Amounts reported for Dihexa are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
No human amount or schedule has been recorded for this compound.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Dihexa
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 preclinical and 4 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Preclinical4 rows
Original oral dose-finding in rat dementia modelsRats with scopolamine-induced memory deficits and aged rats, tested in the Morris water maze
Oral doses in the scopolamine and aged-rat models; the indexed abstract states no figure, and secondary summaries give about 2 mg/kg per day
This is the paper that first described Dihexa, reporting that the modified tripeptide core stayed active by mouth, reversed scopolamine-induced water-maze deficits and increased hippocampal synaptogenesis. The record carries a 2021 expression of concern printed by the journal, so its specifics deserve extra caution, and every figure in it is a rat figure that does not convert to a human amount.
APP/PS1 Alzheimer-model miceAPP/PS1 transgenic mice dosed from six to nine months of age, with wild-type controls
Both amounts shortened water-maze escape latency, raised neuronal counts and synaptophysin, lowered IL-1 beta and TNF-alpha and raised IL-10, and the effect was reversed by the PI3K inhibitor wortmannin. The methods are mostly written as intragastric dosing but one sentence says intraperitoneal, so the route in this study is not stated consistently.
Rat sciatic nerve transection and repairMale Lewis rats, 6 to 8 per group across 10 experimental groups
2-4 mg/kg body weight
Not stated
Local hydrogel at the repair site, systemically by vein or abdomen, or into the gastrocnemius muscle
Function followed to 16 weeks after repairNot applicable
Motor function measured by walking footprint grades improved significantly at 8 to 16 weeks when Dihexa or G-CSF was given into the muscle alongside mesenchymal stem cells, and foot flexion contractures were reduced. Sensory recovery was similar across all groups, and Dihexa was not tested on its own against vehicle in a way that separates its contribution.
Huntington's disease model in rats (negative result)40 male Wistar rats randomised to vehicle, 3-nitropropionic acid, or 3-nitropropionic acid plus Dihexa
Not stated in the report; 40 rats were split across 3 groups
Dihexa, named here by its code PNB-0408, did not protect rats from the weight loss, spatial learning deficits or motor dysfunction caused by the mitochondrial toxin. This is a published negative result in the same compound class that produced the memory findings, and the authors call for work in other models.
Community-reported4 rows
Vendor capsule product
5 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle (300 mg total)
Not stated
Oral capsule
Not stated
Community resource2026
This is a vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. The listing publishes a per-lot certificate: lot 060526 was reported at 99.90 percent purity by HPLC with 5.36 mg measured against a 5 mg label. The page states plainly that the product is not for human, veterinary or food use.
Vendor nasal spray kit
100 mcg per spray, about 100 sprays per 10 mL bottle (10 mg total)
Not stated
Intranasal, supplied pre-mixed with no reconstitution
Not stated
Community resource2026
The aerosol listing is the reason this compound has nasal-spray support in the calculator. The lot certificate reports identity confirmed and 0.1 mg measured against a 100 mcg label. No published study has given Dihexa intranasally to any species, so the route here is a product format rather than a studied one.
Community dosing band
10-40 mg per day
Daily, usually in the morning
Oral or intranasal
Not stated
Community resource2026
This 2026 guide rates the evidence low, counts a single peer-reviewed citation behind the compound and labels every half-life and dose figure vendor folklore until a paper exists. It also warns against treating the widely repeated synaptogenic potency comparison as a clinical multiplier.
What community users report against the cited figure
About 2 mg/kg per day in rats is the only cited figure; community reports describe a few milligrams a day
Daily, in short runs
Oral, sometimes applied to the skin or injected
Not stated
Community resource2026
This 2026 summary states that the rat figure does not translate to a person and was never validated in people, and that the practical risk is sourcing: Dihexa is sold only as an unregulated research chemical, so purity, the real amount in the container and sterility all vary.
Plus 6 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Dihexa is a synthetic analogue of angiotensin IV, built at Washington State University by cutting the parent peptide down to its Tyr-Ile core and capping both ends so the molecule survives digestion and reaches the brain. It has been tested only in rats, mice, zebrafish and cell culture, where it is reported to act on the hepatocyte growth factor and c-Met system and to restore memory in scopolamine-treated and aged animals. No human study of Dihexa has ever been registered, the 2014 paper that established its mechanism was retracted in 2025, and vendors sell it both as oral capsules and as a pre-mixed nasal spray for research use only.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Original oral dose-finding in rat dementia models
This is the paper that first described Dihexa, reporting that the modified tripeptide core stayed active by mouth, reversed scopolamine-induced water-maze deficits and increased hippocampal synaptogenesis. The record.
3
APP/PS1 Alzheimer-model mice
Both amounts shortened water-maze escape latency, raised neuronal counts and synaptophysin, lowered IL-1 beta and TNF-alpha and raised IL-10, and the effect was reversed by the PI3K inhibitor wortmannin. The methods.
4
Rat sciatic nerve transection and repair
Motor function measured by walking footprint grades improved significantly at 8 to 16 weeks when Dihexa or G-CSF was given into the muscle alongside mesenchymal stem cells, and foot flexion contractures were reduced..
5
Huntington's disease model in rats (negative result)
Dihexa, named here by its code PNB-0408, did not protect rats from the weight loss, spatial learning deficits or motor dysfunction caused by the mitochondrial toxin. This is a published negative result in the same.
6
Vendor capsule product
This is a vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. The listing publishes a per-lot certificate: lot 060526 was reported at 99.90 percent purity by HPLC with 5.36 mg measured against a 5 mg label. The page states.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Animal
Preclinical models
4 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
4 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Dihexa. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
PNB-0408, ATH-1001, N-hexanoic-Tyr-Ile-(6) aminohexanoic amide, Hexanoyl-Tyr-Ile-Ahx-NH2, UNII 9WYX65A5C2, DTXSID701032895