J-147 is a synthetic molecule the Salk Institute built from curcumin.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: J147, J 147, N-(2,4-dimethylphenyl)-2,2,2-trifluoro-N'-(3-methoxybenzylidene)acetohydrazide, UNII Z41H3C5BT9, CHEMBL2387144, MFCD25976644
Amounts reported for J-147 are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for J-147
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 2 clinical, 4 preclinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical2 rows
Phase 1 single ascending dose study (completed, results never posted)64 healthy volunteers: six cohorts of 8 young men and two cohorts of 8 elderly men and women, 6 on drug and 2 on placebo per cohort
Single ascending oral doses in cohorts of 8, with 6 on drug and 2 on placebo; the registry never published the dose levels
Single dose per participant, after an overnight fast
Oral, with a food-effect assessment
The study ran from January 2019 to February 2020Not applicable
Abrexa Pharmaceuticals registered and completed this study, with adverse events, ECGs and laboratory panels as primary endpoints and standard pharmacokinetic measures as secondary ones. No results have been posted on the registry and no Phase 1 report has been published, so the amounts people tolerated are not public.
Phase 2 trial in acute ischaemic stroke (recruiting)196 planned patients with acute ischaemic stroke receiving endovascular therapy
1.6 mg/kg low dose or 2.5 mg/kg high dose, from a 20 mg/mL injectable emulsion
This is the first registered efficacy trial of the compound and the first place a numeric human dose appears, in a stroke population rather than a cognitive one. It is recruiting, so there are no results, and an intravenous emulsion given once during stroke care has nothing in common with how the compound is sold.
Preclinical4 rows
Treatment of aged mice that already had Alzheimer-type pathology20-month-old male and female APP/swePS1 transgenic mice, plus a scopolamine arm in normal C57Bl/6J mice
200 ppm in food, about 10 mg/kg per day
Continuous, mixed into the diet
Oral in food
2 weeks before behavioural testing in one arm, 3 months in the water-maze armNot applicable
The design treated animals after pathology was established rather than before, which is the unusual part: memory improved anyway, alongside higher nerve growth factor, BDNF and several BDNF-responsive proteins. Against donepezil in the scopolamine model the two were comparable for short-term memory while J147 did better on spatial memory. Mouse doses in food do not convert to a human amount.
Rapidly ageing SAMP8 mice, brain and kidney ageing markers22 female SAMP8 mice on J147 against 23 on control diet
200 ppm in food, about 10 mg/kg per day
Continuous, mixed into the diet
Oral in food
From 9 to 13 months of age, the last quarter of the lifespanNot applicable
Dosing started late in life, when the animals already had cognitive deficits and early kidney disease. Both brain and kidney markers shifted towards a younger profile, and the mechanism traced to raised acetyl-CoA through inhibition of acetyl-CoA carboxylase 1. The Salk Institute holds the patent on the compound, which the paper discloses.
Liver and plasma fatty-acid effects across three rodent studiesRodents from three independent studies, plus HepG2 liver cells
Doses as used in the source studies, including the 200 ppm diet; the cell work used micromolar concentrations
Not stated
Oral in food for the animal arms, culture medium for the cells
Plasma free fatty acids fell consistently across all three rodent studies, matching falls in the liver, and the effect tracked activation of the AMPK and acetyl-CoA carboxylase 1 pathway. The authors were looking for a measurable marker of target engagement to carry into human studies, because none existed.
Narrative review of the published evidenceAnimal and cell studies across Alzheimer's disease, diabetic neuropathy, ischaemic stroke, depression, anxiety and fatty liver disease
Reviews the 10 mg/kg per day range used in the mouse work
A 2023 review that collects the preclinical case in one place and describes J147 as a curcumin analogue designed for better stability and bioavailability. It frames the compound as a candidate, which is accurate: nothing in this literature is a human efficacy result.
Community-reported1 row
Vendor capsule product
10 mg per capsule
Not stated
Oral capsule
Not stated
Community resource2026
A vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. No human dose for this compound has ever been published, so the capsule strength has no relationship to any studied amount.
Plus 2 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
J-147 is a synthetic molecule the Salk Institute built from curcumin, keeping the parts thought to matter for nerve-cell protection while fixing the stability and absorption problems that make curcumin itself hard to use as a drug. In mice it raised nerve growth factor and BDNF, reversed memory loss in animals that already had advanced Alzheimer-type pathology, and slowed markers of brain and kidney ageing, with mitochondrial ATP synthase proposed as its target. A Phase 1 single-ascending-dose study in 64 healthy volunteers completed in 2020 without posting results, and a Phase 2 trial of intravenous J147 in acute ischaemic stroke began recruiting in July 2026.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Longevity & mitochondria
Cellular aging, redox balance and mitochondrial function.
3
Phase 1 single ascending dose study (completed, results never posted)
Abrexa Pharmaceuticals registered and completed this study, with adverse events, ECGs and laboratory panels as primary endpoints and standard pharmacokinetic measures as secondary ones. No results have been posted on.
4
Phase 2 trial in acute ischaemic stroke (recruiting)
This is the first registered efficacy trial of the compound and the first place a numeric human dose appears, in a stroke population rather than a cognitive one. It is recruiting, so there are no results, and an.
5
Treatment of aged mice that already had Alzheimer-type pathology
The design treated animals after pathology was established rather than before, which is the unusual part: memory improved anyway, alongside higher nerve growth factor, BDNF and several BDNF-responsive proteins. Against.
6
Rapidly ageing SAMP8 mice, brain and kidney ageing markers
Dosing started late in life, when the animals already had cognitive deficits and early kidney disease. Both brain and kidney markers shifted towards a younger profile, and the mechanism traced to raised acetyl-CoA.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
2 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
4 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for J-147. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
J147, J 147, N-(2,4-dimethylphenyl)-2,2,2-trifluoro-N'-(3-methoxybenzylidene)acetohydrazide, UNII Z41H3C5BT9, CHEMBL2387144, MFCD25976644