Melanotan 1

Melanotan 1 is a synthetic 13-amino-acid analog of alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone, built with norleucine at position 4 and D-phenylalanine at position 7 so.

Human trialsPeptide research profile

Also known as: MT-1, Afamelanotide, Melanotan I, Melanotan-1, NDP-MSH, [Nle4, D-Phe7]-alpha-MSH, CUV-1647, Scenesse

(how we review)

Dosing & scaling, explained

Amounts reported for Melanotan 1 are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.

No source-supported amount ladder is shown

Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.

Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.

No independently verified schedule

Clinical context

Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.

Storage, handling and interpretation

Product identity

Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.

Storage & handling

Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.

Prepared solutions

Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.

Reported protocols for Melanotan 1

What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 3 clinical and 4 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.

ContextDoseFrequencyRouteCourseSource
Clinical3 rows
FDA label (Scenesse): erythropoietic protoporphyriaAdults with a history of phototoxic reactions from erythropoietic protoporphyria16 mg per implantOne implant every 2 monthsSubcutaneous implant placed above the anterior supra-iliac crest by a trained healthcare professionalOpen-ended, one implant per 2-month intervalNone describedDailyMed, National Library of Medicine (Clinuvel label)2026
The label requires a trained professional, a specific implantation cannula and 30 minutes of observation afterward, and recommends a full skin examination twice a year because the drug darkens existing moles and freckles. The implant is a bioresorbable rod about 1.7 cm long; there is no self-injected or nasal form in the approved product.
Two randomized placebo-controlled implant trials (EU and US)74 patients in the European Union and 94 in the United States with erythropoietic protoporphyria16 mg per implantEvery 60 daysSubcutaneous implant5 implants over 270 days (EU) or 3 implants over 180 days (US)Not applicableNew England Journal of Medicine (PubMed)2015
Median pain-free time in direct sunlight was 69.4 hours with afamelanotide versus 40.8 hours with placebo in the US trial, and 6.0 versus 0.8 hours in the EU trial, with fewer phototoxic reactions and better quality of life. Adverse events were mostly mild. The trials were funded by Clinuvel, the manufacturer.
Early tanning study in healthy volunteers7 volunteers (6 men, 1 woman) with Fitzpatrick skin types III or IV0.16 mg/kg per dayOnce daily, Monday to Friday, for 10 injectionsSubcutaneous2 weeks, with follow-up at day 21Not applicablePhotochemistry and Photobiology (PubMed)2000
Tanning was measured at 3 of 8 body sites (face, neck, forearm) and forearm eumelanin rose 98% one week after the course ended, with no change in pheomelanin. A 1991 randomized trial in 28 men used 10 injections over 12 days and saw skin darkening peak 1-3 weeks after the last dose. These weight-based doses are far larger than the amounts grey-market guides describe and were given under medical supervision with sunscreen use.
Community-reported4 rows
Community loading and maintenance chartAbout 250 mcg during loading (often started near 125 mcg); 250-500 mcg for maintenanceOnce daily for 10-14 days, then every 3-4 daysSubcutaneous from a reconstituted vial10-14 day loading phase followed by open-ended maintenanceNot specifiedCommunity resource2026
This guide models a 10 mg vial in 2 mL of bacteriostatic water (5 mg/mL, so 250 mcg is 5 units on a U-100 syringe) and is explicit that the approved product is a clinician-placed implant, not a daily injection. It describes the injectable tanning protocol as unapproved by the FDA, EMA, MHRA and TGA and as an educational reference only.
Higher community loading convention0.5-1 mg during loading; 1 mg for maintenanceOnce daily until the desired pigmentation appears, then once or twice weeklySubcutaneous from a 10 mg vial reconstituted to 5 mg/mLLoading until pigment builds, then maintenanceNot specifiedCommunity resource2026
This chart quotes a loading range two to four times higher than the previous guide, which shows how little agreement there is in community practice. It notes that pigmentation builds over days to weeks, so escalating faster mainly adds nausea and total exposure, and that the approved EPP product relies on a single slow-release implant every 2 months rather than daily peaks.
Evidence summary covering vials, implant and nasal sprayTrial figures of 0.08-0.21 mg/kg by injection, most often 0.16 mg/kg; 16 mg implant every 2 monthsDaily 10-day research courses; implant every 2 monthsSubcutaneous injection or implant; nasal spray addressed as untested10-day research courses; open-ended implant scheduleNot specifiedCommunity resource2026
This page is the clearest community statement on the aerosol question: it found no published human study of a Melanotan 1 nasal spray and notes that oral dosing at 0.16 mg/kg produced no detectable drug in blood in a 1997 pharmacokinetic study, so nothing is known about nasal absorption. It presents every number as a trial figure rather than a recommendation.

How a course is commonly described

  1. Days 1-14 (loading)Community-reported

    Community charts describe a daily subcutaneous loading phase, quoted anywhere from about 250 mcg to 1 mg a day depending on the guide, with the lower starting amounts used to gauge nausea and flushing.

  2. Week 3 onward (maintenance)Community-reported

    Once pigmentation has built, the same guides drop to 250-500 mcg every 3-4 days or 1 mg once or twice weekly to hold the tan, with no defined end point or break.

  3. Clinical comparisonClinical

    The research courses that produced tanning ran only 2 weeks at 0.16 mg/kg a day, with darkening peaking 1-3 weeks after the last injection, and the approved product is a single 16 mg implant every 2 months. No human study has run the open-ended daily-then-weekly schedule described above.

