ITPP, myo-inositol trispyrophosphate, is a synthetic inositol derivative that enters red blood cells through the band 3 anion transporter and binds haemoglobin.
Human trialsNon-peptide compound reference
Also known as: Myo-Inositol Trispyrophosphate, Myo-inositol trispyrophosphate, ITPP, OXY-111A, Inositol trispyrophosphate, Myo-inositol 1,6:2,3:4,5 tripyrophosphate, CHEMBL1182171, UNII 116EYZ0PPX
Amounts reported for ITPP are listed under Reported protocols, each with its source and study kind. No amount ladder is inferred from them. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
No source-supported amount ladder is shown
Enter a target amount only from your own reviewed source. The calculator can convert it into concentration, volume and device markings, but it will not infer an amount from product availability or another compound.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No independently verified schedule
Clinical context
Human study rows are described per source under Reported protocols; they belong to their trial populations and are not a general amount.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Product identity
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Storage & handling
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Prepared solutions
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
Reported protocols for ITPP
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 2 clinical, 3 preclinical and 1 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical2 rows
Phase Ib dose-escalation trial in advanced cancer28 patients with advanced primary hepatopancreatobiliary malignancies or liver metastases from colorectal cancer
1,866-14,500 mg/m2 per dose across 8 levels; maximum tolerated 12,390 mg/m2
9 infusions over 3 weeks, each lasting 8 hours
Intravenous infusion, co-administered with calcium chloride at a 1 to 0.75 molar ratio because ITPP chelates calcium
3 weeks of ITPP, followed by standard chemotherapyNot described; chemotherapy followed the ITPP course
The only completed human trial. It was unrandomised and open-label with a 3 plus 3 design. There were 32 treatment-related toxicities, mostly hypercalcaemia, requiring little or no intervention. Of the patients, 52% had morphological disease stabilisation on ITPP alone, and after subsequent chemotherapy 10% had partial responses and 60% stable disease. Angiogenic markers fell in roughly 60% of patients. Two of the authors co-founded NormOxys, which holds the ITPP patent and supplied the drug free of charge.
Registry record for the phase I and II trial69 patients planned with primary and secondary hepato-pancreato-biliary and gastrointestinal neoplasia
OXY111A infusion, escalated to find the maximum tolerated dose
Per the escalation schedule
Intravenous infusion
Study ran from February 2014 to a listed completion in December 2016Not applicable
Run by the University of Zurich and listed on the registry under the trade name OXY111A. Its status is recorded as unknown, meaning the record has not been verified recently, and the planned enrolment of 69 is larger than the 28 patients the published phase Ib report covers. The paper notes that a phase 2 dose-extension effort was under way at the time of writing.
Preclinical3 rows
Red blood cell uptake and haemoglobin bindingHuman red blood cells and red cell ghosts
5.5 millimolar maximum inside the cell; dissociation constant 17.2 micromolar
This is the mechanism paper. The shift in the oxygen-haemoglobin equilibrium curve was blocked by DIDS and NAP-taurine, which inhibit band 3, the main anion transporter on the red cell membrane, and intracellular ITPP fell to the limit of detection in NAP-taurine treated cells. The authors conclude uptake is band 3 mediated and therefore highly selective for red blood cells, which is the property that distinguishes ITPP from membrane-impermeant inositol phosphates.
Exercise capacity in normal mice and mice with heart failureNormal mice and transgenic mice with severe heart failure from cardiac Gq overexpression
0.5-3 g/kg intraperitoneally; 20 mg/mL in drinking water for the oral arm
Single intraperitoneal dose, or free access to treated drinking water
Intraperitoneal injection, or oral in drinking water
4 to 8 days of drinking water in the oral arm; treadmill testing 16 to 24 hours after injectionNot applicable
This is the paper behind every endurance claim made for ITPP, and it is entirely in mice. Intraperitoneal dosing raised the oxygen tension at which haemoglobin is half saturated by up to 31% and maximal treadmill distance by up to 57% in normal mice and 63% in failing mice; oral dosing raised maximal exercise capacity by 34%. Myocardial HIF-1 alpha mRNA fell, consistent with better tissue oxygen availability, and there was no effect on cardiac myocyte contractility or arterial blood pressure. A dose of 0.5 to 3 grams per kilogram in a mouse is not a human dose and cannot be scaled into one.
