Nefiracetam is a racetam developed by Daiichi in Japan under the code DM-9384, built from piracetam by replacing the simple amide with a 2,6-dimethylphenyl amide.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: DM-9384, DZL-221, Translon, Motiva, 2-Oxo-1-pyrrolidineaceto-2',6'-xylidide, DMPPA, UNII 1JK12GX30N, NSC-759830
Amounts reported for Nefiracetam are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Nefiracetam
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 5 clinical, 3 preclinical and 2 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical5 rows
Post-stroke depression trial159 patients with major depression within 3 months of stroke
600 mg or 900 mg per day
Daily
Oral
Double-blind treatment period of the trialNone described
Nefiracetam did not beat placebo on the primary depression outcome; response rates above 70 percent and remission above 40 percent were seen in every arm including placebo. Only the most severely depressed fifth of patients improved more on 900 mg a day, a subgroup finding the authors themselves called preliminary.
Apathy in post-stroke depression70 stroke patients with major depression who also met criteria for apathy
Patients on 900 mg a day showed a larger fall in Apathy Scale scores than those on 600 mg or placebo, which is the only positive human result for the compound. It is a secondary analysis of the depression trial above, run by the same group.
Post-stroke apathy trial (Australia)13 patients randomised out of 2514 screened at two Perth hospitals, with apathy 8-36 weeks after stroke
Apathy scores fell by about 7 points overall but there was no difference between nefiracetam and placebo. The authors concluded the drug was not more effective than placebo and that recruiting for behavioural drug trials after stroke is very hard.
Phase 2 Alzheimer's trial (registered; results never posted)50 patients aged 50-90 with mild to moderate probable Alzheimer's disease
3 pills twice a day (strength not stated in the registry record)
Twice daily
Oral
20 weeks, with an optional 7-month extensionNone described
This NINDS-sponsored double-blind, placebo-controlled study ran from July 1999 to January 2002 at the NIH Clinical Center and is marked completed, but no results were posted and no publication has been identified. The registry notes a precaution against enrolling men wishing to conceive because of potential effects on spermatogenesis, echoing the dog toxicology.
Human pharmacokineticsHealthy Japanese male volunteers
10-200 mg single doses; 200 mg three times a day in the multiple-dose study
Serum levels peaked within 2 hours and fell with a half-life of 3-5 hours, exposure rose linearly with dose, less than 10 percent was excreted unchanged in urine, food delayed absorption without changing overall exposure, and there was no meaningful accumulation on repeated dosing.
Preclinical3 rows
Beta-amyloid memory impairment in ratsRats given continuous intracerebroventricular beta-amyloid 1-42
1-10 mg/kg (3 mg/kg for the choline acetyltransferase measurement)
Nefiracetam reversed the Y-maze, water-maze and passive-avoidance deficits produced by amyloid infusion, raised hippocampal choline acetyltransferase activity and increased dopamine turnover. This is the preclinical rationale for the Alzheimer's trial; the effective rat doses are far below the per-kilogram human doses used in the stroke trials.
Kidney toxicity in dogsBeagle dogs, with comparison studies in rats and monkeys
Only dogs developed renal papillary necrosis, first visible as reduced urine osmolality from week 5 and tissue necrosis by week 8, which the authors attributed to a metabolite (M-18) concentrating in the canine renal papilla and suppressing prostaglandin synthesis. Rats and monkeys were unaffected at the doses tested.
Testicular testosterone fell within 4 hours of a single 300 mg/kg dose, serum testosterone fell after 1-2 weeks, and 4 weeks of dosing produced moderate to severe seminiferous atrophy with reduced sperm motility. The authors trace the effect to impaired conversion of progesterone to testosterone in Leydig cells. These are high-dose dog findings, but they explain the fertility caution in the human trial record.
Community-reported2 rows
Supplement blog dose range
150-450 mg per day
2-3 divided doses, the last before evening
Oral powder or capsules, taken with a fat source
Daily use described, with full effect expected after about a weekNot specified
Community resource2023
This 2023 blog post recommends starting at the lowest dose and quotes a 3-5 hour half-life, which matches the human pharmacokinetic study. It dismisses the dog testicular findings as irrelevant at these amounts, a judgement it does not support with data, and it ends with a vendor recommendation.
Vendor research-use listing
100 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle
Not stated (sold for laboratory research only)
Oral capsule format
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Vendor claim. The vendor sells nefiracetam as 100 mg capsules with a third-party report measuring 107.6-114.7 mg per capsule across three samples. The page cites the Daiichi development history but gives no dosing information and states the product is not for human consumption.
Plus 2 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Nefiracetam is a racetam developed by Daiichi in Japan under the code DM-9384, built from piracetam by replacing the simple amide with a 2,6-dimethylphenyl amide. It reached phase 3 in Japan for the after-effects of stroke, but Daiichi withdrew its Japanese application in 2002 for lack of efficacy, and the published human trials are three post-stroke depression and apathy studies at 600-900 mg a day plus one US Alzheimer's trial whose results were never posted. Dog toxicology found kidney and testicular damage at high doses, and it has never been approved anywhere.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Post-stroke depression trial
Nefiracetam did not beat placebo on the primary depression outcome; response rates above 70 percent and remission above 40 percent were seen in every arm including placebo. Only the most severely depressed fifth of.
3
Apathy in post-stroke depression
Patients on 900 mg a day showed a larger fall in Apathy Scale scores than those on 600 mg or placebo, which is the only positive human result for the compound. It is a secondary analysis of the depression trial above.
4
Post-stroke apathy trial (Australia)
Apathy scores fell by about 7 points overall but there was no difference between nefiracetam and placebo. The authors concluded the drug was not more effective than placebo and that recruiting for behavioural drug.
5
Phase 2 Alzheimer's trial (registered; results never posted)
This NINDS-sponsored double-blind, placebo-controlled study ran from July 1999 to January 2002 at the NIH Clinical Center and is marked completed, but no results were posted and no publication has been identified. The.
6
Human pharmacokinetics
Serum levels peaked within 2 hours and fell with a half-life of 3-5 hours, exposure rose linearly with dose, less than 10 percent was excreted unchanged in urine, food delayed absorption without changing overall.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
5 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
3 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
2 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Nefiracetam. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
DM-9384, DZL-221, Translon, Motiva, 2-Oxo-1-pyrrolidineaceto-2',6'-xylidide, DMPPA, UNII 1JK12GX30N, NSC-759830