Important limitations
- Individual claims and source links have not yet completed editorial verification.
- Evidence level, applicable study model, formulation, route and population remain unassigned.
Bronchogen is a bioregulatory peptide known for its targeted effects on lung tissues.
The moderated mass amounts below are retained for comparison. Near-duplicates, mix-dependent volumes and device markings are excluded. This is educational source context, not a protocol or recommendation.
Recorded example with no verified study backing; shown for amount literacy only.
Recorded example with no verified study backing; shown for amount literacy only.
Only mcg or mg amounts are retained. The calculator derives mL, syringe units or pen clicks from the current vial strength, water volume and device.
No clinical amount or schedule is inferred from this material. Source verification is pending, and every displayed amount remains educational context rather than guidance.
Verify the exact compound, formulation and amount against the product label or certificate before calculation.
Follow the product label, certificate and validated laboratory SOP; no universal storage assumption is applied here.
Label concentration and preparation date, use sterile technique where applicable, and follow a validated stability protocol.
What published studies and recent community write-ups report about amounts, timing and course length. 7 preclinical and 5 community-reported rows, each linked to its source. These are descriptions of what others report, not instructions, and nothing here is medical advice.
| Context | Dose | Frequency | Route | Course | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preclinical7 rows | |||||
| Rat lung explant culture, the first bronchogen reportOrganotypic tissue cultures from young and old rats | 0.05 ng/mL | Added to the culture medium | In vitro | Not applicableNot applicable | Advances in Gerontology (PubMed)2006 |
| This 2006 Russian-language paper introduced the whole series, reporting that each peptide stimulated the tissue it was designed for: bronchogen in lung explants, cardiogen in heart, prostamax in prostate and pancragen in pancreas. The 0.05 ng/mL figure is a culture concentration and is the only quantity in the published lung work. | |||||
| Human bronchial epithelial cell culturesHuman embryonic bronchoepithelial cell cultures at the 1st, 7th and 14th passages | Concentration not stated in the abstract; effects measured across 3 passage stages | Added to the culture medium | In vitro | Measured over daysNot applicable | Lung (PubMed)2014 |
| The peptide changed levels of Ki67, Mcl-1, p53, CD79 and NOS-3 and raised expression of the differentiation genes NKX2-1, SCGB1A1, SCGB3A2, FOXA1 and FOXA2 plus MUC4, MUC5AC and SFTPA1, with the strongest effect on proliferation in the oldest cultures. Spectrophotometry, viscometry and circular dichroism placed the peptide in the DNA major groove at the N7 position of guanine. This paper uses the ADEL spelling. | |||||
| Rat COPD modelRats given chronic obstructive lung disease by 60 days of intermittent nitrogen dioxide exposure | Not stated in the English abstract; given as a 1-month course | Not specified | Not specified in the English abstract | 1 month, starting after the 60-day exposureNot applicable | Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine (PubMed)2015 |
| A month of treatment removed the goblet cell hyperplasia, squamous metaplasia, lymphocytic infiltration and emphysema that define the model and restored ciliated cells, while secretory IgA rose and the cell and cytokine profile of the bronchoalveolar space normalized. This is the most clinically relevant bronchogen study and it was run by a university pulmonology institute, but it is one model with no dose-response arm and no independent replication. | |||||
| Second report on the same rat modelRats in the same 60-day nitrogen dioxide COPD model | Not stated in the English abstract; 1 course of peptide treatment after the 60-day exposure | Not specified | Not specified | A treatment course, duration given as 1 month in the companion paperNot applicable | Russian Journal of Physiology (PubMed)2017 |
| This 2017 Russian-language follow-up from the same group added measurements of surfactant protein B and enzyme activity in lavage fluid, reporting that both the structure and the function of the bronchial epithelium were restored. It is the same model and the same team rather than an independent check. | |||||
| DNA thermostability experimentsCalf thymus and mouse liver DNA in cell-free assays | Low peptide-to-base-pair ratios, raising the DNA melting temperature by 3.1 degrees Celsius | Single exposure | In vitro | Not applicableNot applicable | Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine (PubMed)2011 |
| A Tbilisi group measured that bronchogen stabilizes the double helix without preferring AT-rich or GC-rich regions, binding both strands mainly through the bases. A companion study found the peptide unfolded nucleosome cores in histone H1-depleted rat liver chromatin, releasing about 15% of core DNA, which the authors read as greater access for transcription. | |||||
| Plant cell culture workTobacco callus cultures | 10 to the minus 7 through 10 to the minus 9 molar | Added to the growth medium | In vitro | Not applicableNot applicable | Biochemistry (Moscow) (PubMed)2017 |
| Russian agricultural biotechnologists found that AEDL, epitalon and vilon changed growth, differentiation and CLE, KNOX1 and GRF gene expression in tobacco cultures at very low concentrations. This is evidence that the molecule is biologically active at nanomolar levels, and says nothing about lungs. | |||||
| Transporter modelling for oral absorptionComputational docking of 26 ultrashort peptides into transporter structures | Not applicable; AEDL ranked 6th of 26 at PEPT1 and 20th of 26 at LAT1 by the scoring function | Not applicable | In silico | Not applicableNot applicable | Biomolecules (PubMed)2023 |
| This 2023 paper from the developers is the only retrievable basis for the claim that AEDL can cross the gut wall, and it is a computer model with no measurement behind it. No pharmacokinetic study of bronchogen exists for oral, injected or inhaled dosing in any species. | |||||
| Community-reported5 rows | |||||
| Khavinson oral capsule framework | 200-400 mcg (1 to 2 capsules) | Once daily | Oral capsules sold as a food supplement in Russia | 10-30 daysCourses repeated 2 to 3 times a year | Community resource2026 |
| This 2026 page reproduces the dosing framework used across the Khavinson supplement line and states plainly that it comes from the Russian supplement formulation rather than from dose-finding studies, and that no study has compared different oral doses of this peptide for any endpoint. It notes that scaling the animal figures to a human oral dose requires several unvalidated assumptions. | |||||
