AHK-Cu

AHK-Cu is a copper(II) complex of the tripeptide alanyl-histidyl-lysine, a synthetic cousin of the natural copper peptide GHK-Cu in which glycine is swapped for alanine.

Preclinical-heavyPeptide research profile

Also known as: AHK-Cu, Ala-His-Lys copper complex, L-alanyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine copper(II), Copper tripeptide-3 (cosmetic trade usage), orb1942089

(how we review)

Dosing & scaling, explained

Amounts reported for AHK-Cu are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.

No source-supported amount ladder is shown

Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.

Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.

No independently verified schedule

Clinical context

No human amount or schedule has been recorded for this compound.

Storage, handling and interpretation

Product identity

Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.

Storage & handling

Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.

Prepared solutions

Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.

Reported protocols for AHK-Cu

What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 1 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.

ContextDoseFrequencyRouteCourseSource
Preclinical1 row
Ex vivo human hair follicle and dermal papilla cell studyIsolated human hair follicles and cultured dermal papilla cells (Seoul National University)10^-12 to 10^-9 molar in the culture mediumContinuous exposure in cultureCell and organ cultureDuration of the culture experimentsNot applicableArchives of Pharmacal Research (PubMed)2007
AHK-Cu lengthened hair follicles and increased dermal papilla cell proliferation across this concentration range, raised the Bcl-2 to Bax ratio and lowered cleaved caspase-3 and PARP, although the reduction in apoptotic cells at 10^-9 molar was not statistically significant. The study notes that the related tripeptide-copper complex also raised VEGF and lowered TGF-beta1 in fibroblasts. This is the only peer-reviewed AHK-Cu experiment, and it was done on tissue in a dish.
Community-reported3 rows
Cosmetic formulation guide for scalp serums0.5-1% in finished serums (range quoted 0.3-2%); about 0.25 mL per applicationOnce daily to start, in the evening; twice daily if toleratedTopical to a clean, dry scalp, massaged in for 1-2 minutesOpen-ended; increase to 1% or twice-daily application only after tolerance is establishedNone described for topical useCommunity resource2026
This 2026 guide gives the formulation math (a 2.5-5% stock solution diluted into a carrier, landing at roughly 4-25 mg of AHK-Cu per mL of final product) and warns that concentrations above 2% add irritation risk without proportional benefit and that a vividly blue product signals excess copper. It points out that the laboratory concentration of 10^-9 molar is about 0.35 micrograms per mL, far below any serum, so the topical percentages are formulation convention rather than a translation of the study.
Community profile covering topical and injectable useTopical: 0.5-1% serum, 4-6 drops per application; injectable figures quoted as 100 mcg, 250 mcg or 500 mcgTopical once or twice daily; injectable described as dailyTopical to scalp or skin; subcutaneous described but flagged as unsupportedTopical protocols of 12-24 weeks; injectable use described as 8-12 weeksTopical use continuous; a 4-week break is described after injectable cyclesCommunity resource2026
The page is explicit that its injectable numbers are derived by analogy from GHK-Cu, that fewer than 15 injectable experience reports exist online and that no pharmacokinetic or safety data support injection, while topical use is the better-supported route by default. It also records that most topical users combine AHK-Cu with minoxidil, which makes any reported result impossible to attribute to the peptide.
Research-vendor listing (format only)100 mg per lyophilized vial; a third-party certificate reports 99.72% purity and 107.06 mg measuredNot statedNot stated; sold for laboratory research onlyNot statedNot statedCommunity resource2026
This is a vendor page, not a protocol. The listed CAS number (682809-81-0) and the charged formula with chloride belong to the hydrochloride salt record, and the 100 mg vial size reflects the compound's use as a bulk formulation ingredient rather than a dosed peptide. The page gives no dosing information.

How a course is commonly described

  1. Weeks 1-2Community-reported

    Formulation guides describe starting a 0.5% serum once daily on a clean, dry scalp in the evening and watching for irritation before changing anything.

  2. Weeks 3-8Community-reported

    If tolerated, the same guides move to twice-daily application or a 1% concentration, one change at a time. Community reports place any early shedding in the first 4-6 weeks and describe it as settling by weeks 6-8.

