Important limitations
- Individual claims and source links have not yet completed editorial verification.
- Evidence level, applicable study model, formulation, route and population remain unassigned.
Midnight Blend is a vendor-made, ready-to-use injectable sleep blend of melatonin, GABA, taurine, L-histidine and L-theanine sold as a research liquid in 20 mL vials.
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
| Context | Dose | Frequency | Route | Course | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clinical4 rows | |||||
| Ingredient: melatonin, meta-analysis of 19 placebo-controlled trials1,683 adults and children with primary sleep disorders | 0.3-5 mg per night in most trials (0.05-0.15 mg/kg in one pediatric trial) | Nightly before bed | Oral | 7 days to 26 weeksNot applicable | PLoS One (PubMed)2013 |
| Melatonin shortened time to fall asleep by about 7 minutes and lengthened total sleep by about 8 minutes compared with placebo, with a small improvement in sleep quality that did not fade with continued use. The authors call the effect modest and smaller than prescription hypnotics, and all of the trials used oral melatonin. | |||||
| Ingredient: GABA, randomized trial in insomnia40 adults with insomnia symptoms (30 GABA, 10 placebo) | 300 mg GABA from fermented rice germ | Once daily | Oral | 4 weeksNot applicable | Journal of Clinical Neurology (PubMed)2018 |
| Polysomnography showed sleep latency falling from 13.4 to 5.7 minutes and sleep efficiency rising from 79% to 86% in the GABA group only, with mild adverse events in 10% of participants. The trial was small, unevenly randomized and used a food-derived oral extract, and whether oral or injected GABA reaches the brain in meaningful amounts remains unsettled. | |||||
| Ingredient: L-theanine, randomized crossover trial30 healthy adults, mean age 48, without major psychiatric illness | 200 mg | Once daily | Oral tablets | 4 weeks per arm, with a 2-week washout between theanine and placeboNot applicable | Nutrients (PubMed)2019 |
| Sleep quality scores, trait anxiety and depression ratings improved after theanine, with the sleep latency and sleep disturbance sub-scores better than on placebo. Cognitive gains were limited to verbal fluency and executive function, mainly in people who started below the median, and the sample was small. | |||||
| Ingredient: taurine, meta-analysis of human dosing (exercise studies, not sleep)116 participants across 10 endurance-exercise studies | 1-6 g per dose | Single doses or daily for up to 2 weeks | Oral | Acute to 2 weeksNot applicable | Sports Medicine (PubMed)2018 |
| Taurine produced a small improvement in endurance performance whether taken once or for two weeks, with no dose effect across the 1-6 g range. These are the main controlled human taurine data; no human trial of taurine for sleep was found, so the sleep role claimed for the blend's taurine rests on animal and cell work. | |||||
| Community-reported3 rows | |||||
| Comparable five-ingredient sleep blend (Lights Out), community handbook | 0.25 mL to start, worked up to 1 mL (the blend lists GABA 100 mg, histidine 100 mg, theanine 50 mg, taurine 100 mg and melatonin 2 mg per mL) | Nightly, about 30 minutes before bed | Intramuscular, which the author prefers over subcutaneous for all amino blends | Not statedNone described | Community resource2025 |
| A January 2025 handbook covers a rival product with the same five ingredients at higher concentrations and tells readers to start at a quarter millilitre because several users reported shortness of breath after the injection, which the author attributes to the GABA. It warns that the blend causes strong tiredness and that driving afterwards should be avoided; these are one writer's observations, not study data. | |||||
| Third-party listing of per-millilitre content and storage | 1 mL contains histidine 75 mg, GABA 75 mg, taurine 75 mg, theanine 35 mg and melatonin 1.25 mg | Not stated in the storage guide | Ready-to-use liquid; route not stated | Vial used within 30 days of first punctureNot stated | Community resource2025 |
| A December 2025 storage guide reproduces the manufacturer's ingredient list for Midnight Blend and relays its instruction to keep the vial at room temperature (68-77 F) in the dark rather than refrigerate it. The guide is written by an affiliate of the vendors it covers and gives no dosing or outcome information. | |||||
| Sleep-blend placement in a 2026 community sleep guide | Not stated for the blend; the guide's oral reference points are 0.3-1 mg melatonin, 200-400 mg L-theanine and 3-5 g glycine | Nightly, 30-60 minutes before bed for melatonin and theanine | The blend is injected; the reference doses are oral supplements | Not statedNot stated | Community resource2026 |
| This February 2026 newsletter presents the Midnight Blend and a rival Sleep Blend as a concentrated form of an over-the-counter stack, placing them after lifestyle changes and oral supplements in a tiered plan. It quotes a 200 mcg per mL melatonin content that belongs to the rival product, not the 1.25 mg per mL listed for Midnight Blend, and a reader comment asks for a starting dose that the article never gives. | |||||
The community handbook for a comparable blend starts at 0.25 mL injected into a muscle about 30 minutes before bed, because of reports of shortness of breath and heavy sedation, and the legacy sheet for Midnight Blend itself begins at 0.5 mL an hour before sleep with a warning about hot flashes.
