Amounts reported for CMS-121 are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for CMS-121
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 2 clinical, 4 preclinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical2 rows
Phase 1 safety and pharmacokinetics in healthy volunteersHealthy young and elderly adult volunteers, with a separate food-effect arm
Single doses up to 1,800 mg; repeat doses up to 900 mg per day
Single dose, or once daily for the repeat-dose arm
Oral capsules, taken fed
7 days for the repeat-dose armAt least 7 days of washout between food-effect doses
Both the single and repeat dosing were generally well tolerated with most adverse events mild. Exposure rose about in proportion to dose, the CMS121-C2 metabolite contributed more to circulating drug than the parent compound, and elderly participants reached higher exposures with longer half-lives. Eating raised exposure by roughly 50 percent. This report is a preprint, so it has not been through journal peer review.
Phase 1 trial registration99 healthy subjects aged 19 to 85, across single-dose, repeat-dose, elderly and food-effect cohorts
Escalating single doses, then 7 days of once-daily dosing, against matching placebo capsules
Once daily for the multiple-dose cohorts
Oral capsules, taken fed
7 days of dosing in the multiple-dose cohorts; the study ran May to December 2022Not described
Sponsored by Virogenics, with treatment-emergent adverse events as the primary endpoint. The registry record carries the cohort structure but no posted results and no numeric dose levels; those appear only in the 2025 preprint. This is the only registered trial of the compound.
Preclinical4 rows
Transgenic Alzheimer-model miceMale APP/PS1 transgenic mice and C57BL/6J controls, dosed from 9 months of age
Memory held up better than in untreated transgenic mice, and brain lipid peroxidation, inflammation and lipid metabolism all shifted. This is the study that identified fatty acid synthase as the target. The dose is an average worked out from how much food each cage ate, so it is an estimate rather than a measured dose per animal.
Rapidly ageing SAMP8 mice22 female SAMP8 mice on CMS121 against 23 on control diet, with a J147 arm alongside
Dosing began in the last quarter of the lifespan, when the animals already had cognitive deficits and early kidney disease, and both brain and kidney markers moved towards a younger profile. The two papers that use the same 400 ppm diet estimate the delivered dose differently, about 20 mg/kg here and about 34 mg/kg in the APP/PS1 study, because the mice and feeding patterns differ.
Huntington's disease mouse modelsR6/2 and YAC128 mouse models of Huntington's disease
Dosed in the diet across 2 mouse models; the abstract gives no parts-per-million or per-kilogram figure
Motor decline slowed and median lifespan rose in both models, with the effect on motor function becoming more pronounced as the YAC128 mice aged, and striatal genes tied to the proteasome and oxidative phosphorylation shifted back towards normal. The authors present this as a health-span result in mice.
Developers' account of the preclinical and toxicology packageThe full set of cell and mouse models used to take the compound from screen to an investigational new drug application
Reviews the 400 ppm diet work and the toxicology studies behind the 2022 Phase 1 doses
Written by the Salk group and the company developing the compound, this 2024 paper walks through the screening approach, the preclinical activity and the toxicology that supported the investigational new drug approval. It is the clearest single account of why the molecule was chosen, and it comes from the people who chose it.
Community-reported1 row
Vendor capsule product
25 mg per capsule, 60 capsules per bottle (1,500 mg total)
Not stated
Oral capsule
Not stated
Community resource2026
A vendor claim about what ships, not a protocol. The Phase 1 study dosed in hundreds of milligrams, so a 25 mg capsule has no relationship to any tested amount, and the listing states the material is not for human use.
Plus 1 community resource (a dosing guide, forum thread or vendor write-up), reported above but not linked.
Overview
CMS-121 is one of 160 synthetic derivatives of fisetin, a flavonol found in strawberries and other fruit, made at the Salk Institute to keep the parent molecule's protective activity while behaving better as a drug. It was picked out of a cell-based screen for blocking the iron-dependent cell death pathway called oxytosis or ferroptosis, and its molecular target turned out to be fatty acid synthase, an enzyme not previously linked to Alzheimer's disease. Mouse work reports preserved memory in Alzheimer and Huntington models plus effects on obesity, diabetes, liver and kidney damage and hearing loss, and a Phase 1 study in 99 healthy volunteers tested single doses up to 1,800 mg before an investigational new drug application was granted.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Cognitive & neural
Neuroplasticity, cognition, stress and sleep models.
2
Longevity & mitochondria
Cellular aging, redox balance and mitochondrial function.
3
Phase 1 safety and pharmacokinetics in healthy volunteers
Both the single and repeat dosing were generally well tolerated with most adverse events mild. Exposure rose about in proportion to dose, the CMS121-C2 metabolite contributed more to circulating drug than the parent.
4
Phase 1 trial registration
Sponsored by Virogenics, with treatment-emergent adverse events as the primary endpoint. The registry record carries the cohort structure but no posted results and no numeric dose levels; those appear only in the 2025.
5
Transgenic Alzheimer-model mice
Memory held up better than in untreated transgenic mice, and brain lipid peroxidation, inflammation and lipid metabolism all shifted. This is the study that identified fatty acid synthase as the target. The dose is an.
6
Rapidly ageing SAMP8 mice
Dosing began in the last quarter of the lifespan, when the animals already had cognitive deficits and early kidney disease, and both brain and kidney markers moved towards a younger profile. The two papers that use the.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
2 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
4 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for CMS-121. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Also listed as
CMS121, 4-[4-(cyclopentyloxy)quinolin-2-yl]benzene-1,2-diol, UNII BW9P9F8JEY, CHEMBL1951865, CHEBI:230492, HY-135981, MFCD22192465
InChIKey
OMHNVUCFPJJLKD-UHFFFAOYSA-N
IUPAC name
4-(4-cyclopentyloxyquinolin-2-yl)benzene-1,2-diol
Limitations and unknowns
Important limitations
Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.
Sources
7 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 1 community resource reported but not linked.