Mexidol is the succinate salt of emoxypine, a small antioxidant pyridine molecule, and the succinate half is itself an energy-metabolism substrate rather than inert ballast.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: Emoxypine Succinate, Emoxypine succinate, Ethylmethylhydroxypyridine succinate, 2-ethyl-6-methyl-3-hydroxypyridine succinate, Methylethylpiridinol succinate, Mexidole, Mexicor, Emicidine
Amounts reported for Mexidol are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Mexidol
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 6 clinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical6 rows
EPICA: randomised placebo-controlled trial in acute ischaemic stroke150 randomised patients aged 40 to 79 with hemispheric ischaemic stroke
500 mg per day intravenously, then 125 mg three times a day by mouth (375 mg per day)
Daily infusion, then three times daily by mouth
Intravenous infusion, then oral tablets
10 days intravenous followed by 8 weeks oral, about 67 to 71 days in totalNone; the oral phase follows the infusion phase without a gap
This is the trial that set the sequential pattern used in the later studies. Disability on the modified Rankin scale and neurological deficit on the NIHSS were both lower than placebo at the end of treatment, the gain was larger in patients with diabetes, and side-effect rates did not differ. It is a double-blind multicentre placebo-controlled trial, but with 150 patients it is small for a stroke outcome study.
MEMO: randomised placebo-controlled trial in chronic brain ischaemia318 patients aged 40 to 90 with chronic brain ischaemia, across 15 centres in Russia and Uzbekistan
500 mg once daily intravenously, then 250 mg three times a day by mouth (750 mg per day)
Once daily infusion, then three times daily by mouth
Intravenous, then oral film-coated tablets
14 days intravenous followed by 60 days oralNone; the oral phase follows the infusion phase directly
The primary endpoint, change on the Montreal Cognitive Assessment, favoured treatment with a highly significant difference, and secondary measures covering a digit-symbol substitution test, asthenia, anxiety, balance and quality of life also separated from placebo. Safety was comparable to placebo. This is the largest placebo-controlled study of the compound and it is where the 250 mg three times daily oral dose comes from.
MIR: randomised placebo-controlled trial in ischaemic stroke304 patients in the acute and early recovery periods of ischaemic stroke, across Russia, Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan
500 mg twice daily intravenously in 100-200 mL of saline, then 250 mg three times a day by mouth
Twice daily infusion, then three times daily by mouth
Intravenous infusion, then oral tablets
10 days intravenous followed by 60 days oralNone described
The most recent of the large trials doubled the daily infusion to 500 mg twice a day. Disability, neurological deficit and mobility all improved against placebo, cognitive scores showed a strong trend, and adverse events occurred in 23 percent of patients in both arms. The authors limit the conclusion to strokes of moderate severity, which is the population studied.
Systematic review and meta-analysis of the stroke literature11 studies published in Russian: 2 randomised controlled trials and 9 non-randomised unblinded cohort studies
Pools the 500 mg intravenous and 250 to 375 mg daily oral courses used across the included studies
Not stated
Intravenous and oral
Varies by study, with effects measured from day 5 to day 24
The pooled analysis found lower NIHSS scores at days 7 to 10 and 21 to 24 and lower modified Rankin scores at days 5 to 7 and 10 to 14, with a larger effect in patients whose initial deficit was more severe. The authors state plainly that the mix of designs produced significant statistical heterogeneity and that the evidence needs further examination, and that nine of eleven studies were neither randomised nor blinded.
Open comparison against standard therapy for post-stroke cognition70 patients with acute ischaemic stroke: 40 treated, 30 on standard therapy alone
500 mg per day intravenously, then 750 mg per day by mouth
Once daily infusion, then divided oral doses
Intravenous, then oral
14 days intravenous followed by 60 days oralNone described
Cognitive scores on the MoCA and MMSE and the P300 evoked potential improved more in the treated group. The control group received standard therapy without a placebo, and allocation was by simple random sampling in a single centre, so this is weaker evidence than the blinded trials above.
