NSI-189 is a small molecule developed by Neuralstem and given the international name amdiglurax.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: NSI-189 phosphate, Amdiglurax, (4-benzylpiperazin-1-yl)(2-(isopentylamino)pyridin-3-yl)methanone, UNII YVE9U408ZL, CHEMBL4302505, DTXSID901025668, HY-13999
Amounts reported for NSI-189 are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for NSI-189
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical, 2 preclinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical4 rows
Phase 1B multiple-dose escalation in depression24 inpatients with major depressive disorder, 6 on drug and 2 on placebo in each of three cohorts
40 mg once daily, 40 mg twice daily or 40 mg three times daily
Once, twice or three times daily by cohort
Oral
28 days inpatient, with outpatient follow-up to day 84None described
Tolerated at all three schedules with no serious adverse effects, and exposure rose roughly in proportion to dose with a half-life of 17.4 to 20.5 hours. Depression and cognitive scales moved in the drug's favour with medium to large effect sizes that persisted into follow-up, but each cohort held only eight people, which the authors name as the main limitation.
Phase 2 monotherapy trial in major depressive disorder220 outpatients with major depressive disorder, aged 18 to 60
The primary endpoint, the clinician-rated Montgomery-Asberg depression scale, did not separate from placebo at either dose. The 40 mg arm did better than placebo on patient-rated depression and cognitive-functioning questionnaires and on some objective cognitive tests, and both doses were well tolerated. A trial that misses its primary endpoint cannot be read as a positive result, whatever the secondary measures show.
Post-hoc analysis of the Phase 2 data by baseline severityThe same 220 Phase 2 patients, split at a baseline depression score of 30
80 mg daily (the arm that showed the post-hoc benefit)
In the moderately depressed subgroup the 80 mg dose beat placebo on a six-item version of the depression scale, and more cognitive variables improved than in the severe subgroup or the whole sample. These are post-hoc subgroup findings from a trial that missed its primary endpoint, so they generate a hypothesis rather than settle one.
Phase 2 trial registration220 adults aged 18 to 60 with major depressive disorder
40 mg or 80 mg daily against placebo
Once daily
Oral
The registered study ran from March 2016 to December 2017None described
The registry record carries the trial design and arms but no posted results, and its status is listed as unknown. It is the only Phase 2 study of this compound on the register.
Preclinical2 rows
Rat model of ischaemic stroke48 adult male Sprague-Dawley rats after middle cerebral artery occlusion
30 mg/kg, calculated on the active base rather than the phosphate salt
Once daily
Oral gavage, starting 6 hours after the stroke
12 weeks of dosing, with follow-up to 24 weeksNot applicable
Motor and neurological deficits improved and the gain held to 24 weeks, with more neurite outgrowth in hippocampus and cortex on histology. Companion cell work showed protection against oxygen-glucose deprivation with higher BDNF and stem cell factor. All of this is rat and cell data.
Radiation-induced cognitive dysfunction in ratsLong-Evans rats, 15 to 16 per group, after 27 Gy of fractionated head-only irradiation
30 mg/kg
Once daily
Oral gavage at 2 mL/kg
4 weeksCognition was retested one month after dosing stopped
Treated animals performed better on four of five exploration tasks, and the benefit was still present a month after the drug was withdrawn, alongside more new neurons and fewer activated microglia. Hippocampal volume did not change. These are rat endpoints in a radiation model, not a human indication.
Community-reported1 row
Vendor capsule product
20 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle (1,200 mg total)
Not stated
Oral capsule
Not stated
Community resource2026
A vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. The per-capsule amount is half the 40 mg daily dose used in both trials, which is the only connection between this product format and the published work. The listing states the material is not for human use.
Plus 2 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
NSI-189 is a small molecule developed by Neuralstem and given the international name amdiglurax, selected because it stimulates the growth of new neurons from human hippocampal stem cells in culture and in mouse hippocampus, rather than by acting on monoamine reuptake like conventional antidepressants. It was dosed as the phosphate salt in two placebo-controlled trials in major depressive disorder: a 24-patient Phase 1B at 40 mg once, twice or three times daily for 28 days, and a 220-patient Phase 2 at 40 or 80 mg daily for 12 weeks. The Phase 2 missed its primary depression-rating endpoint while patient-rated and cognitive measures favoured the drug, and no product has been approved anywhere.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Phase 1B multiple-dose escalation in depression
Tolerated at all three schedules with no serious adverse effects, and exposure rose roughly in proportion to dose with a half-life of 17.4 to 20.5 hours. Depression and cognitive scales moved in the drug's favour with.
3
Phase 2 monotherapy trial in major depressive disorder
The primary endpoint, the clinician-rated Montgomery-Asberg depression scale, did not separate from placebo at either dose. The 40 mg arm did better than placebo on patient-rated depression and cognitive-functioning.
4
Post-hoc analysis of the Phase 2 data by baseline severity
In the moderately depressed subgroup the 80 mg dose beat placebo on a six-item version of the depression scale, and more cognitive variables improved than in the severe subgroup or the whole sample. These are post-hoc.
5
Phase 2 trial registration
The registry record carries the trial design and arms but no posted results, and its status is listed as unknown. It is the only Phase 2 study of this compound on the register.
6
Rat model of ischaemic stroke
Motor and neurological deficits improved and the gain held to 24 weeks, with more neurite outgrowth in hippocampus and cortex on histology. Companion cell work showed protection against oxygen-glucose deprivation with.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
4 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
2 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for NSI-189. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
NSI-189 phosphate, Amdiglurax, (4-benzylpiperazin-1-yl)(2-(isopentylamino)pyridin-3-yl)methanone, UNII YVE9U408ZL, CHEMBL4302505, DTXSID901025668, HY-13999