Important limitations
- Safety, Practical Considerations & Limitations: Why the current page stays cautious
- Future Research: Where the science should go next
Noopept is a cognition-enhancing dipeptide analog investigated for its neuroprotective and nootropic properties.
No mass-based amount example with adequate calculation context is available for this compound. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No clinical amount or schedule is inferred from this material. Source verification is pending, and every displayed amount remains educational context rather than guidance.
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical, 4 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
| Context | Dose | Frequency | Route | Course | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clinical4 rows | |||||
| Comparative trial against piracetam (parent clinical evidence)Patients with mild cognitive disorders from organic brain disease of vascular or traumatic origin | 20 mg per day, conventionally split as 10 mg twice daily | Twice daily | Oral tablets | Courses of roughly 1.5 to 3 monthsNot described | Neuroscience and Behavioral Physiology (PubMed)2009 |
| This Zakusov Institute study compared Noopept with piracetam in the indication for which the Russian product is registered. The indexed record carries no abstract, so the dose and course length here are as reported by secondary sources that cite it, and the study comes from the institute that developed the drug. | |||||
| Open prospective study after stroke60 patients with stroke and mild cognitive impairment, followed for 12 months | 20 mg per day | Daily | Oral | 2 months of treatmentNone described | Zhurnal Nevrologii i Psikhiatrii imeni S.S. Korsakova (PubMed)2011 |
| MMSE scores and verbal association tests improved significantly against controls after two months, while global efficacy assessment showed only mild improvement and no change in controls. The study was open, non-randomized and unblinded, which limits what the improvement can be attributed to. | |||||
| Developer's account of the dose range and registrationPatients with mild cognitive impairment of cerebrovascular or post-traumatic origin | 10 mg tablets | As prescribed in Russia | Oral | Not stated in this reviewNot stated | Current Pharmaceutical Design (PubMed Central)2018 |
| The Zakusov Institute's own 2018 review records that Noopept passed clinical trials in this indication and has been marketed as 10 mg tablets since 2006. The same paper gives the animal dose range as 0.1-1.0 mg/kg against 200-1000 mg/kg for piracetam, with an oral LD50 above 5100 mg/kg in the species tested. | |||||
| European medicines control laboratory market survey159 nootropic samples collected across Europe and Australia between January 2020 and September 2024 | Up to 100% pure bulk material; one sample measured 20 mg/mL | Not applicable | Products sold as oral supplements, bulk powders and solutions | Not applicableNot applicable | Journal of Xenobiotics (PubMed Central)2025 |
| Noopept was the most commonly detected molecule in the racetam group, usually offered as near-pure bulk raw material, and the authors describe the typical Russian oral dose as 10 mg a day, noting that one 20 mg/mL liquid sample held twice that in a millilitre. The survey frames these products as unauthorised prescription medicines being sold as dietary supplements, which misleads buyers about what they are taking. | |||||
| Preclinical4 rows | |||||
| Oral activity and dose range in ratsRats trained on passive and active avoidance tasks | 0.5-10 mg/kg | Single and repeated administration | Oral | Single doses and repeated courses within each experimentNot applicable | Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine (PubMed)2001 |
| Oral dosing preserved the anti-amnesic effect previously seen with injection, and repeated dosing raised the number of animals that eventually learned the task after initially failing. The authors note that in this respect Noopept differs from both piracetam and its own metabolite cyclo-prolylglycine, which supports treating the parent molecule as active rather than a pure prodrug. | |||||
| Rat amyloid model of Alzheimer's diseaseAdult Wistar rats given 2 mcg of beta-amyloid 25-35 into the Meynert basal nuclei | 0.5 mg/kg | Once daily | Intraperitoneal | 7 days before the injury in the preventive arm; a later course started 15 days after the injuryNot applicable | Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine (PubMed)2008 |
| A week of pretreatment completely prevented the long-term memory deficit measured 24 days after the amyloid injection, and starting treatment 15 days after the injury still normalized performance. The authors attribute the effect to a mix of cholinergic, antioxidant and antibody-related mechanisms, all measured in rats. | |||||
| Cellular model of amyloid toxicityDifferentiated PC12 cells exposed to 5 micromolar beta-amyloid 25-35 for 24 hours | 10 micromolar in the culture medium | Added 72 hours before the amyloid exposure | Cell culture | 72 hours of pretreatmentNot applicable | Journal of Biomedical Science (PubMed Central)2014 |
| Pretreatment improved cell viability, reduced early and late apoptosis, lowered reactive oxygen species and intracellular calcium, protected mitochondrial membrane potential, attenuated tau phosphorylation at Ser396 and restored neurite outgrowth. These are cell-culture endpoints, not evidence of effect in a person. | |||||
| Transcription factor screenHEK293 cells transfected with luciferase reporters for nine transcription factors | 10 micromolar (piracetam tested at 1 millimolar for comparison) | Single exposure | Cell culture | Single exposureNot applicable | Acta Naturae (PubMed Central)2016 |
