The 1.5-5 mg daily entries are injectable research presets. Human evidence is predominantly topical and does not establish those systemic amounts. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
There is no regulator-approved starting dose for this research use. A low-looking number is not automatically safe.
Recorded preset1.5-5 mg / dayCalculator library reference
This is the range represented in the in-app protocol library. It describes the source record; it does not validate the regimen.
Higher exposure5 mg / day is the high library rowRisk and uncertainty increase
Higher exposure is not established as more effective. Human pharmacokinetic and long-term safety data may be absent.
Topical percentages, mg/mL wound gels, and injected milligrams are not interchangeable exposure measures.
Patterns described in source material
Daily in recorded presets
The cadence represented by the recorded calculator presets.
Topical human studies use concentration-based gels
Published experiments may use a different route, formulation, timing, or population and should not be treated as interchangeable.
No universal schedule
No single schedule has been validated across products or research contexts.
Clinical context
No controlled human trial establishes a systemic GHK-Cu injection regimen.
Storage, handling and interpretation
Lyophilized material
Keep cold, dry, and protected from light according to the manufacturer certificate or validated lab SOP.
After reconstitution
Use sterile technique, refrigerate as validated, and avoid repeated freeze-thaw cycles.
Traceability
Record lot, concentration, preparation date, and the identity/purity documentation used by the lab.
Reported protocols for GHK-Cu
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 3 clinical, 3 preclinical and 5 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
Context
Dose
Frequency
Route
Course
Source
Clinical3 rows
Topical gel for diabetic neuropathic foot ulcers, randomized trialPatients with diabetic neuropathic plantar ulcers after sharp debridement (multicenter)
1 metered dose of GHK-Cu gel (Iamin Gel) per application
Once daily
Topical to the debrided ulcer, with pressure-relieving footwear
Through wound closure (study duration not stated in the abstract)Not applicable
Median ulcer area closure was 98.5% with the gel versus 60.8% with vehicle, closure was about three times faster, and infection incidence was 7% versus 34%, with the largest effect in ulcers over 100 mm2. The study was evaluator-blinded and industry-sponsored, and a later vendor review notes that a larger 511-patient Phase 3 program failed to beat control, ending the drug-approval path.
Topical products after CO2 laser resurfacing, randomized study13 patients completing circumoral CO2 laser resurfacing
GHK-Cu skin-care regimen (concentration not stated) versus the same regimen without GHK-Cu, assessed at 12 weeks
Blinded evaluators and computer analysis found no difference in erythema resolution, wrinkles or overall skin quality between the GHK-Cu and control regimens, although patient-reported satisfaction was higher with GHK-Cu. It is a small negative study that is often left out of promotional summaries.
Phase 2 topical gel for acute wound re-epithelialization (recruiting)Healthy adults with paired 5 mm punch-biopsy wounds on the upper arm
0.1% w/w GHK-Cu gel, about 0.5 g per application
Once daily
Topical under a non-adherent dressing
14 days of application, follow-up to day 21 and scar assessment at 12 weeksNot applicable
Hudson Biotech's split-wound, double-blind, vehicle-controlled study (CuHeal, NCT07437586) started in February 2026 with primary completion planned for 2027. It is the first registered clinical trial of GHK-Cu in years and, like all human work on the compound, uses the topical route.
Preclinical3 rows
Pig systemic wound-healing dose and human extrapolation (review)Pigs with wounds, dosed systemically
About 1.1 mg/kg GHK-Cu, which the author scales to roughly 75 mg for a human
Pickart's 2012 review reports strong systemic wound healing in pigs at about 1.1 mg/kg and places that dose roughly 300-fold below the level at which GHK-Cu lowers blood pressure, while suggesting much lower doses might work because cells respond at 1 nanomolar. The author discovered and commercialized the peptide, and none of these figures has been tested in people.
LPS acute lung injury pretreatment (mice)Male C57BL/6 mice, 5-7 per group
1 or 10 mcg/g (1 or 10 mg/kg) in 100 microliters of saline
Once every 24 hours for 3 days before intratracheal LPS
The 10 mg/kg pretreatment reduced lung injury scores, neutrophil infiltration, BALF protein and TNF-alpha and IL-6, and raised SOD activity and glutathione, through suppression of NF-kappaB p65 and p38 MAPK signaling. It is a short prevention model in mice with no relevance to cosmetic or repair dosing in people.