  • The only approved form is a clinician-placed 16 mg implant for a rare genetic photosensitivity disorder. Every daily-injection and nasal-spray schedule comes from community guides and vendor formats, not from trials.
  • Melanotan 1 is more selective for the MC1 receptor than Melanotan 2, which is why community guides describe more frequent dosing and fewer appetite or libido effects; this is a pharmacological distinction, not a safety endorsement.
  • The drug darkens existing moles, and the label calls for twice-yearly skin examinations even in the approved setting. Grey-market vials and spray kits are not FDA approved. The rows above record what sources report, not endorsements of use.
Sources for this section (8)
  1. Scenesse (afamelanotide) implant prescribing informationDailyMed, National Library of Medicine (Clinuvel label)2026Clinical
  2. Afamelanotide for Erythropoietic ProtoporphyriaNew England Journal of Medicine (PubMed)2015Clinical
  3. Increased eumelanin expression and tanning is induced by a superpotent melanotropin [Nle4-D-Phe7]-alpha-MSH in humansPhotochemistry and Photobiology (PubMed)2000Clinical
  4. Induction of skin tanning by subcutaneous administration of a potent synthetic melanotropinJAMA (PubMed)1991Clinical

Plus 4 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.

Overview

Melanotan 1 is a synthetic 13-amino-acid analog of alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone, built with norleucine at position 4 and D-phenylalanine at position 7 so that it binds the MC1 receptor more strongly and lasts longer than the natural hormone. Under its drug name afamelanotide it is approved as Scenesse, a 16 mg implant placed under the skin every two months to increase pain-free light exposure in adults with erythropoietic protoporphyria, while the same molecule circulates on the grey market as a tanning peptide sold in vials and nasal spray kits. Human data come from the approved implant trials and from small 1990s tanning studies in healthy volunteers; no published human study has tested an intranasal form, and the injectable tanning use is unapproved by every regulator.

What researchers are exploring

These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.

  • 1

    Endocrine & reproductive

    Hormonal, reproductive and sexual-function research.

  • 2

    Skin & connective tissue

    Collagen, skin signaling and connective-tissue models.

  • 3

    FDA label (Scenesse): erythropoietic protoporphyria

    The label requires a trained professional, a specific implantation cannula and 30 minutes of observation afterward, and recommends a full skin examination twice a year because the drug darkens existing moles and.

  • 4

    Two randomized placebo-controlled implant trials (EU and US)

    Median pain-free time in direct sunlight was 69.4 hours with afamelanotide versus 40.8 hours with placebo in the US trial, and 6.0 versus 0.8 hours in the EU trial, with fewer phototoxic reactions and better quality of.

  • 5

    Early tanning study in healthy volunteers

    Tanning was measured at 3 of 8 body sites (face, neck, forearm) and forearm eumelanin rose 98% one week after the course ended, with no change in pheomelanin. A 1991 randomized trial in 28 men used 10 injections over.

  • 6

    Community loading and maintenance chart

    This guide models a 10 mg vial in 2 mL of bacteriostatic water (5 mg/mL, so 250 mcg is 5 units on a U-100 syringe) and is explicit that the approved product is a clinician-placed implant, not a daily injection. It.

What the current evidence can support

Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.

  • Human

    Human studies and registrations

    3 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.

  • Not graded

    Community-reported use

    4 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Melanotan 1. None has been verified against primary literature.

Chemistry identifiers

Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.

Sequence

Ac-Ser-Tyr-Ser-Nle-Glu-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Gly-Lys-Pro-Val-NH2

Also listed as

Afamelanotide, Melanotan I, Melanotan-1, NDP-MSH, [Nle4, D-Phe7]-alpha-MSH, CUV-1647, Scenesse, CHEBI:136034

InChIKey

UAHFGYDRQSXQEB-LEBBXHLNSA-N

IUPAC name

(4S)-4-[[(2S)-2-[[(2S)-2-[[(2S)-2-[[(2S)-2-acetamido-3-hydroxypropanoyl]amino]-3-(4-hydroxyphenyl)propanoyl]amino]-3-hydroxypropanoyl]amino]hexanoyl]amino]-5-[[(2S)-1-[[(2R)-1-[[(2S)-1-[[(2S)-1-[[2-[[(2S)-6-amino-1-[(2S)-2-[[(2S)-1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl]carbamoyl]pyrrolidin-1-yl]-1-oxohexan-2-yl]amino]-2-oxoethyl]amino]-3-(1H-indol-3-yl)-1-oxopropan-2-yl]amino]-5-carbamimidamido-1-oxopentan-2-yl]amino]-1-oxo-3-phenylpropan-2-yl]amino]-3-(1H-imidazol-5-yl)-1-oxopropan-2-yl]amino]-5-oxopentanoic acid

Limitations and unknowns

Important limitations

  • Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
  • Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
  • Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.

Sources

5 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 4 community resources reported but not linked.

  1. Afamelanotide (PubChem CID 16197727)PubChem, National Library of Medicine2026Not graded
  2. Scenesse (afamelanotide) implant prescribing informationDailyMed, National Library of Medicine (Clinuvel label)2026Human
  3. Afamelanotide for Erythropoietic ProtoporphyriaNew England Journal of Medicine (PubMed)2015Human
  4. Increased eumelanin expression and tanning is induced by a superpotent melanotropin [Nle4-D-Phe7]-alpha-MSH in humansPhotochemistry and Photobiology (PubMed)2000Human
  5. Induction of skin tanning by subcutaneous administration of a potent synthetic melanotropinJAMA (PubMed)1991Human