Tumour reoxygenation and radiotherapy in rodent models6 rodent tumour models for oxygenation, with rhabdomyosarcoma and 9L-glioma rat models for the radiotherapy arm
2 g/kg
Once daily for 2 days
Systemic administration in rodents
Reoxygenation persisted for at least 4 days after the 2-day courseNot applicable
ITPP raised tumour oxygen tension in all six models and lowered the oxygen consumption rate in all six cell lines, but had no effect on tumour perfusion. The therapeutic result was mixed and the authors say so: combining ITPP with radiotherapy did not improve outcomes in rhabdomyosarcoma, and in 9L-glioma some tumours were cured while others gained nothing. A separate 2017 study found ITPP failed to enhance an already highly effective radiotherapy regimen in a mouse glioblastoma model, and a 2023 study that measured local oxygen tension in live mice found pO2 elevated by 10 to 20 mm Hg against controls, sometimes transiently and sometimes sustained, with the effect depending on the dosing interval and on how hypoxic the tumour was to begin with.
Community-reported1 row
Research-chemical vendor listing
200 mg/mL in a 20 mL vial, 4,000 mg total
Not stated by the vendor
Supplied as a finished liquid solution
Not stated by the vendorNot stated by the vendor
Community resource2026
A vendor claim. The page gives a concentration and a total content but no amount, frequency or schedule, states the product is not for human, veterinary or food use and specifically not for oxygen therapy, performance, endurance, athletic or injection use, and publishes a per-lot certificate reporting 99.07% HPLC purity. It cites three genuine papers, all rodent or review work, and correctly reproduces the PubChem formula, molecular weight and CAS number.
Plus 1 community resource (a dosing guide, forum thread or vendor write-up), reported above but not linked.
Overview
ITPP, myo-inositol trispyrophosphate, is a synthetic inositol derivative that enters red blood cells through the band 3 anion transporter and binds haemoglobin, lowering its affinity for oxygen so that more oxygen is released into tissue. It was designed in Jean-Marie Lehn's laboratory in Strasbourg with Claude Nicolau, and the patent sits with NormOxys, which has tested it under the name OXY111A. Most of the work is preclinical, in mice and rats, on normalising tumour hypoxia and on exercise capacity in heart failure, but it has also completed one phase Ib dose-escalation trial in 28 patients with liver, pancreatic and biliary cancers; it is not approved anywhere, and validated methods exist for detecting it in human and equine urine because anti-doping laboratories treat it as an oxygen-transfer agent with misuse potential.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Muscle & performance
Androgen receptor modulators, myostatin pathways and exercise-mimetic research.
2
Phase Ib dose-escalation trial in advanced cancer
The only completed human trial. It was unrandomised and open-label with a 3 plus 3 design. There were 32 treatment-related toxicities, mostly hypercalcaemia, requiring little or no intervention. Of the patients, 52%.
3
Registry record for the phase I and II trial
Run by the University of Zurich and listed on the registry under the trade name OXY111A. Its status is recorded as unknown, meaning the record has not been verified recently, and the planned enrolment of 69 is larger.
4
Red blood cell uptake and haemoglobin binding
This is the mechanism paper. The shift in the oxygen-haemoglobin equilibrium curve was blocked by DIDS and NAP-taurine, which inhibit band 3, the main anion transporter on the red cell membrane, and intracellular ITPP.
5
Exercise capacity in normal mice and mice with heart failure
This is the paper behind every endurance claim made for ITPP, and it is entirely in mice. Intraperitoneal dosing raised the oxygen tension at which haemoglobin is half saturated by up to 31% and maximal treadmill.
6
Tumour reoxygenation and radiotherapy in rodent models
ITPP raised tumour oxygen tension in all six models and lowered the oxygen consumption rate in all six cell lines, but had no effect on tumour perfusion. The therapeutic result was mixed and the authors say so.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Human studies and registrations
2 protocol rows on this page come from human trials, trial registrations, regulator labels or reviews of human data. Approval status and populations are stated per row.
Animal
Preclinical models
3 protocol rows describe animal, cell or toxicology work. Amounts from these rows do not translate to people.
Not graded
Community-reported use
1 row record what blogs, vendor write-ups or forums describe for ITPP. None has been verified against primary literature.
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.