Important limitations
- Individual claims and source links have not yet completed editorial verification.
- Evidence level, applicable study model, formulation, route and population remain unassigned.
BCAAs, composed of Leucine, Isoleucine, and Valine, are essential amino acids that support muscle growth, recovery, and energy during physical exertion.
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
| Context | Dose | Frequency | Route | Course | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clinical4 rows | |||||
| Cochrane review of BCAA for hepatic encephalopathy (oral and intravenous trials)827 adults with overt or minimal hepatic encephalopathy in 16 randomised trials, almost all with cirrhosis | 11-57 g per day (median 20 g per day) | Daily | Oral in 8 trials; intravenous in 7 trials of hospitalised patients | 1-104 weeks (median 4 weeks)Not applicable | Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (PubMed)2017 |
| BCAA improved encephalopathy symptoms (risk ratio 0.73) with high-quality evidence but had no effect on mortality, quality of life or nutritional markers, and increased nausea and vomiting in a fixed-effect analysis. The intravenous trials were in-hospital infusions of gram-scale amounts, far removed from millilitre injections of a mixed amino blend. | |||||
| BCAA alone after resistance exercise, tracer study10 resistance-trained young men | 5.6 g BCAA | Single dose immediately after a resistance exercise bout | Oral drink | Single session, biopsies over 4 hoursNot applicable | Frontiers in Physiology2017 |
| Myofibrillar protein synthesis was 22% higher after the BCAA drink than after placebo, with greater mTORC1 signalling at one hour. The authors noted that the response was smaller than that reported for whole protein or complete essential amino acid mixtures, and interpreted the absence of the other essential amino acids as the limiting factor. | |||||
| Systematic review of BCAA for exercise-induced muscle damageHealthy adults in randomised BCAA supplementation studies with muscle-damage outcomes | More than 200 mg/kg per day | Two or more intakes per day | Oral | More than 10 days, starting at least 7 days before the damaging exerciseNot applicable | Nutrients (PubMed Central)2017 |
| Benefit on soreness and creatine kinase was seen mainly when daily intake exceeded 200 mg/kg, was split into at least two doses, continued beyond 10 days and began a week before the exercise, and only when the muscle damage was mild to moderate. The reviewers concluded there is no direct evidence that BCAA prevents muscle damage and that a short course around a single session is unlikely to work. | |||||
| Carnosine supplementation pilot trial (ingredient data)30 non-diabetic adults with overweight or obesity (mean BMI 31) | 2 g carnosine per day | Daily | Oral | 12 weeksNone | Obesity (PubMed)2016 |
| Carnosine blunted the rise in fasting insulin and insulin resistance seen on placebo and lowered two-hour glucose and insulin in the subgroup with impaired glucose tolerance. This is a 30-person pilot of oral carnosine at gram doses, included only because carnosine is one of the blend's ingredients; nothing in it concerns injected carnosine or exercise. | |||||
| Community-reported3 rows | |||||
| Clinic protocol for a compounded BCAA injection | 1-3 mL of a 20 mg/mL leucine, 30 mg/mL isoleucine, 80 mg/mL valine formula | After exercise, or daily for people with chronic illness | Intramuscular | Not specifiedNone described | Community resource2026 |
| A multi-site wellness clinic group describes its injectable BCAA formula and suggests 1 to 3 mL intramuscularly after exercise, contrasting it with the 10 to 50 g per day range used by mouth. Even 3 mL of this formula delivers under 400 mg of amino acids, a small fraction of any studied oral dose. | |||||
| Telehealth prescription BCAA injection | 15 mg isoleucine, 10 mg leucine, 40 mg valine per mL (30 mL vial sold as a 60-day supply) | Once or twice a week, set by the prescriber | Injection (self-administered) | 60-day supplyNone described | Community resource2026 |
| A telehealth peptide prescriber sells a 15/10/40 mg/mL BCAA vial from a compounding pharmacy and says most people inject once or twice a week, with injection-site soreness or redness as the expected side effects. The 15/10/40 ratio is the common compounded formula and is valine-heavy, unlike the leucine-weighted 2:1:1 ratio used in oral products. | |||||
| Recovery blend containing BCAA 2:1:1 (related product, not this formulation) | 0.5 mL of a blend listing BCAA 2:1:1 at 150 mg/mL with arginine, ornithine, citrulline, glutamine, glycine, taurine and lysine | 0.5 mL before and 0.5 mL after training, worked up to 1 mL each | Intramuscular (the author found subcutaneous injections caused lumps) | Not specifiedNone described | Community resource2025 |
| A 2025 biohacking e-book describes the vendor's Centaur recovery blend, the closest BCAA-containing injectable it covers, split half before and half after a workout. It also notes that multi-ingredient amino blends tend to cause more post-injection pain and recommends a 29-gauge half-inch insulin syringe for deep intramuscular use. | |||||
The muscle-damage review found that the oral studies showing any benefit started BCAA at least seven days before the damaging exercise, at more than 200 mg/kg per day split into two or more doses. A single dose on the day of exercise did not help.
Clinic and vendor material places injections immediately after training (1-3 mL in one clinic protocol) or split before and after the session, and the legacy page for this product gave 1-2 mL daily after workouts. The one tracer study of BCAA alone measured a modest protein-synthesis rise over the four hours after a 5.6 g oral dose.
The randomised trials pooled by Cochrane ran a median of four weeks (range one week to two years) at gram-scale daily doses; telehealth schedules of one or two injections a week are sold as open-ended 60-day supplies with no defined endpoint.
Plus 6 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
This BCAA product is a ready-to-use injectable blend of the three branched-chain amino acids (leucine, isoleucine and valine) together with arginine and the dipeptide carnosine, sold in a 20 mL vial by research vendors; a reseller lists one vendor's version at 190 mg/mL total and the legacy page for this product gave no per-millilitre breakdown, so the ingredient amounts are left blank here. Branched-chain amino acids are essential nutrients with a large oral supplementation literature in sport and in liver disease, where intravenous BCAA solutions have been used in hospital for hepatic encephalopathy, but the arginine and carnosine additions and the small injected amounts (tens of milligrams per millilitre against the 10 to 20 g per day studied by mouth) have no trial support of their own. Compounding pharmacies, telehealth prescribers and clinics sell prescription BCAA injections, typically 15 mg isoleucine, 10 mg leucine and 40 mg valine per mL, and the legacy page listed 1-2 mL daily after training.
These themes organize the educational information currently available. Individual claims remain under source review and are not treatment claims.
THIS PRODUCT IS INTENDED AS A RESEARCH CHEMICAL ONLY AND IS NOT APPROVED FOR HUMAN USE. BCAA supplementation has been shown in multiple studies to improve muscle recovery and reduce exercise-induced fatigue.…
Available context is organized without assigning unsupported study models or evidence grades.
THIS PRODUCT IS INTENDED AS A RESEARCH CHEMICAL ONLY AND IS NOT APPROVED FOR HUMAN USE. BCAA supplementation has been shown in multiple studies to improve muscle recovery and reduce exercise-induced fatigue.…
1 link carried over from the earlier page, awaiting verification.