Age-group sub-analysis of EPICAThe 150 EPICA patients split into groups under 60, 60 to 75 and 76 to 90 years old
The same 500 mg intravenous then 375 mg per day oral course
Effect did not differ by age group on any scale. Disability scores at the end of treatment were lower than placebo in the oldest group, the rate of improvement was steepest in the 60 to 75 group, and patients aged 76 to 90 and those with diabetes showed less depression and better everyday activity. Subgroup analyses of a 150-patient trial are exploratory by nature.
Community-reported1 row
Vendor capsule product
125 mg per capsule
Not stated
Oral capsule
Not stated
Community resource2026
A vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. The 125 mg strength matches the oral tablet used in the EPICA trial, where it was taken three times a day; the later trials used a 250 mg tablet three times a day. The listing states the material is not for human use.
How a course is commonly described
1
Days 1-10 or 1-14Clinical
Every large trial opens with the intravenous phase: 500 mg a day, or 500 mg twice a day in the most recent stroke trial, infused in saline. This is the hospital half of the course and it is what the published evidence actually tests first.
2
Weeks 2-10Clinical
The oral phase follows immediately with no gap: 125 mg three times daily for 8 weeks in the first stroke trial, or 250 mg three times daily for 60 days in the chronic ischaemia and later stroke trials. The whole point of the design is that the course continues after discharge.
3
End of courseClinical
Trials measured their primary endpoint at the end of the oral phase, roughly day 67 to 74, and then stopped. No published study describes repeating the course, a maintenance dose or an off period, so there is no evidence-based cycling pattern.
The studied course is two-stage by design: an intravenous phase of 10 to 14 days, then 60 days of tablets, with no break between them. The amounts belong to stroke and chronic brain ischaemia patients in hospital care, not to healthy people.
This is a registered medicine in Russia and neighbouring countries and is not approved in the United States, the European Union or the United Kingdom. The trials are published in Russian-language journals, several by groups connected to the product, and a 2023 meta-analysis of the stroke literature found significant heterogeneity and noted that nine of its eleven studies were neither randomised nor blinded.
The injectable solution used in all the trials is a 50 mg/mL concentrate for infusion. Research-grade capsules sold online match the tablet strengths but carry none of the manufacturing or labelling guarantees of the registered product.
Plus 2 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Mexidol is the succinate salt of emoxypine, a small antioxidant pyridine molecule, and the succinate half is itself an energy-metabolism substrate rather than inert ballast. It has been a registered medicine in Russia for decades, given first as an intravenous solution and then as tablets, and it carries a larger body of randomised placebo-controlled trial data than almost anything else sold as a research nootropic. Those trials, run in Russia, Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan, tested a two-stage course in ischaemic stroke and chronic brain ischaemia and reported less disability and better cognitive scores than placebo, though the literature is almost entirely in Russian journals and a 2023 meta-analysis found substantial heterogeneity across it.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
EPICA: randomised placebo-controlled trial in acute ischaemic stroke
This is the trial that set the sequential pattern used in the later studies. Disability on the modified Rankin scale and neurological deficit on the NIHSS were both lower than placebo at the end of treatment, the gain.
3
MEMO: randomised placebo-controlled trial in chronic brain ischaemia
The primary endpoint, change on the Montreal Cognitive Assessment, favoured treatment with a highly significant difference, and secondary measures covering a digit-symbol substitution test, asthenia, anxiety, balance.
4
MIR: randomised placebo-controlled trial in ischaemic stroke
The most recent of the large trials doubled the daily infusion to 500 mg twice a day. Disability, neurological deficit and mobility all improved against placebo, cognitive scores showed a strong trend, and adverse.
5
Systematic review and meta-analysis of the stroke literature
The pooled analysis found lower NIHSS scores at days 7 to 10 and 21 to 24 and lower modified Rankin scores at days 5 to 7 and 10 to 14, with a larger effect in patients whose initial deficit was more severe. The.
6
Open comparison against standard therapy for post-stroke cognition
Cognitive scores on the MoCA and MMSE and the P300 evoked potential improved more in the treated group. The control group received standard therapy without a placebo, and allocation was by simple random sampling in a.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
6 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Not graded
Community-reported use
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Mexidol. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.