Amounts reported for NMN are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for NMN
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 3 clinical, 1 preclinical and 2 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical3 rows
Randomised trial in postmenopausal women with prediabetesPostmenopausal women with prediabetes who were overweight or obese (NCT03151239)
Insulin-stimulated glucose disposal measured by hyperinsulinaemic clamp and muscle insulin signalling (AKT and mTOR phosphorylation) increased with NMN and not with placebo, and muscle remodelling genes were upregulated. The accompanying editorial pointed out that muscle NAD+ itself did not measurably change, and the senior authors hold NMN patents or licensing income, which the paper discloses.
Dose-ranging trial in healthy middle-aged adults80 healthy middle-aged adults at centres in India, randomised to placebo or one of three doses (NCT04823260)
Blood NAD rose at all doses by day 30 and was highest at 600 and 900 mg; six-minute walking distance improved more than placebo at every dose, with the longest distances at 600 and 900 mg, while HOMA-IR did not change and a blood-based biological age estimate stayed flat against a rise on placebo. All 80 participants completed the trial with no safety issues, and the authors concluded that benefit plateaus around 600 mg. The first author works for the NMN supplier that funded the study.
Randomised trial in healthy older menHealthy older Japanese men in a placebo-controlled, parallel-group trial
Whole-blood NAD+ and its metabolites rose significantly, the supplement was well tolerated, and there were nominally significant improvements in gait speed and left-hand grip strength that the authors say need confirmation in larger studies; body composition did not change. Three authors are employees of the Mitsubishi Corporation subsidiary that supplied the NMN.
Preclinical1 row
Twelve-month ageing study in miceRegular chow-fed wild-type C57BL/6N mice treated from 5 to 17 months of age
NMN suppressed age-associated weight gain by 4% and 9% at the two doses, raised oxygen consumption and energy expenditure, improved insulin sensitivity, plasma lipids and eye function, and prevented age-related gene expression changes in metabolic organs, with no obvious toxicity; survival over the treatment period did not differ between groups. Per kilogram, these mouse doses are far above the 250-900 mg a day used in human trials.
Community-reported2 rows
Supplement dosing guide built from the trials
250 mg a day to start; 500-600 mg a day described as the practical range; 600-1,200 mg for athletes
Once daily, at any consistent time of day
Oral capsules or powder
At least 8 weeks before judging effect; continuous useNone; the guide states that no trial cycled NMN and there is no evidence of tolerance
Community resource2026
This March 2026 guide from a powder retailer tabulates the human trials and anchors its 600 mg figure on the 60-day dose-ranging study, noting that 900 mg added nothing measurable. It records that the longest safety data run 12 weeks, that doses up to 1,250 mg a day were tolerated for 4 weeks, and that subjective energy or sleep effects reported in forums have not been measured in trials. It is written by a company that sells the product.
Vendor capsule format
500 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle (30,000 mg total); no dose stated
Not stated
Oral
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
A vendor claim. The certificate for lot NM01 measured 463.27 mg of NMN per capsule against the 500 mg label, about 7% under; the product page lists the main human and mouse papers without proposing an amount. One capsule sits between the 300 and 600 mg arms of the dose-ranging trial.
How a course is commonly described
1
Days 1-30Clinical
In the dose-ranging trial, blood NAD had risen significantly at every dose by day 30, and walking distance was already better than placebo at the first measurement. Community guides say to expect nothing subjective for the first weeks.
2
Weeks 8-12Community-reported
The functional endpoints in the human trials, muscle insulin sensitivity at 10 weeks and gait speed or grip strength at 12 weeks, were measured at this point, and 12 weeks is also the longest continuous exposure with published safety data. Community guides accordingly suggest judging the supplement only after about eight weeks.
3
Beyond 12 weeksPreclinical
No published human trial has run longer than 12 weeks, so continuous long-term use rests on the mouse study, in which a year of dosing showed no obvious toxicity but also no change in survival. No trial has tested cycling on and off.
NMN reliably raises blood NAD+ in people at 250-900 mg a day, but the clinical changes measured so far are small (walking distance, grip strength, a clamp measure of muscle insulin sensitivity) and several of the trials were funded or staffed by NMN suppliers.
Regulatory status in the United States changed twice: the FDA declared NMN excluded from dietary supplements in November 2022, then in letters dated 29 September 2025 accepted that it had been marketed as a supplement since 2017 and is not excluded, while still requiring new dietary ingredient notifications.
NMN is an oral small molecule; nothing is reconstituted or injected in any of the trials. The rows above describe what sources report, not endorsements of use.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN) is the nucleotide that the enzyme NAMPT makes from nicotinamide and the immediate precursor of NAD+, the coenzyme whose tissue levels fall with age in rodents. A 12-month mouse study from Shin-ichiro Imai's laboratory in 2016, using 100 or 300 mg/kg a day in drinking water, reduced age-related weight gain and improved energy metabolism, insulin sensitivity and physical activity, and that paper launched a supplement market. Human trials since 2021 have mostly given 250 mg a day for 10-12 weeks, with one 60-day dose-ranging trial of 300, 600 and 900 mg a day; they show reliable rises in blood NAD+ and modest changes in walking distance or muscle insulin sensitivity, but no hard health outcomes. The US FDA excluded NMN from the dietary supplement definition in November 2022 because of its prior drug investigation and reversed that position in September 2025; the capsules sold here contain 500 mg.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Metabolic research
Energy balance, body composition and incretin signaling.
2
Longevity & mitochondria
Cellular aging, redox balance and mitochondrial function.
3
Randomised trial in postmenopausal women with prediabetes
Insulin-stimulated glucose disposal measured by hyperinsulinaemic clamp and muscle insulin signalling (AKT and mTOR phosphorylation) increased with NMN and not with placebo, and muscle remodelling genes were.
4
Dose-ranging trial in healthy middle-aged adults
Blood NAD rose at all doses by day 30 and was highest at 600 and 900 mg; six-minute walking distance improved more than placebo at every dose, with the longest distances at 600 and 900 mg, while HOMA-IR did not change.
5
Randomised trial in healthy older men
Whole-blood NAD+ and its metabolites rose significantly, the supplement was well tolerated, and there were nominally significant improvements in gait speed and left-hand grip strength that the authors say need.
6
Twelve-month ageing study in mice
NMN suppressed age-associated weight gain by 4% and 9% at the two doses, raised oxygen consumption and energy expenditure, improved insulin sensitivity, plasma lipids and eye function, and prevented age-related gene.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
3 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
1 protocol row describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
2 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for NMN. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.