Amounts reported for Clenbuterol are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for Clenbuterol
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical4 rows
German prescribing information (Spiropent tablets)Adults and children aged 12 and over with asthma or chronic obstructive bronchitis with reversible airway narrowing
20 mcg (1 tablet) per dose; up to 40 mcg (2 tablets) per dose for the first 2-3 days of severe symptoms; maintenance 10 mcg (half a tablet) per dose; never more than 100 mcg (5 tablets) a day
The label states that more than 5 tablets a day brings no extra benefit and raises the chance of serious side effects, that the tablets are not for acute attacks, and that the terminal plasma half-life is about 34 hours. Patients sensitive to beta-2 agonists are advised to start lower. Clenbuterol tablets have no marketing authorisation for people in the United States.
FDA-approved veterinary label (Ventipulmin syrup)Horses with airway obstruction such as recurrent airway disease; for oral use in horses only
0.8 mcg/kg to start (0.5 mL of a 72.5 mcg/mL syrup per 100 lb), stepping up every 3 days to 1.6, 2.4 and then 3.2 mcg/kg if there is no improvement
Twice daily
Oral syrup
30 days at the effective doseWithdraw after 30 days to see whether signs return; the 30-day course and step-up schedule may be repeated
This is the only FDA-approved clenbuterol product in the United States and it is for horses, with a warning against use in food animals. The per-kilogram figures are equine doses from a regulator's animal label and say nothing about safe amounts in people.
Poison-centre case series of misuse13 clenbuterol exposures reported to two United States poison control centres, 11 of them for weight loss or bodybuilding
One measured case followed a 4.5 mg ingestion, more than 100 times the 20-40 mcg asthma dose, giving a serum level of 2983 pg/mL
Not stated
Oral grey-market products, some taken with T3 or anabolic steroids
Reported effects were tachycardia, widened pulse pressure, rapid breathing, low potassium, high glucose, ST changes on ECG, raised troponin and creatine kinase, palpitations, chest pain and tremor; effects lasted more than 24 hours and two patients had evidence of myocardial injury. Treatments included activated charcoal, benzodiazepines, beta-blockers, potassium and intravenous fluids. The authors stress that these patients presented as healthy, athletic people rather than typical drug users.
Case report and literature review of low-dose toxicityA young adult admitted after an intentional overdose, with a review of published cases in athletes and bodybuilders
Cardiac toxicity reported at doses as low as 20 mcg in one published case, up to deliberate overdoses
The review found that presentations do not track the amount taken, ranging from nausea to myocardial ischaemia, rhabdomyolysis and cardiogenic shock, and that no minimum dose free of adverse effects has been identified. Recommended management is intravenous fluids, potassium replacement, benzodiazepines for agitation and beta-blockers or phenylephrine for haemodynamic support.
Community-reported3 rows
Bodybuilding cutting-cycle write-up
20-40 mcg per day to start, increased gradually; described as rarely exceeding 120-140 mcg per day
Once daily, early in the day
Oral
2 weeks on2 weeks off, or continuous use with ketotifen described as a way to reset beta-2 receptors
Community resource2026
This steroid-community site describes clenbuterol as a cutting-phase addition stacked with anabolic steroids, which is exactly the use pattern in the poison-centre series above. Its upper figures are three to seven times the 20-40 mcg asthma dose and above the 100 mcg daily ceiling on the German label; none of it is supported by a human trial.
Consumer health summary
20-40 mcg per day when prescribed for asthma; athletes described as using varying higher amounts in on-and-off cycles
Not stated
Oral
Not stated
Community resource2025
A medically reviewed consumer article updated in May 2025 records that clenbuterol is banned for human use in the United States, prohibited by WADA at all times, and linked to fast heart rate, atrial fibrillation, myocardial ischaemia and, in poisoning cases, seizures, rhabdomyolysis and cardiogenic shock. It notes that even small amounts can cause toxicity.
Vendor liquid listing
100 mcg/mL in a 30 mL dropper bottle (3,000 mcg total)
Not stated
Liquid research preparation in a 30 mL bottle
Not stated
Community resource2026
This is a vendor claim: the vendor sells clenbuterol as Clen, a 100 mcg/mL liquid for beta-adrenergic pathway research, and states no dosing. One millilitre of this liquid equals five 20 mcg asthma tablets, which is the German label's entire daily ceiling.
How a course is commonly described
1
Days 1-3Clinical
The approved asthma label starts at 20 mcg twice daily, or up to 40 mcg twice daily for the first two or three days of severe symptoms, then drops back once breathing improves. Community cutting write-ups also start at 20-40 mcg a day, but with the intention of climbing.
2
Weeks 1-2Community-reported
Community sources describe raising the dose every few days toward 120-140 mcg a day over a two-week block, taken early in the day to limit insomnia. The label ceiling for asthma is 100 mcg a day, and the poison-centre series shows effects persisting beyond 24 hours because of the 34-hour half-life.
3
BreakCommunity-reported
Two weeks off is the convention described in community material, justified by beta-2 receptor desensitisation; some write-ups replace the break with ketotifen. No human study has tested either pattern, and the only regulator-defined course, the 30-day equine regimen, ends with withdrawal to see whether signs return.
The only human regimen with regulatory backing is the asthma label: 20 mcg twice daily, at most 100 mcg a day. Community cutting cycles run several times higher and are the population that fills the poison-centre case series.
WADA prohibits clenbuterol at all times as an anabolic agent with no threshold, while noting that trace findings can follow contaminated meat, which is why it published a stakeholder notice on meat contamination in June 2019. Clenbuterol has no human marketing authorisation in the United States.
Clenbuterol is an oral small molecule, so no vial, reconstitution or syringe maths is involved. The rows above record what sources report, not endorsements of use.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
Clenbuterol is a long-acting beta-2 adrenergic agonist, a small molecule rather than a peptide, sold as 20 microgram tablets for asthma and chronic obstructive bronchitis in Germany and other countries outside the United States and, as Ventipulmin syrup, as an FDA-approved treatment for airway obstruction in horses. It is widely misused for fat loss and muscle gain because of the repartitioning effect first seen in livestock, and WADA prohibits it at all times as an anabolic agent with no reporting threshold. Human data outside asthma consist of one small randomised heart-failure study, poison-centre case series and case reports of tachycardia, low potassium and heart muscle injury after grey-market tablets and liquids.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Metabolic research
Energy balance, body composition and incretin signaling.
2
Muscle & performance
Androgen receptor modulators, myostatin pathways and exercise-mimetic research.
3
German prescribing information (Spiropent tablets)
The label states that more than 5 tablets a day brings no extra benefit and raises the chance of serious side effects, that the tablets are not for acute attacks, and that the terminal plasma half-life is about 34.
4
FDA-approved veterinary label (Ventipulmin syrup)
This is the only FDA-approved clenbuterol product in the United States and it is for horses, with a warning against use in food animals. The per-kilogram figures are equine doses from a regulator's animal label and say.
5
Poison-centre case series of misuse
Reported effects were tachycardia, widened pulse pressure, rapid breathing, low potassium, high glucose, ST changes on ECG, raised troponin and creatine kinase, palpitations, chest pain and tremor; effects lasted more.
6
Case report and literature review of low-dose toxicity
The review found that presentations do not track the amount taken, ranging from nausea to myocardial ischaemia, rhabdomyolysis and cardiogenic shock, and that no minimum dose free of adverse effects has been.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
4 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Not graded
Community-reported use
3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for Clenbuterol. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.