The calculator contains 100-200 mcg mass-based rows. Intranasal behavioral trials generally report IU, while regulated obstetric use follows entirely different monitored protocols. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
There is no regulator-approved starting dose for this research use. A low-looking number is not automatically safe.
Recorded preset100-200 mcg / dayCalculator library reference
This is the range represented in the in-app protocol library. It describes the source record; it does not validate the regimen.
Higher exposureNo universal research ceilingRisk and uncertainty increase
Higher exposure is not established as more effective. Human pharmacokinetic and long-term safety data may be absent.
Do not convert IU to mcg or syringe units without the exact product potency. Oxytocin preparations are commonly labeled by international units.
Patterns described in source material
Daily in recorded presets
The cadence represented by the recorded calculator presets.
8-48 IU intranasal in many behavioral trials
Published experiments may use a different route, formulation, timing, or population and should not be treated as interchangeable.
No universal schedule
No single schedule has been validated across products or research contexts.
Clinical context
8 or 24 IUSingle intranasal sessionsDose-response social-cognition trialDevice-specific
48 IU total/dayIntranasal for 24 weeksSOARS-B autism trialPrimary endpoint negative
Human research is extensive but indication- and route-specific; no single intranasal schedule is established across outcomes.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Lyophilized material
Keep cold, dry, and protected from light according to the manufacturer certificate or validated lab SOP.
After reconstitution
Use sterile technique, refrigerate as validated, and avoid repeated freeze-thaw cycles.
Traceability
Record lot, concentration, preparation date, and the identity/purity documentation used by the lab.
Reported protocols for Oxytocin+
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 6 clinical, 1 preclinical and 6 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical6 rows
FDA label, Pitocin, induction or augmentation of laborPregnant patients with a medical indication for induction or improvement of uterine contractions
0.5-1 mU/min to start, raised by 1-2 mU/min every 30-60 minutes; rates above 9-10 mU/min at term described as rarely needed
Continuous infusion, titrated to the contraction pattern
Intravenous infusion by pump only (10 units in 1,000 mL gives 10 mU/mL); intramuscular use is not labelled for induction
For the duration of labor; dose may be reduced once labor reaches 5-6 cm dilationInfusion stopped at once for uterine hyperactivity or fetal distress
The label states that the dose is set by uterine response and must be individualised from a very low starting rate, and that infusion rates up to 6 mU/min reproduce the plasma levels seen in spontaneous labor. It also warns that water intoxication with convulsions can follow large doses (40-50 mU/min) infused for long periods because oxytocin has an inherent antidiuretic effect.
FDA label, Pitocin, control of postpartum bleedingPatients in the third stage of labor or with postpartum uterine atony
10-40 units added to up to 1,000 mL of infusion fluid, or 10 units (1 mL) intramuscularly
Single intramuscular dose after delivery of the placenta, or an infusion adjusted to sustain uterine contraction
The same label gives 10 units in 500 mL of saline or dextrose as an infusion to help the uterus contract after curettage for an incomplete or elective abortion, and 10-20 mU/min to shorten midtrimester abortion, with a ceiling of 30 units in 12 hours. After an intramuscular dose the uterine response begins within 3 to 5 minutes and lasts 2 to 3 hours.
SOARS-B phase 2 trial in autism (negative)290 children and adolescents aged 3-17 with autism spectrum disorder
8 IU each morning to start, titrated to a 48 IU daily target (24 IU twice daily) by week 8; up to 80 IU per day allowed after 7 weeks at target
Once daily at the start, then twice daily
Intranasal spray
24 weeks blinded, followed by 24 weeks of open-label oxytocinDoses could be held or cut by 8-16 IU for side effects or worsening; no scheduled breaks
The dose was flexible and not tied to age or weight; most participants reached the 48 IU target. Change on the primary social-withdrawal scale was -3.7 with oxytocin and -3.5 with placebo, secondary outcomes also did not differ, and adverse events were similar in both groups, so the trial showed tolerability but no efficacy.
Randomized trial of intranasal oxytocin for obesity (negative)61 adults with obesity, mean age 34 and mean BMI 36.9
24 IU (three sprays per nostril of Syntocinon nasal spray)
Four times daily, 20-30 minutes before meals and at bedtime
Weight changed by 0.20 kg with oxytocin and 0.26 kg with placebo, and body composition, liver fat and resting energy expenditure were also unchanged, although oxytocin reduced intake at a laboratory test meal by about 152 kcal. There were no serious adverse events and side-effect rates matched placebo at a total of 96 IU per day.
Four-week safety trial in older men95 generally healthy older men (49 oxytocin, 46 placebo)
24 IU
Twice daily, self-administered
Intranasal
4 weeksNone; adverse events tracked for 1 week after stopping
Heart rate, blood pressure, urine osmolality and serum chemistry did not change relative to placebo, and adverse events were mild and no more frequent than with placebo. One oxytocin and two placebo participants withdrew because of adverse events; the trial measured safety, not benefit.
