Amounts reported for Exenatide are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Exenatide
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 3 clinical, 1 preclinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical3 rows
FDA label (Byetta): type 2 diabetesAdults with type 2 diabetes, as an adjunct to diet and exercise
5 mcg per dose to start; 10 mcg per dose after 1 month based on response
Twice daily, within 60 minutes before the morning and evening meals (or the two main meals, at least 6 hours apart)
Subcutaneous injection in the thigh, abdomen or upper arm from a 250 mcg/mL prefilled pen
Open-endedNone described; a missed dose is skipped, not doubled
The label stresses that the drug is never given after a meal and that the step from 5 to 10 mcg waits a month to limit nausea. Its warnings cover pancreatitis, hypoglycemia when combined with insulin or sulfonylureas, kidney injury from dehydration, immune-mediated thrombocytopenia and antibody formation that can blunt the effect.
Pivotal 30-week placebo-controlled trial on top of metformin336 adults with type 2 diabetes not controlled on maximal metformin (mean age 53, BMI 34.2, HbA1c 8.2%)
HbA1c fell 0.78 points on 10 mcg and 0.40 on 5 mcg versus a 0.08 rise on placebo, with dose-dependent weight loss of 2.8 kg and 1.6 kg. Gastrointestinal effects were the most common adverse events and hypoglycemia was mild and no more frequent than placebo. This is the trial behind the 5-then-10 mcg schedule on the label.
DURATION-1: once-weekly versus twice-daily exenatide295 patients with type 2 diabetes (HbA1c 8.3%, weight 102 kg) on diet or oral agents
2 mg extended-release once weekly, or 10 mcg twice daily
The weekly formulation lowered HbA1c by 1.9 points against 1.5 for the twice-daily pen, with more patients reaching 7% or below (77% versus 61%), similar weight loss and no extra hypoglycemia. The extended-release product requires reconstitution of a microsphere powder immediately before injection, a different kind of mixing step from a lyophilized research vial.
Preclinical1 row
Intranasal brain-uptake study in miceAdult male and female CD-1 mice and APP/PS1 Alzheimer-model mice
Radiolabeled tracer amounts (10 mcg of peptide was iodinated to make the tracer stock; the amount reaching each mouse is tracer-level, not a pharmacological dose)
Of five incretin agonists tested, exenatide, dulaglutide and DA4-JC spread through the brain after intranasal delivery, while semaglutide did not; the authors were interested in bypassing the blood-brain barrier for Alzheimer's research, not in glucose control. A tracer study in mice says nothing about what dose a nasal spray would need to deliver in a person.
Community-reported1 row
Intranasal aerosol (research-vendor format)
50 mcg per spray; 100 mcg per described serving; 10 mL bottle giving about 100 sprays
Not stated beyond the per-serving figure
Pre-mixed nasal spray, sold for laboratory research only
Not statedNot stated
Community resource2026
This is a vendor claim about a product format, not a protocol. A 100 mcg nasal serving is ten times the 10 mcg injected dose, which is consistent with nasal peptides being poorly absorbed, but no published human study measures how much intranasal exenatide actually reaches the blood. The product was listed as out of stock when checked.
How a course is commonly described
1
Month 1Clinical
The label starts at 5 mcg twice daily, injected in the hour before the two main meals, and holds there for a month so that nausea settles before any increase.
2
Month 2 onwardClinical
Based on response, the dose rises to 10 mcg twice daily and continues open-ended. In the pivotal trial the 10 mcg arm lost more weight and lowered HbA1c further than the 5 mcg arm over 30 weeks.
3
Weekly alternativeClinical
The extended-release product replaces the twice-daily schedule with 2 mg once a week from the start, with no titration, and matched or beat the twice-daily pen on HbA1c over 30 weeks.
Exenatide doses are in micrograms, two orders of magnitude below the milligram doses of newer GLP-1 drugs, and the twice-daily pen is tied to meals because the drug's effect is short-lived.
The nasal aerosol sold by research vendors has no human absorption data behind it. The only intranasal work is a tracer study in mice aimed at brain delivery.
Exenatide is a prescription medicine with label warnings about pancreatitis, thrombocytopenia and hypoglycemia in combination with insulin. The rows above record what sources report, not endorsements of use.
Plus 1 community resource (a dosing guide, forum thread or vendor write-up), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Exenatide is a 39-amino-acid peptide with the sequence of exendin-4, a hormone first isolated from the venom of the Gila monster, that activates the GLP-1 receptor to raise meal-time insulin release, slow gastric emptying and reduce appetite. It became the first GLP-1 receptor agonist approved for type 2 diabetes in 2005 as Byetta, injected twice daily before meals, followed by the once-weekly extended-release form Bydureon, and it remains a prescription medicine rather than a research chemical. Research vendors now sell it as a pre-mixed nasal aerosol; intranasal delivery has been studied in mice for brain uptake, but no peer-reviewed human study of a nasal spray was found.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Metabolic research
Energy balance, body composition and incretin signaling.
2
FDA label (Byetta): type 2 diabetes
The label stresses that the drug is never given after a meal and that the step from 5 to 10 mcg waits a month to limit nausea. Its warnings cover pancreatitis, hypoglycemia when combined with insulin or sulfonylureas.
3
Pivotal 30-week placebo-controlled trial on top of metformin
HbA1c fell 0.78 points on 10 mcg and 0.40 on 5 mcg versus a 0.08 rise on placebo, with dose-dependent weight loss of 2.8 kg and 1.6 kg. Gastrointestinal effects were the most common adverse events and hypoglycemia was.
4
DURATION-1: once-weekly versus twice-daily exenatide
The weekly formulation lowered HbA1c by 1.9 points against 1.5 for the twice-daily pen, with more patients reaching 7% or below (77% versus 61%), similar weight loss and no extra hypoglycemia. The extended-release.
5
Intranasal brain-uptake study in mice
Of five incretin agonists tested, exenatide, dulaglutide and DA4-JC spread through the brain after intranasal delivery, while semaglutide did not; the authors were interested in bypassing the blood-brain barrier for.
6
Intranasal aerosol (research-vendor format)
This is a vendor claim about a product format, not a protocol. A 100 mcg nasal serving is ten times the 10 mcg injected dose, which is consistent with nasal peptides being poorly absorbed, but no published human study.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
3 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
1 protocol row describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Exenatide. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.