Important limitations
- Individual claims and source links have not yet completed editorial verification.
- Evidence level, applicable study model, formulation, route and population remain unassigned.
Lipo Extreme is an advanced lipotropic and metabolic complex designed for research on fat oxidation, energy metabolism, and vascular performance.
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 7 clinical and 4 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
| Context | Dose | Frequency | Route | Course | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clinical7 rows | |||||
| Ingredient: L-carnitine, FDA label for intravenous levocarnitinePatients with carnitine deficiency from metabolic disorders or end-stage renal disease | 50 mg/kg per dose in metabolic disorders; 10-20 mg/kg after each dialysis session | Every 3-6 hours (metabolic disorders) or after each dialysis session | Intravenous only | Ongoing, guided by plasma carnitine levelsNone described | DailyMed, National Library of Medicine2023 |
| The approved injectable carnitine is a prescription product for diagnosed deficiency, dosed by body weight at gram levels for an adult and labelled for intravenous use only. The 200 mg of carnitine in 1 mL of Lipo Extreme is the largest single ingredient in the blend but still a small fraction of a labelled dose. | |||||
| Ingredient: L-carnitine, meta-analysis of 37 weight-loss trials2,292 adults in randomized controlled trials, mostly with overweight or obesity | Varied by trial; maximum effect at 2,000 mg per day | Daily | Oral | Trial lengths variedNot applicable | Clinical Nutrition ESPEN (PubMed)2020 |
| Daily oral carnitine produced about 1.2 kg more weight loss and 2.1 kg more fat loss than control, with the effect flattening above 2 g per day. A weekly 1 mL injection delivers roughly a tenth of a single day's trial dose. | |||||
| Ingredient: L-arginine, FDA label for the intravenous diagnostic productAdults weighing 60 kg or more undergoing growth hormone reserve testing | 30 g arginine hydrochloride (300 mL of a 10% solution); 0.5 g/kg in lighter patients | Single infusion per test | Intravenous infusion over 30 minutes | One testNot applicable | DailyMed, National Library of Medicine2024 |
| The only approved injectable arginine is a hypertonic diagnostic infusion that the label says is not intended for therapeutic use, with warnings about fatal metabolic acidosis from pediatric overdose. Vendor write-ups attribute the warmth or flushing felt after lipotropic shots to arginine, but 100 mg per mL is three hundred times below the diagnostic dose and no study has measured a vascular effect at that amount. | |||||
| Ingredient: choline, placebo-controlled trial in parenteral nutrition15 adults dependent on long-term home parenteral nutrition | 2 g choline chloride per day | Daily, added to the nutrition infusion | Intravenous | 24 weeks, with follow-up to week 34Steatosis returned within 10 weeks of stopping | Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (PubMed)2001 |
| This is the trial that proved choline is a required human nutrient: liver density improved from week 4 and liver enzymes fell, then fatty liver came back once the choline was withdrawn. Lipo Extreme supplies about 75 mg of combined choline salts per mL, roughly 4% of this daily dose, to people who are not choline-deficient. | |||||
| Ingredient: inositol, meta-analysis of 15 trials on body mass index891 adults, mostly women with polycystic ovary syndrome or metabolic syndrome | 600-4,450 mg per day | Daily | Oral | 6-48 weeksNot applicable | Obesity Science and Practice (PubMed Central)2022 |
| Pooled BMI fell by 0.41 kg/m2, with the clearest effects in people with overweight or obesity and in shorter trials. The population was almost entirely women with PCOS taking gram-level oral doses every day, which is a long way from 50 mg injected once a week. | |||||
| Ingredient: dexpanthenol (B5), injectable package insertAdults after major abdominal surgery or with paralytic ileus | 250-500 mg (1-2 mL of a 250 mg/mL solution) | Repeated after 2 hours, then every 6 hours as needed | Intramuscular, or intravenous after dilution | Until the risk of ileus has passedNot applicable | Drugs.com (label reproduction)2026 |
| Injectable dexpanthenol is a gastrointestinal stimulant for post-operative bowel paralysis, and nothing in its insert concerns fat metabolism. The 25 mg per mL in Lipo Extreme is a tenth of the smallest labelled dose. | |||||
| Ingredient: pyridoxine (B6), FDA label for the injectionPatients with dietary or drug-induced vitamin B6 deficiency | 10-20 mg daily for dietary deficiency; 100 mg daily for isoniazid-induced deficiency | Daily | Intramuscular or intravenous | 3 weeks, then oral follow-upNot applicable | DailyMed, National Library of Medicine2024 |
| The label restricts injectable B6 to proven deficiency when oral intake is not possible and gives no metabolic or weight indication. The 25 mg per mL in Lipo Extreme falls inside the labelled deficiency range but is given weekly rather than daily. | |||||
| Community-reported4 rows | |||||
| Vendor listing of per-millilitre content | 1 mL contains carnitine 200 mg, arginine 100 mg, B6 25 mg, dexpanthenol 25 mg, methionine 25 mg, inositol 50 mg, choline bitartrate 50 mg and choline chloride 25 mg | Not stated on the listing | Ready-to-use liquid in a 20 mL vial; route not stated | Not statedNot stated | Community resource2026 |