  3. Weeks 12-24Community-reported

    Topical protocols are described as running 12-24 weeks before judging the result, because a hair growth cycle takes months. No study has measured any of these time points; they are hair-biology assumptions applied to an untested product.

  • AHK-Cu has one published experiment, on isolated follicles and cells. Every serum percentage and every timeline above is cosmetic-industry convention, not a tested dose.
  • The study that supports it found a bell-shaped response: picomolar to nanomolar concentrations helped and higher concentrations inhibited follicle growth, which is why community guides repeat that more is not better.
  • Injectable AHK-Cu has no pharmacokinetic or safety data; the microgram figures on forums are borrowed from GHK-Cu, a different molecule that the FDA has itself placed in compounding Category 2. The rows above record what sources report, not endorsements of use.
Sources for this section (4)
  1. The effect of tripeptide-copper complex on human hair growth in vitroArchives of Pharmacal Research (PubMed)2007Preclinical

Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.

Overview

AHK-Cu is a copper(II) complex of the tripeptide alanyl-histidyl-lysine, a synthetic cousin of the natural copper peptide GHK-Cu in which glycine is swapped for alanine. It is sold mainly as a cosmetic ingredient for scalp and skin serums, and its evidence base is a single 2007 Korean study in which picomolar to nanomolar concentrations lengthened isolated human hair follicles and stimulated dermal papilla cells. No animal or human trial of any kind has been published, so every concentration used in serums and every injectable figure quoted on forums is an extrapolation from GHK-Cu practice, and the vendor lists the compound by the CAS number of its hydrochloride salt.

What researchers are exploring

These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.

  • 1

    Repair & regeneration

    Tissue repair, extracellular matrix and recovery models.

  • 2

    Skin & connective tissue

    Collagen, skin signaling and connective-tissue models.

  • 3

    Ex vivo human hair follicle and dermal papilla cell study

    AHK-Cu lengthened hair follicles and increased dermal papilla cell proliferation across this concentration range, raised the Bcl-2 to Bax ratio and lowered cleaved caspase-3 and PARP, although the reduction in.

  • 4

    Cosmetic formulation guide for scalp serums

    This 2026 guide gives the formulation math (a 2.5-5% stock solution diluted into a carrier, landing at roughly 4-25 mg of AHK-Cu per mL of final product) and warns that concentrations above 2% add irritation risk.

  • 5

    Community profile covering topical and injectable use

    The page is explicit that its injectable numbers are derived by analogy from GHK-Cu, that fewer than 15 injectable experience reports exist online and that no pharmacokinetic or safety data support injection, while.

  • 6

    Research-vendor listing (format only)

    This is a vendor page, not a protocol. The listed CAS number (682809-81-0) and the charged formula with chloride belong to the hydrochloride salt record, and the 100 mg vial size reflects the compound's use as a bulk.

What the current evidence can support

Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.

  • Animal

    Preclinical models

    1 protocol row describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.

  • Not graded

    Community-reported use

    3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for AHK-Cu. None has been verified against primary literature.

Chemistry identifiers

Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.

Sequence

Ala-His-Lys complexed with one copper(II) ion

Also listed as

AHK-Cu, Ala-His-Lys copper complex, L-alanyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine copper(II), Copper tripeptide-3 (cosmetic trade usage), orb1942089

InChIKey

JTPJCBFWJPMLQR-LBRAPMIBSA-L

IUPAC name

copper (2S)-6-amino-2-[[(2S)-2-[(2S)-2-aminopropanoyl]azanidyl-3-(1H-imidazol-4-yl)propanoyl]amino]hexanoate

Limitations and unknowns

Important limitations

  • Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
  • Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
  • Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.

Sources

2 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model, plus 3 community resources reported but not linked.

  1. AHK-Cu, neutral 1:1 copper complex (PubChem CID 176418766)PubChem, National Library of Medicine2026Not graded
  2. The effect of tripeptide-copper complex on human hair growth in vitroArchives of Pharmacal Research (PubMed)2007Animal