O-304

O-304, now developed as ATX-304, is a small-molecule pan-AMPK activator discovered at Umea University.

Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference

Also known as: ATX-304, O304, pan-AMPK activator O-304, UNII SPS2TLH4CM, HY-112233, O-304X

(how we review)

Dosing & scaling, explained

Amounts reported for O-304 are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.

No source-supported amount ladder is shown

Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.

Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.

No independently verified schedule

Clinical context

Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.

Storage, handling and interpretation

Product identity

Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.

Storage & handling

Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.

Prepared solutions

Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.

Reported protocols for O-304

What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 3 clinical, 2 preclinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.

ContextDoseFrequencyRouteCourseSource
Clinical3 rows
TELLUS phase 2a trial in type 2 diabetes (registry results)65 adults aged 18-80 with uncomplicated type 2 diabetes on stable metformin monotherapy, 33 on O304 and 32 on placebo, at a single Swedish centre1,000 mg (50 mL of a 20 mg/mL oral suspension)Once daily in the morningOral suspension28 days, with weekly clinic visitsNot applicableEU Clinical Trials Register2017
The primary endpoint, change in fasting plasma glucose against placebo at day 28, was not statistically significant, but fasting glucose, insulin and HOMA-IR fell from baseline within the O304 arm. There were 38 adverse events in 19 O304 patients against 49 in 23 placebo patients and no serious adverse events on O304. The sponsor was Betagenon AB and the trial is EudraCT 2016-002183-13.
TELLUS phase 2a trial as published with the preclinical workThe same 65 type 2 diabetes patients on metformin1,000 mg per dayOnce dailyOral28 daysNot applicableJCI Insight2018
The paper reports lower blood pressure and higher microvascular perfusion in calf muscle on MRI alongside the glucose changes, states that steady-state exposure was reached around day 18, and notes that a phase 1 safety trial and rat and dog toxicology preceded it. Most authors are Betagenon employees, founders or shareholders, and the company's own site says a larger effect is expected at higher exposure and longer treatment.
Phase 1b study in obesity and prediabetes (ATX-304)23 adults with obesity and prediabetes in a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study with an optional open-label extension400 mgOnce dailyOral8 weeks, followed by an 8-week open-label extensionNot applicableCambrian Bio2026
Cambrian Bio reported significant rises in adiponectin and resting metabolic rate (about 8%), falls in triglycerides, liver fat and visceral fat, and minimal weight loss, with adverse events similar to placebo and no rise in core temperature or 24-hour heart rate. The data were presented as two posters at the American Diabetes Association meeting in June 2026 and have not yet been published in a journal; the company plans two phase 2 studies at higher exposures.
Preclinical2 rows
Diet-induced obese mice, cardiac and metabolic endpointsMice on a high-fat diet, with or without O304 mixed into the food0.8 or 2 mg of O304 per gram of high-fat dietContinuous in the dietOral, in food7 weeksNot applicableJCI Insight2018
O304 in the diet raised phosphorylated AMPK in the heart and lowered cardiac glycogen in a dose-dependent way, improved left ventricular stroke volume and did not increase heart weight in mice or rats, a point Betagenon stresses because an earlier AMPK activator from another company caused cardiac hypertrophy in animals. In the same paper O304 increased skeletal muscle glucose uptake and reduced beta-cell stress in obese mice. These are rodent diet-admixture doses with no human equivalent.
Aged mouse study of insulin resistance and exercise capacityCBA x C57BL/6J F1 hybrid mice fed from 6 months of age, 8 to 10 per group, with a second cohort treated from 12 months0.25 or 0.5 mg of O304 per gram of control dietContinuous in the dietOral, in food12 months from 6 months of age; 6 months in the older cohortNot applicableCommunications Biology (PubMed)2021
O304 prevented the age-related rise in insulin and HOMA-IR, with the higher dose acting within 3 months, and in 18-month-old mice treated for 6 months it improved cardiac function and running distance to exhaustion without changing blood pressure. The senior author is a cofounder of Betagenon; the result is in lean aged mice and says nothing about dosing in people.
Community-reported1 row
Vendor capsule listing50 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottleNot statedOral capsuleNot statedCommunity resource2026
This is a vendor claim: the vendor lists ATX-304 as a sodium salt in 50 mg GMP capsules, marked coming soon, and states no dosing; its research guide calls the compound a laboratory tool and cites the phase 2a trial as a research finding rather than a use. One capsule is one-twentieth of the 1,000 mg daily dose used in TELLUS and one-eighth of the 400 mg phase 1b dose, and the trials used a pharmaceutical suspension, not capsules.
Sources for this section (7)
  1. Clinical trial results: effect on fasting plasma glucose of once daily oral administration during 28 days of O304 suspension in subjects with type 2 diabetes (TELLUS), EudraCT 2016-002183-13EU Clinical Trials Register2017Clinical
  2. PAN-AMPK activator O304 improves glucose homeostasis and microvascular perfusion in mice and type 2 diabetes patientsJCI Insight2018Clinical
  3. Type 2 Diabetes: O304 programme pageBetagenon AB2026Clinical
  4. Cambrian Bio Presents Positive Human Translational Data for ATX-304, the First AMPK Network Activator, at the American Diabetes Association's 86th Scientific SessionsCambrian Bio2026Clinical
  5. AMPK activator O304 improves metabolic and cardiac function, and exercise capacity in aged miceCommunications Biology (PubMed)2021Preclinical