| Of nine transcription factors tested, only HIF-1 DNA-binding activity rose, concentration-dependently, while piracetam at a hundred times the concentration changed none of them. Docking suggested that Noopept and its active metabolite bind prolyl hydroxylase 2, which the authors propose as the primary mechanism behind its varied effects. | |||||
| Community-reported3 rows | |||||
| Community dose range against the studied figure | 10-30 mg per day; new users commonly start around 10 mg | 2-3 small doses a day | Oral capsules or bulk powder; sublingual use described as anecdotal preference | Several weeks onA break after several weeks, described as convention only | Community resource2026 |
| This 2026 guide separates the one clinically studied figure, 20 mg a day for about eight weeks, from the wider 10-30 mg range that comes from vendor and forum copy. It states that no human pharmacokinetic data support a sublingual advantage over swallowing, and that oral dosing matches both the Russian trials and the rat work. | |||||
| Dosage chart built around the published human amount | 20 mg per day, conventionally split 10 mg twice daily | Once or twice daily | Oral capsule or tablet; no vial, injection or reconstitution | 2 months, matching the published studyNot established by any study | Community resource2026 |
| The page notes that a single 20 mg capsule contains the whole studied daily amount, that the twice-daily split is a habit carried over from the registered product rather than a separately tested schedule, and that a ClinicalTrials.gov check on 3 August 2026 found no registered Noopept trial of any phase. It adds that what acts in the brain is largely the metabolite, since the parent fell below detection an hour after dosing in rats. | |||||
| Evidence-and-risk summary for lay readers | 10 mg twice a day (about 20 mg daily), sometimes up to 30 mg daily | Twice daily | Oral, with sublingual use common in community practice | Courses of roughly 1.5 to 3 monthsNot specified | Community resource2026 |
| This summary stresses that the quoted doses come from studies in cognitively impaired patients and are not validated for healthy users, and that there is no vial to reconstitute. It advises avoiding late-day dosing because sleep disturbance is reported. | |||||
Community guides describe starting near 10 mg a day, taken by mouth in the morning or split into two small doses, and avoiding late-day doses because of reported sleep disturbance. Nothing measurable is expected this early.
The clinically studied pattern is 20 mg a day, conventionally 10 mg twice daily, held for about two months. In the stroke study, cognitive test scores separated from controls at the two-month mark rather than earlier.
The comparative trial against piracetam ran courses of roughly six weeks to three months in the registered indication, which is the longest exposure described in the human literature. The stroke study followed patients for a year but treated for only two months.
Community sources run several weeks then pause, and state plainly that the break is convention rather than a trial finding. No published study has compared continuous dosing with cycling, and no registered trial of any phase exists.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
This process map organizes available educational context. Individual claims remain subject to source-level verification.
Why noopept is considered a multi-target neuroprotective compound
Noopept (international nonproprietary name omberacetam, development code GVS-111) is the ethyl ester of N-phenylacetyl-L-prolylglycine, designed at the Zakusov Institute of Pharmacology in Moscow as a dipeptide analog of piracetam. Its designers later identified the cyclic dipeptide cyclo(Pro-Gly) in rat brain as both an endogenous peptide and Noopept's active metabolite, so the compound acts partly as a prodrug and partly in its own right. It has been sold as 10 mg tablets in Russia since 2006 for mild cognitive impairment of cerebrovascular or post-traumatic origin, and is not authorised in the United States, the European Union or Australia; a European medicines control laboratory survey published in 2025 found it as the most frequently detected illicit nootropic, often as bulk raw material sold as a dietary supplement. Although built from a dipeptide backbone, it is a small oral molecule rather than an injectable peptide, so there is no sequence or reconstitution involved.
These themes organize the educational information currently available. Individual claims remain under source review and are not treatment claims.
Why noopept is considered a multi-target neuroprotective compound
Protection against amyloid-related cellular toxicity
How noopept affected key drivers of cellular injury
Effects on a disease-relevant marker of Alzheimer's-related pathology
Why noopept may matter for structural neuronal support
How the article positions noopept relative to known cognition enhancers
Available context is organized without assigning unsupported study models or evidence grades.
What the provided article supports and why no dosing guide is shown
Why noopept is considered a multi-target neuroprotective compound
Protection against amyloid-related cellular toxicity
How noopept affected key drivers of cellular injury
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Omberacetam, GVS-111, SGS-111, N-phenylacetyl-L-prolylglycine ethyl ester, DVD-111, UNII 4QBJ98683M, CHEMBL4303687
PJNSMUBMSNAEEN-AWEZNQCLSA-N
ethyl 2-[[(2S)-1-(2-phenylacetyl)pyrrolidine-2-carbonyl]amino]acetate
1 link carried over from the earlier page, awaiting verification.