Dose-response meta-analysis of autism trials498 people with autism across 12 randomized controlled trials
18-56 IU per day across the included trials
Once or twice daily, by trial
Intranasal
Multi-week courses, varying by trialNot applicable
Pooled across all doses, intranasal oxytocin did not improve social impairment or repetitive behavior. Only the 48 IU per day subgroup showed a benefit on social scores, and the dose-response model suggested larger daily doses might do more, which the authors present as a hypothesis rather than an optimal dose given the small, mixed trials.
Preclinical1 row
Preclinical obesity model in rhesus monkeys5 male diet-induced obese rhesus monkeys fed a fructose-sweetened beverage
0.2 mg/kg for 2 weeks, then 0.4 mg/kg for 2 weeks
Twice daily
Subcutaneous injection
4 weeks, after 1 week of vehicle injectionsWashout period followed treatment
Body weight fell 3.3% relative to vehicle (about 0.6 kg), chow intake dropped by about 26-27%, and dark-cycle energy expenditure rose 14% with blood markers suggesting increased lipolysis. These milligram-per-kilogram doses are hundreds of times larger than human intranasal doses and were chosen to avoid nausea and diarrhea in the animals.
Community-reported6 rows
Intranasal dosing ladder with cycles
20 IU (beginner), 24 IU (standard), 32 IU (intermediate), 40 IU (upper); 200 mcg given as a subcutaneous example
Once daily, or 1-2 times daily at 32 IU; 30-45 minutes before the target activity
Intranasal spray at 4 IU per actuation; subcutaneous described as a secondary route
2 weeks (short), 4 weeks (standard) or 6-8 weeks (extended) of daily use1-2 weeks off after a short cycle, 2-4 weeks after a standard cycle, 4 weeks after an extended cycle
Community resource2026
This 2026 editorial guide treats 24 IU, three sprays per nostril, as the research standard and sets 40 IU as the ceiling because higher doses add peripheral effects without more central benefit. It advises ending a cycle rather than raising the dose if the effect fades, and acknowledges that long-term data beyond 6-8 weeks of daily use are thin.
Research-protocol summary table
24 IU (6 sprays of 4 IU) for social-cognition work; 20-40 IU before therapy sessions; 24-40 IU per dose in autism protocols
Single dose 30-45 minutes before testing, or once or twice daily
Intranasal
Single dose, or 4-24 weeks in trial-style protocols; 2-8 weeks in PTSD and anxiety studiesSingle cycle described; no repeat schedule given
Community resource2026
This 2026 wiki restates the obstetric infusion figures from the label alongside the intranasal research doses and lists baseline and follow-up sodium checks because of oxytocin's antidiuretic effect. It describes the autism trial dosing as age-adjusted at 8-40 IU, which is a simplification of the flexible titration actually used.
Route-by-route dosing guide
10-72 IU intranasal per session; 100 mcg (low), 200-300 mcg (moderate) or 400-500 mcg (upper) subcutaneous
Intranasal once or twice daily; subcutaneous once daily
Intranasal, subcutaneous or sublingual troche
1-2 weeks (short), 4-6 weeks (standard) or 24 weeks (extended, matching the autism trial)1-2 weeks off after a standard 4-6 week block
Community resource2026
A 2026 affiliate dosing site tabulates trial intranasal doses next to subcutaneous microgram amounts and converts 1 IU to about 2 mcg, a rounder figure than the 1.68 mcg derived from the WHO standard. Its supply math assumes a 5 mg vial in 3 mL of bacteriostatic water for 200 mcg daily, and it notes that sublingual troches carry low hundreds of IU per dose with limited human data.
Subcutaneous titration course from a 10 mg research vial
100 mcg in weeks 1-2, rising by 100 mcg every 2 weeks to 500 mcg in weeks 9-12
Once daily
Subcutaneous, rotating abdomen, thigh and upper arm
8-12 weeks, sometimes extended to 16 weeksNone described
Community resource2025
This vendor-affiliated page reconstitutes 10 mg in 3 mL (about 3.33 mg/mL, or roughly 1,667 IU/mL) so that 100 mcg reads as 3 units on an insulin syringe. It states plainly that subcutaneous oxytocin for social or mood goals is off-label with weak and largely negative human evidence and that the only approved dosing is obstetric.
Compounding pharmacy nasal spray and troche strengths
Nasal spray at 25, 40, 100 or 120 units/mL; sublingual troche of about 200 units
As needed before sexual activity, on a prescriber-directed intermittent schedule
Intranasal spray or sublingual troche
Not specified; prescriber-directedIntermittent use rather than a fixed cycle
Community resource2026
A US compounding pharmacy lists the strengths it prepares to order under a prescription and states that neither dosage form is FDA-approved, that effects of intranasal and sublingual oxytocin are not established, and that the spray needs refrigeration. The page gives strengths rather than doses because the prescriber sets the amount per use.