Plus 2 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.

Overview

O-304, now developed as ATX-304, is a small-molecule pan-AMPK activator discovered at Umea University and taken into the clinic by the Swedish company Betagenon as an oral drug that mimics some effects of exercise. It raised muscle glucose uptake and lowered fasting glucose in obese mice, and in a 28-day phase 2a trial in 65 people with type 2 diabetes on metformin, 1,000 mg a day lowered fasting glucose, insulin resistance and blood pressure within the treated group even though the main comparison against placebo was not significant. The programme now sits with Cambrian Bio, which reported a phase 1b study at 400 mg a day in adults with obesity and prediabetes in June 2026 and plans phase 2 trials; it is not approved anywhere.

What researchers are exploring

These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.

  • 1

    Metabolic research

    Energy balance, body composition and incretin signaling.

  • 2

    TELLUS phase 2a trial in type 2 diabetes (registry results)

    The primary endpoint, change in fasting plasma glucose against placebo at day 28, was not statistically significant, but fasting glucose, insulin and HOMA-IR fell from baseline within the O304 arm. There were 38.

  • 3

    TELLUS phase 2a trial as published with the preclinical work

    The paper reports lower blood pressure and higher microvascular perfusion in calf muscle on MRI alongside the glucose changes, states that steady-state exposure was reached around day 18, and notes that a phase 1.

  • 4

    Phase 1b study in obesity and prediabetes (ATX-304)

    Cambrian Bio reported significant rises in adiponectin and resting metabolic rate (about 8%), falls in triglycerides, liver fat and visceral fat, and minimal weight loss, with adverse events similar to placebo and no.

  • 5

    Diet-induced obese mice, cardiac and metabolic endpoints

    O304 in the diet raised phosphorylated AMPK in the heart and lowered cardiac glycogen in a dose-dependent way, improved left ventricular stroke volume and did not increase heart weight in mice or rats, a point.

  • 6

    Aged mouse study of insulin resistance and exercise capacity

    O304 prevented the age-related rise in insulin and HOMA-IR, with the higher dose acting within 3 months, and in 18-month-old mice treated for 6 months it improved cardiac function and running distance to exhaustion.

What the current evidence can support

Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.

  • Human

    Human studies and registrations

    3 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.

  • Animal

    Preclinical models

    2 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.

  • Not graded

    Community-reported use

    1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for O-304. None has been verified against primary literature.

Chemistry identifiers

Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.

Also listed as

O304, ATX-304, pan-AMPK activator O-304, UNII SPS2TLH4CM, HY-112233, O-304X

InChIKey

WEDWLYRQKUTOAX-UHFFFAOYSA-N

IUPAC name

4-chloro-N-[2-[(4-chlorophenyl)methyl]-3-oxo-1,2,4-thiadiazol-5-yl]benzamide

Limitations and unknowns

Important limitations

  • Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
  • Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
  • Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.

Sources

6 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 2 community resources reported but not linked.

  1. O-304 (PubChem CID 50923806)PubChem, National Library of Medicine2026Not graded
  2. Clinical trial results: effect on fasting plasma glucose of once daily oral administration during 28 days of O304 suspension in subjects with type 2 diabetes (TELLUS), EudraCT 2016-002183-13EU Clinical Trials Register2017Human
  3. PAN-AMPK activator O304 improves glucose homeostasis and microvascular perfusion in mice and type 2 diabetes patientsJCI Insight2018Human
  4. Type 2 Diabetes: O304 programme pageBetagenon AB2026Human
  5. Cambrian Bio Presents Positive Human Translational Data for ATX-304, the First AMPK Network Activator, at the American Diabetes Association's 86th Scientific SessionsCambrian Bio2026Human
  6. AMPK activator O304 improves metabolic and cardiac function, and exercise capacity in aged miceCommunications Biology (PubMed)2021Animal