Amounts reported for 5-Amino-1MQ are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
No human amount or schedule has been recorded for this compound.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for 5-Amino-1MQ
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 2 preclinical and 3 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Preclinical2 rows
Aged mouse muscle injury and regeneration study24-month-old mice given a barium chloride injury to the tibialis anterior muscle
5 or 10 mg/kg
Not stated
Not stated
1 week after injury at either dose, or 3 weeks after injury at 10 mg/kgNot applicable
Treated mice showed more muscle stem cell proliferation and fusion and nearly twofold larger regenerating fibre cross-sections than saline controls, with a further gain when dosing continued for three weeks. The work comes from the laboratory that designed the compound and whose founder later formed Ridgeline Therapeutics; it is a rodent injury model, not evidence about people.
Aged mouse exercise and sarcopenia study35 aged female mice treated from 22 to 24 months of age, sedentary or on progressive weighted wheel running, 7 to 10 per group
10 mg/kg body weight
Not stated
Not stated
About 8 weeks (22 to 24 months of age)Not applicable
Sedentary mice on the inhibitor had roughly 40% greater grip strength than sedentary controls, exercised mice about 20%, and the two together about 60%, with lower intramyocellular lipid and, with exercise, larger gastrocnemius fibres. Two authors are Ridgeline Therapeutics employees and the senior author is its founder; the 10 mg/kg dose was chosen from the group's earlier injury work and the paper's own mouse pharmacokinetic data.
Community-reported3 rows
Vendor capsule listing
50 mg per capsule
Not stated
Oral capsule
Not stated
Community resource2026
This is a vendor claim: the vendor lists 50 mg GMP capsules for NNMT pathway research and states no dosing. The page gives the iodide CAS number 42464-96-0 but a molecular weight of 201.3 g/mol, which matches neither the iodide salt (286.11) nor the free cation (159.21) in PubChem, so the figure on the label should not be used for any calculation.
Vendor injectable liquid listing
50 mg/mL in a 20 mL vial (1,000 mg total)
Not stated
Liquid research solution sold in a vial
Not stated
Community resource2026
This is a vendor claim: the same vendor sells a ready-made 50 mg/mL solution described as a high-dose research format, so each 0.1 mL holds 5 mg. No human pharmacokinetic, safety or dose data exist for any route, and the FDA's January 2026 warning letter found injectable products compounded from this substance ineligible under section 503B.
Independent evidence summary for lay readers
20 mg/kg three times daily for 11 days in obese mice is the only dosing figure the guide can cite; it states that no human dose exists
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Community resource2026
A September 2026 consumer-health guide records that the compound has no FDA approval, no completed or registered human trial of any phase, and that the only published pharmacokinetic study was done in rats, so human absorption, half-life and dose-exposure relationships are unknown. It describes distribution as grey-market research-chemical vendors rather than any licensed pharmacy.
Plus 3 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
5-Amino-1MQ (5-amino-1-methylquinolinium) is a small synthetic molecule, not a peptide, that blocks the enzyme nicotinamide N-methyltransferase and is sold by research vendors as oral capsules and as an injectable liquid. It came out of a University of Texas Medical Branch medicinal chemistry programme and has been studied only in mice, rats and cell culture, where it limited fat gain in obese mice and improved muscle regeneration and grip strength in aged mice. No human trial has been published or registered, it is not approved anywhere, and in January 2026 the FDA named 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium iodide as a bulk substance that outsourcing facilities may not use for compounding.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Metabolic research
Energy balance, body composition and incretin signaling.
2
Longevity & mitochondria
Cellular aging, redox balance and mitochondrial function.
3
Aged mouse muscle injury and regeneration study
Treated mice showed more muscle stem cell proliferation and fusion and nearly twofold larger regenerating fibre cross-sections than saline controls, with a further gain when dosing continued for three weeks. The work.
4
Aged mouse exercise and sarcopenia study
Sedentary mice on the inhibitor had roughly 40% greater grip strength than sedentary controls, exercised mice about 20%, and the two together about 60%, with lower intramyocellular lipid and, with exercise, larger.
5
Vendor capsule listing
This is a vendor claim: the vendor lists 50 mg GMP capsules for NNMT pathway research and states no dosing. The page gives the iodide CAS number 42464-96-0 but a molecular weight of 201.3 g/mol, which matches neither.
6
Vendor injectable liquid listing
This is a vendor claim: the same vendor sells a ready-made 50 mg/mL solution described as a high-dose research format, so each 0.1 mL holds 5 mg. No human pharmacokinetic, safety or dose data exist for any route, and.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Animal
Preclinical models
2 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
3 rows record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for 5-Amino-1MQ. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.