GHK-Cu reduced inflammatory and fibrotic changes, BALF TNF-alpha, IL-6 and myeloperoxidase, collagen deposition and epithelial-mesenchymal transition markers, acting through Nrf2, NF-kappaB and TGF-beta1/Smad pathways. The dose range spans two orders of magnitude and the study reports no toxicology or pharmacokinetics.
Community-reported5 rows
Clinic 30-day escalation protocol (Beverly Hills)
1 mg (days 1-15) then 2 mg (days 16-30); working range 0.5-3 mg
Once daily, typically evening
Subcutaneous
30 days on30 days off
Community resource2026
This clinic guide, published July 2026, reconstitutes a 50 mg vial in 2 mL bacteriostatic water (25 mg/mL) so that 1 mg is 4 units and 2 mg is 8 units, and lists conservative (0.5-1 mg), standard (1 to 2 mg escalation) and higher-intensity (2-3 mg) tiers. It states that the most-studied route is topical, that injectable GHK-Cu is compounded rather than approved, and that its compounding status changed during 2026 with a PCAC review pending.
Clinic 30-day bedtime protocol (Florida)
1 mg (4 units) days 1-15, 2 mg (8 units) days 16-30
Once daily before bed, at least 2 hours after the last meal
Subcutaneous, rotating abdominal sites
30 days on30 days off; continuous dosing is described as outside the protocol
Community resource2026
One clinic's nurse-practitioner-written page uses the same 50 mg in 2 mL reconstitution and the same two-step escalation, with the first injection given in clinic and the rest at home. It lists a 0.5-1 mg conservative start and 2-4% topical products as alternatives and recounts that FDA removed GHK-Cu from its compounding Category 1 list in April 2026 after nominations were withdrawn.
Wiki protocol table (injection and topical)
1-2 mg (injection); 0.01-1% creams and serums; 0.5-2% research wound gels; 0.01-0.1% scalp solutions
Once daily (injection; some protocols 3-5 injections per week); topical once or twice daily
Subcutaneous (abdomen or thigh) or topical
4-8 weeks on (injection); 8-12 weeks for visible topical results; 12-24 weeks for hair2-4 weeks off, with 4 weeks sometimes used between cycles
Community resource2026
Updated January 2026, this wiki attributes the injection figures to practitioner protocols and community use and points out that 1-2 mg a day is far above endogenous plasma GHK of 80-200 ng/mL. It suggests baseline and 4-week serum copper and ceruloplasmin checks for injection use and lists Wilson's disease and copper overload as contraindications.
Forum-reported range with loading phases
1-4 mg per day
Once daily; some protocols describe a higher loading phase then maintenance
Subcutaneous
4-8 week cyclesNot specified
Community resource2026
One community guide records the 1-4 mg forum range while stating that no peer-reviewed study has tested subcutaneous, intramuscular or intravenous GHK-Cu in humans for any endpoint. It notes the compound's late-2023 placement in FDA compounding Category 2, a February 2026 HHS announcement of intent to restore it to Category 1, and its absence from the WADA list.
Reconstitution chart and the origin of the 1.7 mg figure
No established injectable dose; 1.7 mg daily is the figure most often repeated online
Daily, morning (as circulated)
Subcutaneous (as circulated)
8 weeks on (as circulated)8 weeks off (as circulated)
Community resource2026
A pharmacist-written July 2026 chart gives the dilution math for 50 mg and 100 mg vials (at 25 mg/mL, 1 mg is 4 units) but refuses to call any unit count a dose, because tracing the common 1.7 mg, 8-on/8-off protocol leads only to topical studies, nanomolar cell work or no citation at all. It estimates that 1.7 mg of GHK-Cu carries roughly 267 mcg of copper, about the daily intravenous copper dose used in parenteral nutrition.
How a course is commonly described
1
Days 1-15Community-reported
Clinic protocols begin at 1 mg subcutaneously once a day, usually in the evening, from a 50 mg vial reconstituted to 25 mg/mL (4 units). Guides describe a possible sting at the injection site from the copper and treat this phase as establishing tissue exposure.