Unit-conversion chart for research vials
100-200 mcg per administration (about 60-120 IU) reported in community protocols; 1 IU taken as about 1.68 mcg
Not specified; the page declines to give a schedule
Subcutaneous from a reconstituted 2 mg vial; intranasal for trial comparisons
Not specifiedNot specified
Community resource2026
This 2026 reference derives 1 IU = 1.68 mcg from the WHO 4th International Standard (about 21 mcg per 12.5 IU ampoule) and stresses that the IU is a bioassay unit, so a milligram-labelled research vial has no assigned potency. It records the 100-200 mcg community range as a reported convention with no trial behind it and points out that subcutaneous injection is not a labelled route.
How a course is commonly described
1
Single sessionCommunity-reported
Most human research uses one intranasal dose, most often 24 IU as three 4 IU sprays per nostril, taken 30-45 minutes before a social task, therapy session or test meal. Community guides copy this pattern for as-needed use and compounding pharmacies dispense sprays and troches for the same intermittent purpose.
2
Weeks 1-2Community-reported
Daily protocols are described as starting at 20-24 IU intranasally once a day, or 100 mcg subcutaneously once a day from a research vial, to check tolerance. Guides warn that effects are context-dependent and that nothing may be noticed at this stage.
3
Weeks 3-8Community-reported
Intranasal courses settle at 24-32 IU once or twice daily for a 4-6 week block, while the subcutaneous course adds 100 mcg every two weeks toward 400-500 mcg daily by weeks 7-12. None of these escalations has been compared with a fixed dose in a trial.
4
BreakCommunity-reported
Community guides describe 1-2 weeks off after a short cycle and 2-4 weeks off after a 4-6 week block, with a fading effect treated as a signal to stop rather than to raise the dose. The rationale given is receptor adaptation, which has not been demonstrated in people.
5
Clinical comparisonClinical
Trials ran 24 IU twice daily for 4 weeks in older men (safe, no efficacy endpoint), 24 IU four times daily for 8 weeks in obesity (no weight change) and a 48 IU daily target for 24 weeks in autism (no benefit). The approved product is dosed in milliunits per minute during labor, so no trial supports the multi-week subcutaneous courses described above.
Oxytocin is approved only for obstetric use by intravenous infusion or intramuscular injection. Every intranasal regimen above is a trial protocol or a community convention, and the largest trials (autism, obesity) were negative.
The plasma half-life is about 1 to 6 minutes, and the international unit is a bioassay measure: the WHO standard works out to about 1.68 mcg per IU, while some vendor guides round to 2 mcg, so milligram-labelled vials do not map cleanly onto the IU doses used in trials.
Subcutaneous microgram dosing for social or mood goals has no human study behind it. Systemic oxytocin contracts the uterus and retains water at higher exposures, which is why the label warns about water intoxication during prolonged high-rate infusions.
Plus 6 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Oxytocin is a nine-amino-acid hormone made in the hypothalamus and released from the posterior pituitary; it contracts the uterus, triggers milk ejection and acts in the brain on social and stress circuits. The synthetic form is an FDA-approved prescription drug (Pitocin and generic oxytocin injection) for starting or strengthening labor and controlling bleeding after delivery, given by intravenous infusion or intramuscular injection in hospital, with a plasma half-life of about 1 to 6 minutes. Intranasal oxytocin has been tested in hundreds of trials for autism, anxiety, schizophrenia, pain and obesity; the largest of these, including a 290-child autism trial and an 8-week obesity trial, found no benefit over placebo, and no behavioral use is approved. This site lists the compound as Oxytocin+, a vendor label; the chemistry here is plain oxytocin, which compounding pharmacies also prepare off-label as nasal sprays and troches and research vendors sell as milligram-labelled vials.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Obstetric physiology
Regulated injectable products are used for specific labor and postpartum indications under monitoring.
2
Social-cognitive research
Intranasal studies examine social salience, trust, anxiety, and neural responses.
3
Dose and delivery
Breath-powered and standard nasal devices produce different deposition and dose-response findings.
4
Context dependence
Sex, baseline traits, task, timing, and social context can change observed effects.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Large but heterogeneous intranasal literature
Many small studies use 24 IU, while systematic reviews find inconsistent clinical outcomes.
Human
Negative autism phase 2 trial
A 24-week pediatric trial using a target 48 IU/day did not improve the primary social-withdrawal outcome.
Review
No universal intranasal dose
Modern reviews emphasize non-linear dose response and delivery-device effects.
Amounts recorded for Oxytocin
These amount records are independent from vial strength, reconstitution volume and measuring device. A recorded source is not the same as study backing, and these values are not recommendations.
1
Lower recordedSign in for schedule, duration and source context.
100 mcg
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.