LGD-4033

LGD-4033, also called ligandrol, is a non-steroidal selective androgen receptor modulator that binds the androgen receptor with high affinity.

Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference

Also known as: Ligandrol, LGD-4033, VK-5211, VK5211, UNII 1EJT54415A, CHEMBL5170587, LGD4033

(how we review)

Dosing & scaling, explained

Amounts reported for LGD-4033 are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.

No source-supported amount ladder is shown

Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.

Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.

No independently verified schedule

Clinical context

Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.

Storage, handling and interpretation

Product identity

Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.

Storage & handling

Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.

Prepared solutions

Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.

Reported protocols for LGD-4033

What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 4 clinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.

ContextDoseFrequencyRouteCourseSource
Clinical4 rows
Phase 1 ascending-dose study in healthy men76 healthy men aged 21 to 50, randomised to placebo or one of three doses0.1, 0.3 or 1.0 mgOnce daily after an overnight fast, 20 doses given over the periodOral21 days, followed by 5 weeks of observationNo dose on day 2, to allow 48 hours of pharmacokinetic samplingJournals of Gerontology Series A (PubMed Central)2013
Lean body mass rose dose dependently while fat mass did not change significantly. Total testosterone, sex hormone binding globulin, HDL cholesterol and triglycerides were suppressed dose dependently; free testosterone and FSH fell only at 1.0 mg, and luteinising hormone did not move meaningfully. Hormones and lipids returned to baseline by day 56. No drug-related serious adverse events occurred, and haemoglobin, prostate-specific antigen, transaminases and QT intervals did not change significantly over these three weeks. An earlier single-ascending-dose study had established the safety of up to 22 mg.
Phase 2 trial after hip fracture surgery, as VK5211108 patients aged 65 or older recovering from non-elective hip fracture surgery0.5, 1.0 or 2.0 mg against placeboOnce dailyOral12 weeks, the longest published human exposureNone describedClinicalTrials.gov2017
This is a completed randomised, double-blind, quadruple-masked trial registered as NCT02578095 and run by Viking Therapeutics, which licensed the molecule. It remains the only phase 2 study of the compound, and the programme has not advanced to phase 3.
Phase 2 reported resultsThe same 108 hip fracture patients0.5, 1.0 or 2.0 mg once dailyOnce dailyOral12 weeksNone describedViking Therapeutics2017
Placebo-adjusted lean body mass rose 4.8% at 0.5 mg, 7.2% at 1.0 mg and 9.1% at 2.0 mg, corresponding to 1.6, 2.5 and 3.1 kg. Appendicular lean mass rose 6.1% to 10.2% and mean fat mass fell 2.2% to 6.2%, reaching significance only at 2.0 mg. Six-minute walk distance improved by about 22 metres against placebo at the top dose, on an exploratory endpoint that was not powered for significance. No drug-related serious adverse events were reported. These figures come from the sponsor's announcement rather than a peer-reviewed paper.
Reported adverse events outside trials, including liver injuryPublished case reports and adverse event database entries from recreational usersAmounts self-reported by users and often unverifiable; a survey of 2,269 young male gym users found 2.7% reported SARM use, with this compound the most commonly namedNot statedOral, usually as a product bought onlineNot statedEuropean Journal of Clinical Pharmacology2023
This review of suspected cases found reports of cholestatic and hepatocellular liver injury attributed to this compound alone and in combination with other SARMs, alongside database entries describing visual impairment, cerebrovascular events, abnormal hormone levels and testicular changes. Because these are spontaneous reports from unregulated products, the true exposure is unknown and the product taken may not have matched its label.
Community-reported1 row
What is actually in products sold onlineLabel amount matched laboratory analysis in only 18 of 44 productsNot statedProducts bought from internet suppliers and analysed under anti-doping proceduresNot statedJAMA (PubMed)2017
Of 44 products sold as selective androgen receptor modulators, 52% contained a SARM at all, this compound among the three that were found. No active compound was detected in 9%, unlabelled substances were present in 25%, and the measured amount differed substantially from the label in 59%. Every milligram figure on a product sold this way is a claim, not a measurement.

How a course is commonly described

  1. Phase 1: 21 days, then 5 weeks of follow-upClinical

    The healthy-volunteer study gave 20 oral doses over three weeks at 0.1 to 1.0 mg a day, then watched participants for five more weeks. Lean mass rose during treatment, hormones and lipids fell, and both returned to baseline by day 56 after dosing stopped.

  2. Phase 2: 12 weeksClinical

    The hip fracture trial is the longest course ever given to people under supervision, at 0.5 to 2.0 mg once daily for twelve weeks. Lean mass gains were dose dependent and fat mass fell at the top dose. Nothing longer than twelve weeks has been studied in humans.

  3. Where the harm reports come fromClinical

    Liver injury attributed to this compound appears weeks into use of consumer products, typically with jaundice as the first symptom, and generally resolves after the product is stopped. The doses in those reports are self-reported and the products were not verified, which is the central difficulty in reading them.