2
Days 16-30Community-reported
The dose doubles to 2 mg (8 units) for the second half of the month in the two clinic protocols, which describe the escalation as deliberate rather than a response to side effects. Wiki and forum ranges of 1-4 mg sit around this step.
3
Weeks 5-8Community-reported
Protocols that run longer than a month hold 1-2 mg daily, or 3-5 injections a week, to a total of 4-8 weeks. Topical users are told to expect visible change only after 8-12 weeks, and hair protocols run 12-24 weeks; a 4-week serum copper check is suggested for injection use.
4
BreakCommunity-reported
Clinic protocols rest for 30 days after a 30-day course; wiki protocols describe 2-4 weeks off after 4-8 weeks on; the widely copied 8-weeks-on, 8-weeks-off pattern has no traceable primary source. The reasons given are copper handling and receptor sensitivity, neither of which has been measured in people.
5
Clinical comparisonClinical
Every human study applied GHK-Cu to skin: a metered daily gel dose on debrided diabetic ulcers until closure in 1994, a 12-week post-laser regimen in 2006, and 14 days of 0.1% gel in the 2026 Phase 2 trial. No human study has injected GHK-Cu on any schedule, so the course above has no clinical counterpart.
The 30-day and 4-8 week injection cycles come from clinics and community practice. The human evidence for GHK-Cu is topical, and no published study has measured the pharmacokinetics, copper distribution or safety of injected GHK-Cu in people.
Each milligram of GHK-Cu carries copper; one 2026 chart estimates that the common 1.7 mg daily figure delivers about 267 mcg of copper, comparable to a day's intravenous copper in parenteral nutrition. Several sources suggest serum copper and ceruloplasmin monitoring and name Wilson's disease as a contraindication.
GHK-Cu is a cosmetic ingredient and research chemical, not an approved injectable drug. It was placed in FDA compounding Category 2 in 2023 and its compounding status was being re-evaluated in 2026; the rows above describe what sources report, not recommendations.
Plus 6 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Overview
GHK-Cu is the copper(II) complex of glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine, a tripeptide first isolated from human plasma by Loren Pickart in 1973 and released from proteins such as albumin and collagen at sites of injury. The copper is held by the glycine amine, the histidine imidazole and a deprotonated amide nitrogen, which is why the complex is described as a non-toxic copper carrier, and its plasma level is reported to fall from about 200 ng/mL at age 20 to 80 ng/mL by 60. Nearly all human evidence is topical: a 1994 vehicle-controlled gel trial in diabetic foot ulcers, a 2006 post-laser study that found no objective benefit, cosmetic cream studies, and a Phase 2 topical wound-gel trial that began recruiting in 2026. Injected GHK-Cu rests on mouse and pig experiments plus clinic and community practice; it is sold as the cosmetic ingredient Copper tripeptide-1 and as a research chemical, was placed in the FDA's compounding Category 2 in 2023 with its status under review again in 2026, and is not named on the WADA list according to the sources below.
What researchers are exploring
These themes describe recurring questions in published research. They are not claims of effectiveness or recommendations for use.
1
Wound repair
Cell, animal, and limited topical human studies examine closure and matrix remodeling.
2
Skin extracellular matrix
Research measures collagen, elastin, glycosaminoglycans, and metalloproteinase balance.
3
Copper delivery
GHK binds copper and may modulate its local availability.
4
Topical cosmetics
Most human experience concerns topical formulations, not injection.
What the current evidence can support
Study models remain visible so laboratory and animal findings are not mistaken for established human outcomes.
Human
Mixed topical trial findings
A small diabetic-ulcer study reported benefit, while a post-laser split-face trial found no objective improvement.
Animal
Repair models
Wound models report changes in epithelialization, collagen, and inflammatory markers.
Review
Broad mechanistic literature
Reviews summarize multiple pathways but contain claims not yet validated in controlled humans.
Amounts recorded for GHK-Cu
These amount records are independent from vial strength, reconstitution volume and measuring device. A recorded source is not the same as study backing, and these values are not recommendations.
1
Dose · lower endpointSign in for schedule, duration and source context.
1 mg
2
Lower recordedSign in for schedule, duration and source context.
1.5 mg
3
Dose · upper endpointSign in for schedule, duration and source context.
5 mg
Chemistry identifiers
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.