme400 patients with ischaemic stroke, 200 of whom received phenotropil
400 mg per day
Daily during each course
Oral
3 courses over the year after strokeBreaks between the three courses, length not stated in the abstract
Recovery of neurological function and daily living scores was reported as significantly better in the treated group. The abstract does not describe randomisation or blinding, and the dose is twice the 200 mg a day used in the asthenia studies.
Observational programme in chronic brain ischaemia (TRIUMPH)1170 primary-care patients aged 45-65 with chronic brain ischaemia and asthenic syndrome
Asthenia scores on the MFI-20 fell significantly by the end of the first month and kept falling, with a more than two-fold reduction at 3 months and faster responses in younger patients. This was a non-interventional observational programme without a control group, so it describes the course of treated patients rather than a treatment effect.
Add-on trial in focal epilepsy90 adults with symptomatic locally induced epilepsy on standard antiepileptic drugs
In this double-blind, placebo-controlled randomised trial, phenotropil reduced seizure frequency and improved cognitive scores in patients without epileptiform EEG abnormalities, while leaving the negative effects of standard therapy unchanged in 40 percent of patients. It is one of the few blinded trials of the compound.
Preclinical1 row
Enantiomer comparison in miceMice in open-field, forced swim and passive avoidance tests
R-enantiomer 1 mg/kg for memory; 10 and 50 mg/kg for locomotion; 50-100 mg/kg for antidepressant effects
Only the R-enantiomer improved passive-avoidance memory, while both enantiomers raised locomotor activity and reduced immobility in the forced swim test, despite reaching similar brain concentrations. Since market product is the racemate, half of each milligram is the S-form, which had no memory effect in this study.
Community-reported3 rows
Community dosing and tolerance pattern
100 mg once or twice daily for cognition; 200 mg as a single dose 1-2 hours before a demanding task
Once or twice daily, morning or morning and early afternoon
Oral capsule or tablet
Intermittent use, 2-3 times a week or short 1-2 week cyclesRapid tolerance reported by day 5-7 of daily use, so breaks are built in
Community resource2026
This 2026 compound page reports that the stimulant and motivational effects fade within a week of daily dosing, lists insomnia, irritability and headache as common complaints, and warns tested athletes that the compound is a WADA-prohibited stimulant. The tolerance pattern comes from user reports; the Russian trials used fixed daily doses for a month and did not report on it.
Evidence summary with cycling guidance
100-200 mg once or twice daily; 100-300 mg per day quoted as the typical range
Once or twice daily, before noon
Oral, often paired with alpha-GPC or citicoline
2-3 weeks on1-2 weeks off to limit tolerance
Community resource2026
This March 2026 editorial page frames phenylpiracetam as 20-60 times more potent than piracetam by weight, repeats the rapid-tolerance warning and states that it is the same compound as phenotropil and fonturacetam, not approved by the FDA or EMA. The potency multiplier and cycle lengths are the editors' summary of community practice rather than trial findings.
Vendor research-use listing (sold as the hydrazide)
150 mg per capsule of phenylpiracetam hydrazide; a separate 250 mcg aerosol spray is also listed
Not stated (sold for laboratory research only)
Oral capsule format, plus an aerosol spray
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Vendor claim. The vendor's phenylpiracetam listing is actually phenylpiracetam hydrazide, a different molecule in which the amide is replaced by a hydrazide, supplied as 150 mg capsules with an ISO 17025 certificate for lot PH01 (153.17 mg measured); the page nonetheless quotes the CAS number and 218.3 g/mol mass of phenylpiracetam itself. None of the human studies above used the hydrazide, and the page gives no dosing information.
How a course is commonly described
1
Days 1-7Community-reported
Community pages describe 100 mg in the morning, or 200 mg before a demanding task, with effects felt within an hour and the stimulant lift fading by day 5-7 of daily use.
2
Weeks 2-3 and breakCommunity-reported
Guides either switch to 2-3 uses a week or run 2-3 weeks on followed by 1-2 weeks off. No study has examined tolerance or any cycling schedule.
3
Clinical comparisonClinical
The Russian studies used a fixed 200 mg a day for 30 days in asthenia, 100 mg a day for 2-3 months in chronic brain ischaemia and 400 mg a day in repeated courses after stroke, all in patients and without reporting tolerance.
Phenylpiracetam is a prescription medicine in Russia with a largely Russian-language, open-label evidence base at 100-400 mg a day in patients. Community totals of up to 300 mg a day, taken intermittently, are the editors' summary of user habit rather than anything tested, and the only pooled human figure is 200 mg a day for a month.
It is prohibited in sport as a stimulant and was the first nootropic banned, in 1998. Market product is a racemate, and the vendor named on this page sells the hydrazide derivative rather than phenylpiracetam itself, so identity matters as much as dose.
A 2021 analysis of US supplements labelled as containing phenylpiracetam or other racetams found several declared drugs absent and undeclared drugs present. It is an oral small molecule; there is no vial or reconstitution, and the rows above record what sources report, not advice.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Phenylpiracetam (fonturacetam) is piracetam with a phenyl ring added, developed in the Soviet Union and sold in Russia as Phenotropil for asthenia and cerebrovascular disease. Its human evidence is almost entirely Russian-language: a 2025 meta-analysis of the newer brand Actitropil pooled 11 studies of 549 patients given 200 mg a day for a month, and larger stroke and chronic ischaemia programmes used 100-400 mg a day. It was the first nootropic banned in sport, prohibited by anti-doping authorities as a stimulant since 1998, and it is not approved in the United States or the European Union.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Meta-analysis of Russian asthenia studies
Every included study used the same 200 mg a day, and the pooled MFI-20 asthenia score fell by 16.3 points after a month, with side effects in 5.5 percent of patients that resolved within a week of continued treatment..
3
Stroke rehabilitation programme
Recovery of neurological function and daily living scores was reported as significantly better in the treated group. The abstract does not describe randomisation or blinding, and the dose is twice the 200 mg a day used.
4
Observational programme in chronic brain ischaemia (TRIUMPH)
Asthenia scores on the MFI-20 fell significantly by the end of the first month and kept falling, with a more than two-fold reduction at 3 months and faster responses in younger patients. This was a non-interventional.
5
Add-on trial in focal epilepsy
In this double-blind, placebo-controlled randomised trial, phenotropil reduced seizure frequency and improved cognitive scores in patients without epileptiform EEG abnormalities, while leaving the negative effects of.
6
Enantiomer comparison in mice
Only the R-enantiomer improved passive-avoidance memory, while both enantiomers raised locomotor activity and reduced immobility in the forced swim test, despite reaching similar brain concentrations. Since market.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
4 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
1 protocol row describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Phenylpiracetam. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
Fonturacetam, Phenotropil, Carphedon, 4-Phenylpiracetam, Carphedone, Karfedon, 2-Oxo-4-phenyl-1-pyrrolidineacetamide, UNII 99QW5JU66Y
InChIKey
LYONXVJRBWWGQO-UHFFFAOYSA-N
IUPAC name
2-(2-oxo-4-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide
Limitations and unknowns
Important limitations
Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.
Sources
8 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 3 community resources reported but not linked.