Molecular profile
- Entry type
- Peptide research profile
HMG (human menopausal gonadotropin, also called menotropins) is a purified mixture of the two pituitary gonadotropins, FSH and LH.
Amounts reported for HMG are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
| Context | Dose | Frequency | Route | Course | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clinical4 rows | |||||
| FDA label (Menopur): assisted reproductive technology cycleOvulatory women undergoing IVF after GnRH agonist pituitary suppression | 225 IU starting dose; adjustments of no more than 150 IU; never more than 450 IU per day | Once daily, starting on cycle day 2 or 3 | Subcutaneous, abdomen | Until adequate follicular development, not exceeding 20 days, then HCG is givenNot applicable | DailyMed, National Library of Medicine (Ferring Pharmaceuticals label)2026 |
| The label describes a stepwise, individualized scheme: hold 225 IU for 5 days, then adjust by ultrasound and estradiol monitoring no more often than every 2 days. Each vial contains 75 IU FSH and 75 IU LH activity as a lyophilized powder with its own diluent, and HCG is withheld if monitoring suggests a risk of ovarian hyperstimulation. | |||||
| UK label (Menopur SmPC): hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in menMen with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism; the label notes that primary testicular failure usually does not respond | 75 IU or 150 IU of FSH with the matching 75 IU or 150 IU of LH per injection, after HCG 1,000-2,000 IU | 2-3 times weekly for both HCG and menotrophin | Intramuscular or subcutaneous | At least 3-4 monthsNone described | electronic medicines compendium (emc), Ferring Pharmaceuticals UK2025 |
| The UK summary of product characteristics is the regulator document that covers the male indication: spermatogenesis is first stimulated with HCG 1,000-2,000 IU two to three times a week, then menotrophin is added two or three times weekly and continued for at least 3-4 months. The same document gives the anovulatory-woman regimen of 75-150 IU daily for at least 7 days with a 225 IU daily ceiling. | |||||
| Randomized open-label study of HCG alone versus HCG plus HMG51 men with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism at a single endocrine center in Basrah, Iraq | HMG 75 IU per injection, with recombinant HCG 6,500 IU per week split into three doses | HMG 3 times weekly | HMG intramuscular; HCG subcutaneous | Followed through the study period, with the sequential group adding HMG after 6 months of HCG aloneNot applicable | Cureus (PubMed Central)2023 |
| Sperm appeared in the ejaculate in 4 men on HCG alone, 4 on the combination from the start and 7 in the sequential group, a difference that was not statistically significant. The paper reports that prior testosterone exposure did not affect the result, consistent with a 2014 meta-analysis of 44 gonadotropin studies that found a 75% overall success rate for inducing spermatogenesis and better results when HCG and an FSH preparation were combined. | |||||
| Case-based review of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism treatmentMen with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism, including men recovering from anabolic steroid use | HMG 75 IU; HCG 125-500 IU; clomiphene 25 mg | HMG 3 times a week; HCG every other day; clomiphene every other day | HMG and HCG by intramuscular injection; clomiphene oral | Not fixed; the review notes HCG alone maintained sperm production for up to 2 years in a small seriesNot applicable | World Journal of Nephrology (PubMed Central)2015 |
| The review positions HMG as the add-on for men who do not respond to HCG alone, at 75 IU per injection, and lists gynecomastia, dizziness, headache and irregular heartbeat among reported side effects of the gonadotropins. It is an expert summary built from case scenarios and small series rather than a trial. | |||||
| Community-reported1 row | |||||
| Research-vendor listing (format only) | 75 IU per vial | Not stated | Not stated; sold for laboratory research only | Not statedNot stated | Community resource2026 |
| This is a vendor page, not a protocol. It describes a 75 IU pharma-grade vial with a third-party certificate covering identity, endotoxin and a fentanyl screen, and gives no dosing information. The literature it lists on the page is unrelated to gonadotropins, which is worth knowing when weighing the page as a source. | |||||
European labeling starts men on HCG 1,000-2,000 IU two to three times a week until there is evidence of adequate testosterone effect, before any HMG is added.
Menotrophin 75 or 150 IU is then given two or three times weekly alongside the HCG, and the label says to continue for at least 3-4 months because sperm production takes months to appear.
In the 2023 randomized study, men who started with HCG alone and had HMG 75 IU three times weekly added after 6 months did at least as well as men given both from the start, with sperm appearing in 7 of the sequential group versus 4 in each of the other arms.
Plus 1 community resource (a dosing guide, forum thread or vendor write-up), reported above but not linked.
HMG (human menopausal gonadotropin, also called menotropins) is a purified mixture of the two pituitary gonadotropins, FSH and LH, extracted from the urine of postmenopausal women and standardized so that each vial carries 75 IU of FSH activity and 75 IU of LH activity. In the United States the brand Menopur is approved to grow multiple follicles in women undergoing assisted reproduction, while European labeling also covers its use with HCG to start sperm production in men with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism. It is a mixture of glycoprotein hormones with no single structure, so PubChem has no compound record for it and no chemistry card is shown; every dose is an international unit of activity, never a milligram.
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
Hormonal, reproductive and sexual-function research.
The label describes a stepwise, individualized scheme: hold 225 IU for 5 days, then adjust by ultrasound and estradiol monitoring no more often than every 2 days. Each vial contains 75 IU FSH and 75 IU LH activity as a.
The UK summary of product characteristics is the regulator document that covers the male indication: spermatogenesis is first stimulated with HCG 1,000-2,000 IU two to three times a week, then menotrophin is added two.
Sperm appeared in the ejaculate in 4 men on HCG alone, 4 on the combination from the start and 7 in the sequential group, a difference that was not statistically significant. The paper reports that prior testosterone.
The review positions HMG as the add-on for men who do not respond to HCG alone, at 75 IU per injection, and lists gynecomastia, dizziness, headache and irregular heartbeat among reported side effects of the.
This is a vendor page, not a protocol. It describes a 75 IU pharma-grade vial with a third-party certificate covering identity, endotoxin and a fentanyl screen, and gives no dosing information. The literature it lists.
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
4 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for HMG. None has been verified against primary literature.
5 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 1 community resource reported but not linked.