The dose is raised toward 1 mL per night over subsequent nights if the smaller volume is tolerated, which at the listed concentration means 1.25 mg melatonin, 75 mg each of GABA, taurine and histidine and 35 mg theanine. Vials are described as room-temperature stable and used within 30 days of first puncture.
The oral trials behind the ingredients ran nightly for four weeks (300 mg GABA, 200 mg theanine) or from one week to six months (0.3-5 mg melatonin), and measured sleep with polysomnography or questionnaires. None used injections, none combined the ingredients and none describes a titration.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Midnight Blend is a vendor-made, ready-to-use injectable sleep blend of melatonin, GABA, taurine, L-histidine and L-theanine sold as a research liquid in 20 mL vials. The legacy sheet lists no amounts per millilitre and describes 0.5-1 mL about an hour before sleep with a warning about mild hot flashes; a 2025 third-party storage guide lists the same product at 75 mg histidine, 75 mg GABA, 75 mg taurine, 35 mg theanine and 1.25 mg melatonin per mL, stored at room temperature. Melatonin is an over-the-counter oral supplement in the United States and has placebo-controlled trial data for sleep, GABA and theanine each have small oral sleep trials, but no study has tested this combination, no injectable form of any of these ingredients is approved for sleep, and the only dosing descriptions are from vendors and community writers.
These themes organize the educational information currently available. Individual claims remain under source review and are not treatment claims.
Central regulator of circadian rhythm and sleep initiation. Molecular Formula: C 13 H 16 N 2 O 2 Molecular Weight: 232.28 g/mol
Primary inhibitory neurotransmitter in the central nervous system. Molecular Formula: C 4 H 9 NO 2 Molecular Weight: 103.12 g/mol
Contributes to cellular osmoregulation and muscle protection. Molecular Formula: C 2 H 7 NO 3 S / NH 2 CH 2 CH 2 SO 3 H Molecular Weight: 125.15 g/mol
Precursor to histamine, potentially balancing arousal-sleep transitions depending on context. Molecular Formula: C 6 H 9 N 3 O 2 Molecular Weight: 155.15 g/mol
Amino acid known for promoting calm alertness and reducing stress responses. Molecular Formula: C 7 H 14 N 2 O 3 Molecular Weight: 174.20 g/mol
THIS PRODUCT IS INTENDED AS A RESEARCH CHEMICAL ONLY. It is provided exclusively for in vitro testing and laboratory research. All product information is for educational use only, and any human or animal administration…
Available context is organized without assigning unsupported study models or evidence grades.
Central regulator of circadian rhythm and sleep initiation. Molecular Formula: C 13 H 16 N 2 O 2 Molecular Weight: 232.28 g/mol
Primary inhibitory neurotransmitter in the central nervous system. Molecular Formula: C 4 H 9 NO 2 Molecular Weight: 103.12 g/mol
1 link carried over from the earlier page, awaiting verification.