| The 2026 listing matches the legacy introduction exactly, with choline split between bitartrate and chloride salts and no B12. The vendor describes the solution as room-temperature stable, warns that it can freeze or crash in cold-weather shipping, and offers no dosing because the product is sold for research only. | |||||
| Second vendor listing, 500 mg/mL | 500 mg of combined actives per mL, same eight-ingredient breakdown | Not stated on the listing | 20 mL vial; route not stated | Not statedNot stated | Community resource2026 |
| A second research vendor lists the identical composition and sums it to 500 mg/mL, which suggests the formulation is shared across suppliers rather than unique to one. Like the first listing it provides no dosing, storage or safety data beyond a research-use disclaimer. | |||||
| Clinic convention for lipotropic (Lipo-C type) injections | 1 mL | Once weekly as the standard; twice weekly in some programs; 2-3 times weekly for the first 2 weeks where a loading phase is used | Intramuscular (deltoid, gluteus or lateral thigh) or subcutaneous | For the duration of a supervised weight-management programNone described | Community resource2026 |
| The 2026 explainer treats the weekly 1 mL dose as the default for every lipotropic blend containing MIC plus carnitine and B vitamins, and says there is no evidence that twice-weekly dosing or a loading phase adds anything. It is explicit that no randomized trial has shown these injections produce weight loss beyond diet and exercise. | |||||
| Practitioner guidance on MIC-based injections | 1 injection per visit; the volume and the mg per mL of each ingredient are not stated because they vary by compounding pharmacy | Weekly, sometimes twice weekly early in a program | Intramuscular into the deltoid or gluteal muscle | No established clinical timelineNone described | Community resource2026 |
| A 2026 training-company article written for clinicians describes MIC injections as an adjunct inside a supervised program whose benefit plausibly comes from the program contact rather than the vial. It stresses that these are unapproved compounded products, that formulations are not standardized, and that patients should be told the shot is not a fat burner. | |||||
Some programs begin with 1 mL two or three times a week before settling to weekly. The sources that describe this loading phase call it tradition rather than evidence.
The common pattern is 1 mL into the deltoid or gluteal muscle once a week for as long as the weight-loss program lasts. Practitioners are told that the energy lift patients report in the first days is most plausibly B12 in people who were deficient, a component this blend does not contain, and that weight change tracks the program over weeks to months.
No trial describes a course for the blend. The closest controlled injection data is the 24-week choline trial, where daily 2 g doses changed liver fat from week 4 and the gain was lost within 10 weeks of stopping.
Plus 4 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Lipo Extreme is a vendor-made, ready-to-use injectable lipotropic blend that combines L-carnitine, L-arginine, methionine, inositol, choline in both bitartrate and chloride forms, dexpanthenol (B5) and pyridoxine (B6). Unlike the related Lipo C+ it carries no vitamin B12; the legacy sheet also reproduced CDP-choline and B12 entries that appear to have been copied from the Lipo C+ page and are not part of the formulation it describes. The sheet gives no amounts per millilitre, but current vendor listings of the same product total 500 mg/mL: 200 mg carnitine, 100 mg arginine, 25 mg each of B6, dexpanthenol and methionine, 50 mg inositol, 50 mg choline bitartrate and 25 mg choline chloride. It is sold for research use and used in the same way as clinic lipotropic shots, usually 1 mL into a muscle once a week; no controlled trial has tested the combination, the product has no FDA approval, and all ingredient evidence below comes from single-nutrient studies at doses far above what 1 mL supplies.
These themes organize the educational information currently available. Individual claims remain under source review and are not treatment claims.
Sulfur-containing amino acid and precursor to S-adenosylmethionine (SAMe); important for methylation and detoxification. Molecular Formula: C 5 H 11 NO 2 Molecular Weight: 149.21 g/mol
Involved in lipid signaling and studied for roles in mood regulation and metabolic health. Molecular Formula: C 6 H 12 O 6 Molecular Weight: 180.16 g/mol
Involved in acetylcholine synthesis and brain membrane repair. Molecular Formula: C 14 H 26 N 4 O 11 P 2 Molecular Weight: 488.32 g/mol
Coenzyme in DNA synthesis, methylation, and red blood cell formation. Molecular Formula: C 63 H 91 CoN 13 O 14 P Molecular Weight: 1344.4 g/mol PubChem CID: 10898559
Facilitates the transport of long-chain fatty acids into mitochondria for β-oxidation. Molecular Formula: C 7 H 15 NO 3 Molecular Weight: 161.20 g/mol
Precursor for nitric oxide synthesis; supports blood flow and vascular tone. Molecular Formula: C 6 H 14 N 4 O 2 Molecular Weight: 174.20 g/mol
Available context is organized without assigning unsupported study models or evidence grades.
Sulfur-containing amino acid and precursor to S-adenosylmethionine (SAMe); important for methylation and detoxification. Molecular Formula: C 5 H 11 NO 2 Molecular Weight: 149.21 g/mol
Involved in lipid signaling and studied for roles in mood regulation and metabolic health. Molecular Formula: C 6 H 12 O 6 Molecular Weight: 180.16 g/mol
1 link carried over from the earlier page, awaiting verification.