  • This compound is not approved as a medicine in any country. The FDA has told companies selling it that it is an unapproved new drug and a prescription drug, because it is not safe for use except under the supervision of a licensed practitioner, and it has warned consumers that products in this class have caused liver injury requiring hospitalisation.
  • Even at 1.0 mg a day for three weeks it suppressed total testosterone, sex hormone binding globulin, HDL cholesterol and triglycerides. Suppression was reversible within five weeks in that supervised study; nothing in the literature describes what happens over the longer courses used recreationally.
  • It is prohibited in sport at all times as an anabolic agent, and it is detectable in urine long after use.
  • The trial doses are between 0.1 and 2.0 mg a day. Amounts an order of magnitude above that circulate online, outside anything that has been studied in a person.
Sources for this section (7)
  1. The Safety, Pharmacokinetics, and Effects of LGD-4033, a Novel Nonsteroidal Oral, Selective Androgen Receptor Modulator, in Healthy Young MenJournals of Gerontology Series A (PubMed Central)2013Clinical
  2. Acute Hip Fracture Study in Patients 65 Years or Greater (NCT02578095)ClinicalTrials.gov2017Clinical
  3. Viking Therapeutics Announces Positive Top-Line Results from Phase 2 Study of VK5211 in Patients Recovering from Hip FractureViking Therapeutics2017Clinical
  4. Selective androgen receptor modulator use and related adverse events including drug-induced liver injury: Analysis of suspected casesEuropean Journal of Clinical Pharmacology2023Clinical
  5. Warning Letter: Infantry Labs LLC, products containing LGD-4033 and MK-2866US Food and Drug Administration2017Clinical
  6. Certain bodybuilding products put consumers at risk for heart attack, stroke, serious liver damage and moreUS Food and Drug Administration2024Clinical
  7. Chemical Composition and Labeling of Substances Marketed as Selective Androgen Receptor Modulators and Sold via the InternetJAMA (PubMed)2017Clinical

Overview

LGD-4033, also called ligandrol, is a non-steroidal selective androgen receptor modulator that binds the androgen receptor with high affinity and was developed to build muscle and bone with less effect on prostate and skin than testosterone. It has the most substantial human record of any compound in this class sold online: a 21-day phase 1 study in 76 healthy men and a 12-week phase 2 trial in 108 hip fracture patients, both of which increased lean body mass. It has never been approved by any regulator, the FDA has issued warning letters naming it an unapproved prescription drug, and it is prohibited in sport at all times.

What researchers are exploring

These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.

  • 1

    Muscle & performance

    Androgen receptor modulators, myostatin pathways and exercise-mimetic research.

  • 2

    Phase 1 ascending-dose study in healthy men

    Lean body mass rose dose dependently while fat mass did not change significantly. Total testosterone, sex hormone binding globulin, HDL cholesterol and triglycerides were suppressed dose dependently; free testosterone.

  • 3

    Phase 2 trial after hip fracture surgery, as VK5211

    This is a completed randomised, double-blind, quadruple-masked trial registered as NCT02578095 and run by Viking Therapeutics, which licensed the molecule. It remains the only phase 2 study of the compound, and the.

  • 4

    Phase 2 reported results

    Placebo-adjusted lean body mass rose 4.8% at 0.5 mg, 7.2% at 1.0 mg and 9.1% at 2.0 mg, corresponding to 1.6, 2.5 and 3.1 kg. Appendicular lean mass rose 6.1% to 10.2% and mean fat mass fell 2.2% to 6.2%, reaching.

  • 5

    Reported adverse events outside trials, including liver injury

    This review of suspected cases found reports of cholestatic and hepatocellular liver injury attributed to this compound alone and in combination with other SARMs, alongside database entries describing visual.

  • 6

    What is actually in products sold online

    Of 44 products sold as selective androgen receptor modulators, 52% contained a SARM at all, this compound among the three that were found. No active compound was detected in 9%, unlabelled substances were present in.

What the current evidence can support

Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.

  • Human

    Human studies and registrations

    4 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.

  • Not graded

    Community-reported use

    1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for LGD-4033. None has been verified against primary literature.

Chemistry identifiers

Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.

Also listed as

Ligandrol, LGD-4033, VK-5211, VK5211, UNII 1EJT54415A, CHEMBL5170587, LGD4033

InChIKey

OPSIVAKKLQRWKC-VXGBXAGGSA-N

IUPAC name

4-[(2R)-2-[(1R)-2,2,2-trifluoro-1-hydroxyethyl]pyrrolidin-1-yl]-2-(trifluoromethyl)benzonitrile

Limitations and unknowns

Important limitations

  • Every amount on this page is a report of what a source describes, not a protocol to follow.
  • Preclinical and community rows do not establish a human amount, schedule or route.
  • Formulation, purity and presentation vary by supplier and are not covered by the dossier.

Sources

8 curated references, each with its journal, year and study model.

  1. Ligandrol, LGD-4033 (PubChem CID 44137686)PubChem, National Library of Medicine2026Not graded
  2. The Safety, Pharmacokinetics, and Effects of LGD-4033, a Novel Nonsteroidal Oral, Selective Androgen Receptor Modulator, in Healthy Young MenJournals of Gerontology Series A (PubMed Central)2013Human
  3. Acute Hip Fracture Study in Patients 65 Years or Greater (NCT02578095)ClinicalTrials.gov2017Human
  4. Viking Therapeutics Announces Positive Top-Line Results from Phase 2 Study of VK5211 in Patients Recovering from Hip FractureViking Therapeutics2017Human
  5. Selective androgen receptor modulator use and related adverse events including drug-induced liver injury: Analysis of suspected casesEuropean Journal of Clinical Pharmacology2023Human
  6. Warning Letter: Infantry Labs LLC, products containing LGD-4033 and MK-2866US Food and Drug Administration2017Human
  7. Certain bodybuilding products put consumers at risk for heart attack, stroke, serious liver damage and moreUS Food and Drug Administration2024Human
  8. Chemical Composition and Labeling of Substances Marketed as Selective Androgen Receptor Modulators and Sold via the InternetJAMA (PubMed)2017Human