Fladrafinil, development code CRL-40,941, is adrafinil with a fluorine atom added to each of its two phenyl rings, synthesised at Laboratoire L.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: CRL-40941, Fluorafinil, CRL-40,941, 2-[bis(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]sulfinylethanehydroxamic acid, UNII 5RT6X0M01F, DTXSID40536590, HY-129048, MFCD29036740
Amounts reported for Fladrafinil are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Fladrafinil
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 1 clinical, 1 preclinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical1 row
Human elimination study for anti-doping method development6 volunteers, three men and three women, who took either flmodafinil or fladrafinil
20 mg as a single dose
Once
Oral
Single dose, with urine and dried blood spots collected over the detection windowNot applicable
This is the only human study of the compound and it measured concentrations, not effects: there was no cognitive endpoint, no wakefulness measurement and no efficacy or safety outcome. Peak urine concentrations reached 52 to 111 ng/mL for fladrafinil and 191 to 891 ng/mL for flmodafinil, because fladrafinil converts to flmodafinil in the body. The authors note long detection windows for both, which is the point of the work.
Preclinical1 row
Original 1984 patent pharmacology in mice and ratsMale mice in groups of three per half-cage and batches of 6 rats per test
64, 128 and 256 mg/kg in the mouse aggression test; 128 mg/kg in the rat stereotypy tests
Single doses, 30 minutes before testing
Intraperitoneal, suspended in gum arabic at 20 mL/kg in mice and 5 mL/kg in rats
Fladrafinil is Example 1 of US Patent 4,489,095, listed under the code CRL 40941. The patent reports that inter-group fighting in isolated mice fell by 58 percent at 64 mg/kg and 61 percent at 128 mg/kg while adrafinil at the same doses did not, that 128 mg/kg prolonged apomorphine and amphetamine stereotypies in rats, and that the maximum non-lethal intraperitoneal dose in male mice is above 512 mg/kg, with cramps, depressed breathing and sedation at 1,024 mg/kg. These are injected rodent amounts from a patent application, not a measured receptor profile and not a human dose.
Community-reported1 row
Vendor liquid product
100 mg/mL in a 30 mL bottle (3,000 mg total)
Not stated
Liquid solution, supplied ready-mixed
Not stated
Community resource2026
A vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. The published certificate for this lot reports 114.4 mg/mL measured against the 100 mg/mL label, which is about 14 percent over the stated strength, and identity confirmed as fladrafinil. A bottle at this concentration holds 150 times the only dose ever given to a person in a study.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Fladrafinil, development code CRL-40,941, is adrafinil with a fluorine atom added to each of its two phenyl rings, synthesised at Laboratoire L. Lafon in France and covered by a 1984 patent. Almost everything ever measured on the molecule itself sits in that patent, in mice and rats given it by injection into the abdomen, and the one human study on record gave six volunteers a single 20 mg dose purely so that anti-doping laboratories could work out how long it stays detectable. That study also established that fladrafinil acts as a prodrug for flmodafinil, and both compounds fall under the stimulant class of the World Anti-Doping Agency prohibited list; no regulator anywhere has approved it and no clinical trial of it is registered.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Human elimination study for anti-doping method development
This is the only human study of the compound and it measured concentrations, not effects: there was no cognitive endpoint, no wakefulness measurement and no efficacy or safety outcome. Peak urine concentrations reached.
3
Original 1984 patent pharmacology in mice and rats
Fladrafinil is Example 1 of US Patent 4,489,095, listed under the code CRL 40941. The patent reports that inter-group fighting in isolated mice fell by 58 percent at 64 mg/kg and 61 percent at 128 mg/kg while adrafinil.
4
Vendor liquid product
A vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. The published certificate for this lot reports 114.4 mg/mL measured against the 100 mg/mL label, which is about 14 percent over the stated strength, and identity.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
1 protocol row on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
1 protocol row describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Fladrafinil. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
CRL-40,941, Fluorafinil, 2-[bis(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]sulfinylethanehydroxamic acid, UNII 5RT6X0M01F, DTXSID40536590, HY-129048, MFCD29036740