Oxiracetam is the 4-hydroxy analogue of piracetam, developed in Italy in the 1970s and prescribed in parts of Europe and Asia for cognitive impairment.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: ISF-2522, CGP 21690E, 4-Hydroxypiracetam, Neuromet, Neuractiv, 4-Hydroxy-2-oxopyrrolidine-N-acetamide, UNII P7U817352G, CHEBI:134788
Amounts reported for Oxiracetam are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Oxiracetam
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical, 1 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical4 rows
Multicentre dementia trial65 patients (mean age 71) with primary degenerative, multi-infarct or mixed dementia
Oxiracetam beat placebo on a quality of life scale and on some neuropsychological tests such as controlled associations and short story recall. Two patients left the oxiracetam arm for poor tolerability and four reported unwanted effects. The study is small and 30 years old, but it is where the 800 mg twice daily figure comes from.
Post-stroke cognitive impairment prevention trial (South Korea)500 adults (mean age 68.9) reporting cognitive decline at least 3 months after stroke
In this double-blind, placebo-controlled trial commissioned by the Korean Ministry of Food and Drug Safety, changes in MMSE and CDR-Sum of Boxes did not differ from placebo and there was no interaction with physical activity. The authors note that the result supports the Korean regulator's decision to suspend oxiracetam's use. This is the largest and most recent racemic oxiracetam trial.
Phase 3 trial of L-oxiracetam after traumatic brain injury (China)590 patients aged 18-75 with mild to moderate traumatic brain injury at 51 hospitals
L-oxiracetam 4 g per day or racemic oxiracetam 6 g per day
Daily
Not specified in the abstract
Treatment with assessment at 90 daysNone described
Both active arms improved the LOTCA cognitive score more than placebo, and the single enantiomer at 4 g a day did better than the racemate at 6 g a day, with no difference in serious adverse events. These amounts were given to brain-injured patients under hospital care and are several times higher than anything in community use.
Phase 1 pharmacokinetics of (S)-oxiracetamHealthy Chinese volunteers
400-2000 mg single doses; 400-1600 mg repeated doses
The S-enantiomer was absorbed rapidly (peak at 0.75-1 hour), had a half-life of 6.1-6.6 hours, reached steady state by day 5 with mild accumulation, and was excreted largely unchanged in urine and faeces. Exposure rose in proportion to dose up to 1600 mg and then flattened. Adverse events were mild to moderate and not dose dependent.
Preclinical1 row
Vascular dementia model in rats3-month-old male Sprague-Dawley rats with permanent bilateral carotid occlusion
Both doses improved water-maze performance and reduced neuronal damage, with changes in apoptosis and autophagy proteins linked to Akt/mTOR signalling. A separate 2017 rat study found that only the S-enantiomer, not the R-enantiomer, relieved cognitive impairment after chronic hypoperfusion. Rodent doses do not convert to human amounts.
Community-reported3 rows
Community dose range
800-2400 mg per day
2-3 doses, morning and midday
Oral; food optional because the compound is water-soluble
Not specifiedNot specified
Community resource2026
This reference site presents 800-2400 mg as the range used in research rather than a recommendation, lists headache as common and insomnia as uncommon, calls it the most stimulating racetam and advises against late dosing. It records the compound as prescription-only in the EU and Australia and unscheduled in the US and UK.
Supplement brand explainer on historical research doses
800 mg twice daily (1,600 mg per day); 1,200-2,400 mg per day in older research
Two or three divided doses
Oral
Several weeks to several months in the trials it summarisesNot specified
Community resource2026
This brand blog, updated July 2026, is explicit that no FDA-approved or officially recommended consumer dose exists and that the figures are historical research doses in dementia patients. It warns that higher doses should not be assumed to work better, particularly when product purity and kidney function are uncertain.
Vendor research-use listing
500 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle
Not stated (sold for laboratory research only)
Oral capsule format
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Vendor claim. The vendor sells oxiracetam as 500 mg capsules with a third-party report (#34988) measuring 512.7-522.0 mg per capsule across three samples. The page cites the 2025 Korean and Chinese trials but gives no dosing information and states the product is not for human consumption.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Oxiracetam is the 4-hydroxy analogue of piracetam, developed in Italy in the 1970s and prescribed in parts of Europe and Asia for cognitive impairment. Its human record spans 1990s dementia trials at 800 mg twice daily, a 500-patient Korean trial published in 2025 that found no benefit against post-stroke cognitive decline, and a 2025 Chinese phase 3 trial in which the single S-enantiomer at 4 g a day improved cognition after traumatic brain injury. It is not approved in the United States, and the 800-2400 mg a day quoted by nootropic sites is lifted from those patient trials.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Multicentre dementia trial
Oxiracetam beat placebo on a quality of life scale and on some neuropsychological tests such as controlled associations and short story recall. Two patients left the oxiracetam arm for poor tolerability and four.
3
Post-stroke cognitive impairment prevention trial (South Korea)
In this double-blind, placebo-controlled trial commissioned by the Korean Ministry of Food and Drug Safety, changes in MMSE and CDR-Sum of Boxes did not differ from placebo and there was no interaction with physical.
4
Phase 3 trial of L-oxiracetam after traumatic brain injury (China)
Both active arms improved the LOTCA cognitive score more than placebo, and the single enantiomer at 4 g a day did better than the racemate at 6 g a day, with no difference in serious adverse events. These amounts were.
5
Phase 1 pharmacokinetics of (S)-oxiracetam
The S-enantiomer was absorbed rapidly (peak at 0.75-1 hour), had a half-life of 6.1-6.6 hours, reached steady state by day 5 with mild accumulation, and was excreted largely unchanged in urine and faeces. Exposure rose.
6
Vascular dementia model in rats
Both doses improved water-maze performance and reduced neuronal damage, with changes in apoptosis and autophagy proteins linked to Akt/mTOR signalling. A separate 2017 rat study found that only the S-enantiomer, not.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
4 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
1 protocol row describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Oxiracetam. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
ISF-2522, CGP 21690E, 4-Hydroxypiracetam, Neuromet, Neuractiv, 4-Hydroxy-2-oxopyrrolidine-N-acetamide, UNII P7U817352G, CHEBI:134788
InChIKey
IHLAQQPQKRMGSS-UHFFFAOYSA-N
IUPAC name
2-(4-hydroxy-2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide
Limitations and unknowns
Important limitations
Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.
Sources
7 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 3 community resources reported but not linked.