Bromantane is an adamantane derivative developed at the Zakusov Institute of Pharmacology in Moscow and sold in Russia as Ladasten for asthenia.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: Ladasten, Bromantan, Bromontan, N-(2-Adamantyl)-N-(4-bromophenyl)amine, N-(4-Bromophenyl)tricyclo[3.3.1.13,7]decan-2-amine, UNII N1ILS53XWK, CHEMBL4303520
Amounts reported for Bromantane are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Bromantane
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 3 clinical, 2 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical3 rows
Russian multicentre study in asthenic disorders728 patients with psychoautonomic syndrome and asthenic disorders at 28 clinical centres
50-100 mg per day
Daily
Oral
28 days, with follow-up one month after stoppingEffects were reported to persist through the month after withdrawal
Response rates were 76 percent on the CGI-S and 90.8 percent on the CGI-I, the anti-asthenic effect appeared by day 3, and adverse effects were recorded in 3 percent of patients with 0.8 percent discontinuing. The abstract does not describe a control group, so this is a large open study of a marketed Russian product rather than a placebo-controlled trial.
Single-dose study in healthy volunteersHealthy volunteers tested under laboratory mental fatigue
Ladasten showed no behavioural toxicity and improved psychophysiological measures in the fatigued state, with larger effects in people the authors classed as stress-labile. The abstract gives no sample size. A separate 2000 study in 10 healthy men described EEG signs of moderately raised vigilance after a single oral dose without a change in subjective state.
Review of actoprotector pharmacology and doping historyReview of Russian clinical and experimental literature on bemitil and bromantane
Therapeutic doses described as almost free of side effects, withdrawal syndrome or overstimulation; animal toxicity only above 600 mg/kg
This 2012 Korean-published review records that bromantane is manufactured in Russia as Ladasten, that anti-doping rules have prohibited it in sport since 1997, that its hydroxylated metabolites remain detectable in urine for two weeks after dosing, and that its mechanism is thought to involve dopamine synthesis and GABAergic modulation plus antiradical and membrane-protective properties. It is a sympathetic summary written largely from Russian sources.
Preclinical2 rows
Acute neurotoxicology in ratsRats observed on a multi-test (Irwin) protocol after single doses
30-300 mg/kg stimulated behaviour; 600-9,600 mg/kg suppressed it
Low doses raised spontaneous motor activity while doses above 600 mg/kg depressed it, raised pain thresholds and, above 5-10 g/kg, produced laboured breathing and ptosis; mydriasis occurred at every dose and body temperature fell by 0.5-1 degree C. The authors linked the behavioural effects to central dopamine stimulation with suppression of cholinergic signalling. The therapeutic human dose is roughly 1 mg/kg, far below any of these amounts.
Two-month course in ratsMale and female rats
30 mg/kg (effective), 150 mg/kg (intermediate) or 600 mg/kg (toxic)
Daily
Oral
2 months, with 2 months of observation after stoppingBehaviour and physiology returned to baseline within two months of stopping
The effective dose stimulated exploration and the toxic dose suppressed it, with sex-dependent effects on motor activity and body weight, early hypothermia giving way to mild hyperthermia, and increased muscle strength. No signs of dependence or tolerance to the performance effect were seen over two months. These are rat findings at doses 30-600 times the human amount per kilogram.
Community-reported3 rows
Community dosing guide built on the Russian course
50 mg once daily for the first 3-5 days, then 100 mg once daily; 25-50 mg suggested as a start for older users
Once daily in the morning, with or after breakfast
Oral
2-4 week courses, repeated 2-3 times a year2-4 weeks off after each course; continuous use beyond 4-6 weeks described as unsupported
Community resource2026
This 2026 guide copies the registered Russian pattern of 50-100 mg a day in short courses, advises against doses above 100 mg for lack of trial support, and tells tested athletes to avoid the compound entirely because of its WADA status. It stresses that chronic fatigue has reversible medical causes that deserve a work-up before any experimental compound. These are community recommendations, not trial findings.
