Fasoracetam is a racetam developed by Nippon Shinyaku in Japan as NS-105 for cerebrovascular disease, studied through the 1990s without being approved.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: NS-105, LAM-105, NFC-1, AEVI-001, N-(5-Oxo-D-prolyl)piperidine, (R)-1-((5-Oxo-2-pyrrolidinyl)carbonyl)piperidine, UNII 42O8UF5CJB, CHEMBL2106179
Amounts reported for Fasoracetam are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Fasoracetam
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 3 clinical, 2 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical3 rows
Open-label dose-escalation study in adolescents with ADHD30 adolescents aged 12-17 with ADHD and mutations in mGluR network genes
Single doses of 50-800 mg for pharmacokinetics; then 50 mg, 100 mg, 200 mg and 400 mg twice daily in successive weeks
Twice daily
Oral
5 weeks: a single-blind placebo week followed by 4 weeks of symptom-driven escalationNone described
Clinical Global Impression scores improved significantly from baseline to week 5 and parental ratings improved in the subgroup with the most disruptive variants, with no more adverse events on drug than during the placebo week. The study was open-label and uncontrolled after week 1, so the improvement cannot be separated from expectation. Registered as NCT02286817.
Randomised phase 2/3 trial in adolescents with ADHD (registry record)101 adolescents aged 12-17 with ADHD and copy-number variants in mGluR network genes, enrolled at Kennedy Krieger Institute
100, 200 or 400 mg
Twice daily, optimised over the first 4 weeks then held
This double-blind, placebo-controlled trial sponsored by Aevi Genomic Medicine ran from June 2016 to February 2017 with change in ADHD-RS-5 total score and CGI-I response as co-primary outcomes. The registry lists results with no serious adverse events among nine adverse event types. It remains the only controlled efficacy trial of fasoracetam in any population, and the compound has not been approved for any use.
Pharmacokinetics in elderly versus young men14 healthy men, 7 aged 68-79 and 7 aged 20-32
Peak concentration was about 40 percent higher and total exposure about 70 percent higher in the elderly group, with clearance reduced mainly through lower renal clearance that tracked creatinine clearance. The authors advise careful observation in elderly patients, which matters because the compound is cleared by the kidney.
Preclinical2 rows
Memory disruption models in ratsRats with scopolamine, basal forebrain lesion, AF64A, baclofen, ischaemia or electroconvulsive shock induced amnesia
10 mg/kg for the acetylcholine release and choline uptake measurements
NS-105 reversed memory disruption across every cholinergic-deficit model tested and also reversed baclofen-induced amnesia, which comparator drugs did not. It increased cortical acetylcholine release and high-affinity choline uptake without changing choline acetyltransferase activity, pointing to cholinergic facilitation plus suppression of GABA-B responses.
Antidepressant models and GABA-B receptor upregulation in ratsRats in forced swimming and learned helplessness tests
1-100 mg/kg
Single and repeated administration
Oral
Repeated dosing in the learned helplessness and receptor-binding experimentsNot applicable
NS-105 reduced immobility in the forced swim test and reversed escape failure after repeated dosing, and repeated administration increased the number of cortical GABA-B receptors without touching monoamine uptake or levels. This paper is the origin of the community claim that fasoracetam restores GABA-B sensitivity after phenibut or baclofen use; the finding is in rats.
Community-reported3 rows
Community oral and sublingual protocols
10-30 mg by mouth or 5-20 mg sublingually
Twice daily, morning and early afternoon
Oral, or held under the tongue for 60-90 seconds
8 weeks on2 weeks off
Community resource2026
This stack-planning site suggests starting at 10 mg twice daily and notes that clinical ADHD trials used far higher doses. Its sublingual claim of better bioavailability has no published pharmacokinetic support, and the cycle is convention rather than evidence. It lists sedation, headache and low motivation at higher doses as reported side effects.
Community dose range against the trial dose
20-100 mg per day as a nootropic; 100-400 mg twice daily in the ADHD trials
Once or twice daily
Oral or sublingual
Not specifiedNot specified
Community resource2026
This UK reference page separates the 20-100 mg a day used by hobbyists from the 100-400 mg twice daily used in the Aevi trials, and reports that users describe GABA-B related effects as building over days to weeks. It records the compound as unapproved in every country and notes that long-term safety for nootropic use is not established.
Vendor research-use listing
40 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle
Not stated (sold for laboratory research only)
Oral capsule format
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Vendor claim. The vendor sells fasoracetam as 40 mg capsules with an ISO 17025 laboratory certificate for lot FAS01 (HPLC purity 99.04 percent, 41.16 mg measured). The page cites the 2018 Nature Communications study but gives no dosing information and states the product is not for human consumption.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Fasoracetam is a racetam developed by Nippon Shinyaku in Japan as NS-105 for cerebrovascular disease, studied through the 1990s without being approved. It was revived as NFC-1 by Aevi Genomic Medicine for adolescents with ADHD who carry metabotropic glutamate receptor gene variants, with a 2018 open-label study at up to 400 mg twice daily and a registered phase 2/3 trial of 100-400 mg twice daily. Rat studies attribute its effects to cholinergic facilitation and upregulation of GABA-B receptors, and the 10-100 mg a day quoted online is well below any human trial dose.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Open-label dose-escalation study in adolescents with ADHD
Clinical Global Impression scores improved significantly from baseline to week 5 and parental ratings improved in the subgroup with the most disruptive variants, with no more adverse events on drug than during the.
3
Randomised phase 2/3 trial in adolescents with ADHD (registry record)
This double-blind, placebo-controlled trial sponsored by Aevi Genomic Medicine ran from June 2016 to February 2017 with change in ADHD-RS-5 total score and CGI-I response as co-primary outcomes. The registry lists.
4
Pharmacokinetics in elderly versus young men
Peak concentration was about 40 percent higher and total exposure about 70 percent higher in the elderly group, with clearance reduced mainly through lower renal clearance that tracked creatinine clearance. The authors.
5
Memory disruption models in rats
NS-105 reversed memory disruption across every cholinergic-deficit model tested and also reversed baclofen-induced amnesia, which comparator drugs did not. It increased cortical acetylcholine release and high-affinity.
6
Antidepressant models and GABA-B receptor upregulation in rats
NS-105 reduced immobility in the forced swim test and reversed escape failure after repeated dosing, and repeated administration increased the number of cortical GABA-B receptors without touching monoamine uptake or.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
3 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
2 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Fasoracetam. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
NS-105, LAM-105, NFC-1, AEVI-001, N-(5-Oxo-D-prolyl)piperidine, (R)-1-((5-Oxo-2-pyrrolidinyl)carbonyl)piperidine, UNII 42O8UF5CJB, CHEMBL2106179
InChIKey
GOWRRBABHQUJMX-MRVPVSSYSA-N
IUPAC name
(5R)-5-(piperidine-1-carbonyl)pyrrolidin-2-one
Limitations and unknowns
Important limitations
Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.
Sources
6 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 3 community resources reported but not linked.