Vendor research guide
Rat mechanism studies at a single 50 mg/kg oral dose are summarised; no human dose is given
Not stated
Oral in the cited rat work
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Vendor claim. The vendor's July 2026 reference page describes bromantane as a dopaminergic modulator acting through tyrosine hydroxylase expression and histone acetylation in rats, cites the Russian pilot and neurasthenia studies, notes the positive athlete tests at the 1996 Olympics and the WADA prohibition, and states that no human efficacy is asserted. It is written for research use only and gives no dosing.
Vendor research-use listing
25 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle
Not stated (sold for laboratory research only)
Oral capsule format; an aerosol spray version is also listed
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
Vendor claim. The vendor sells bromantane as 25 mg capsules, a quarter to half of the Russian daily dose, with identity confirmed by HPLC across lots tested by three laboratories and heavy metals below 50 ppb on the latest report. The page gives no dosing information and states the product is not for human consumption.
How a course is commonly described
1
Days 1-5Community-reported
Community guides start at 50 mg once in the morning and move to 100 mg if tolerated, noting that users describe a gradual lift over the first one to two weeks rather than an immediate stimulant effect.
2
Weeks 1-4Clinical
The Russian course is 50-100 mg a day for 28 days, and in the 728-patient study the anti-asthenic effect was reported from day 3 and persisted through the month after treatment ended.
3
BreakCommunity-reported
Guides describe a 2-4 week pause after each course and no more than 2-3 courses a year, which mirrors the short-course Russian indication; no study has examined continuous use beyond a few weeks.
Every human figure for bromantane is Russian: 50-100 mg a day for 28 days in open or small comparative studies of asthenia, and single 100 mg doses in volunteers. Nothing has been replicated by independent groups, and there is no Western approval.
Bromantane is on the WADA prohibited list as a stimulant and its metabolites are detectable in urine for about two weeks, so anyone subject to drug testing should treat it as a certain positive.
It is an oral small molecule; there is no vial or reconstitution. The rows above record what sources report, not advice.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Bromantane is an adamantane derivative developed at the Zakusov Institute of Pharmacology in Moscow and sold in Russia as Ladasten for asthenia. Its developers class it as an actoprotector, a fatigue-reducing drug said to raise resistance to physical load without increasing oxygen consumption. Russian multicentre studies gave 50-100 mg a day for 28 days to several hundred patients with asthenic disorders, and a single 100 mg dose improved measures of mental fatigue in healthy volunteers, but none of this work has been replicated outside Russia and the compound has no approval in the United States or the European Union. It has been prohibited in sport as a stimulant since 1997, after a 1997 Lancet report described it as a new doping agent, and its metabolites remain detectable in urine for about two weeks.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Russian multicentre study in asthenic disorders
Response rates were 76 percent on the CGI-S and 90.8 percent on the CGI-I, the anti-asthenic effect appeared by day 3, and adverse effects were recorded in 3 percent of patients with 0.8 percent discontinuing. The.
3
Single-dose study in healthy volunteers
Ladasten showed no behavioural toxicity and improved psychophysiological measures in the fatigued state, with larger effects in people the authors classed as stress-labile. The abstract gives no sample size. A separate.
4
Review of actoprotector pharmacology and doping history
This 2012 Korean-published review records that bromantane is manufactured in Russia as Ladasten, that anti-doping rules have prohibited it in sport since 1997, that its hydroxylated metabolites remain detectable in.
5
Acute neurotoxicology in rats
Low doses raised spontaneous motor activity while doses above 600 mg/kg depressed it, raised pain thresholds and, above 5-10 g/kg, produced laboured breathing and ptosis; mydriasis occurred at every dose and body.
6
Two-month course in rats
The effective dose stimulated exploration and the toxic dose suppressed it, with sex-dependent effects on motor activity and body weight, early hypothermia giving way to mild hyperthermia, and increased muscle.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
3 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
2 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Bromantane. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
Ladasten, Bromantan, Bromontan, N-(2-Adamantyl)-N-(4-bromophenyl)amine, N-(4-Bromophenyl)tricyclo[3.3.1.13,7]decan-2-amine, UNII N1ILS53XWK, CHEMBL4303520
InChIKey
LWJALJDRFBXHKX-UHFFFAOYSA-N
IUPAC name
N-(4-bromophenyl)adamantan-2-amine
Limitations and unknowns
Important limitations
Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.
Sources
8 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 3 community resources reported but not linked.