| Community table of forms and routes | 200-400 mcg per oral capsule; 5-10 mg of research powder taken by mouth or sublingually; 100-200 mcg by injection | Once or twice daily depending on the form | Oral capsule, sublingual or subcutaneous and intramuscular injection | 10-20 days2-3 courses a year, often timed before the winter respiratory season | Community resource2026 |
| This 2026 page sets the Russian microdose capsule beside the research-powder figures and points out that the powder doses are orders of magnitude higher while oral bioavailability of short peptides is poorly characterized. It attributes the short-course-with-breaks pattern to a presumed persistence of gene expression effects rather than to any measurement. | |||||
| Reconstitution reference that declines to give a protocol | No established human dose; a 20 mg vial in 3 mL gives 6.67 mg/mL, so a 200 mcg reference amount is about 3 units on a U-100 syringe | Not specified | Not specified | Not specifiedNot specified | Community resource2026 |
| This page publishes the arithmetic for a 20 mg research vial while stating that the table is not a dose ladder, that no human dose has ever been established and that no trial is registered. It contrasts the vial size with the published laboratory concentrations, which are a thousand-fold smaller, to make the gap explicit. | |||||
| Editorial review of the whole evidence base | Only laboratory concentrations exist: 0.05 ng/mL in lung explants and 10 to the minus 7 through 10 to the minus 9 molar in plant cultures | Not applicable | Culture medium in every published study where the route is stated | 1 month in the rat model; days in cell cultureNot applicable | Community resource2026 |
| A September 2026 review reports searching PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov for both spellings and finding no clinical study, case report or registered trial. It also flags the open safety questions the research itself raises: the peptide stimulates proliferation most strongly in old cultures, raises an anti-apoptotic protein and increases MUC5AC expression, and has never been through a standard genotoxicity assay. | |||||
| Audit of the one human treatment claim | No dose given anywhere in the human claim; the registry returns 1 result for the term and it is unrelated | Not stated | Oral, per the claim | Not statedNot stated | Community resource2026 |
| This 2026 audit traces the only human treatment claim to a sentence in a 2020 review with Khavinson among the authors, which says oral use of AEDL is effective for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and chronic bronchitis, and reports that no primary human trial could be retrieved under it. It also checked the single ClinicalTrials.gov hit for the word bronchogen and found a lung cancer biomarker study with no connection to the peptide. | |||||
Community protocols begin and stay at a flat microgram dose, most often 200 to 400 mcg a day by mouth, with no titration described. Ten days is the shortest course length in circulation and the convention comes from the Khavinson supplement line rather than from any study.
The full course described online runs 10 to 30 days at the same dose, sometimes paired with chonluten, a different and shorter peptide the same group also links to bronchial cells. No human measurement exists at any point in this window.
Courses are repeated two or three times a year with long gaps between them, which guides justify by a presumed lasting change in gene expression rather than by any measured persistence. Some community pages tie the timing to the start of the respiratory infection season.
The only in vivo timeline is the rat model: after 60 days of nitrogen dioxide exposure had produced the disease, one month of treatment reversed the airway remodelling and raised secretory IgA. The paper does not state the dose or the route in its English abstract, so the one-month figure is the only part of that protocol that transfers.
Plus 5 community resources (dosing guides, forum threads and vendor write-ups), reported above but not linked.
Bronchogen is a four-residue synthetic peptide, Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, from the series of short peptide bioregulators designed by Vladimir Khavinson's group at the St Petersburg Institute of Bioregulation and Gerontology, which built each peptide from the amino acid composition of an organ extract and assigned it to that organ. It was first reported in 2006 alongside cardiogen for the heart and pancragen for the pancreas, and the lung claim rests on cell-culture work in human bronchial epithelium, one rat model of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease run by a St Petersburg pulmonology institute, and a set of DNA and histone binding experiments. There are no human studies, no registered trials and no pharmacokinetic data for any route. It is sold as a food supplement in Russia and as a research chemical elsewhere, and is not an approved medicine in any country. One inconsistency worth knowing: PubChem and most of the group's papers give the sequence as AEDL while two papers write it as ADEL, and because the two have identical mass a certificate of analysis cannot tell them apart by weight alone.
These themes organize the educational information currently available. Individual claims remain under source review and are not treatment claims.
Bronchogen's role in DNA stability and telomerase regulation
Understanding telomerase activation and its relationship with DNA health and cancer risk
How Bronchogen contributes to DNA stabilization and tissue health
Bronchogen's ability to stimulate cellular repair processes and regeneration
Bronchogen's tissue-specific effects and mechanisms of action
Bronchogen's effects on lung epithelium restoration and surfactant production
Available context is organized without assigning unsupported study models or evidence grades.
Bronchogen's role in DNA stability and telomerase regulation
Understanding telomerase activation and its relationship with DNA health and cancer risk
These amount records are independent from vial strength, reconstitution volume and measuring device. A recorded source is not the same as study backing, and these values are not recommendations.
Sequence, synonyms and registry identifiers as recorded in PubChem, the National Library of Medicine's open chemistry database. Formula, mass and CAS number are summarized at the top of the page.
Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu
Bronchogen, AEDL peptide, Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, ADEL (the spelling used in two of the developers' papers), SCHEMBL4406472, EX-A16858
OFZRHTIWKZWPQF-BJDJZHNGSA-N
Peptide research profile
(2S)-2-[[(2S)-2-[[(2S)-2-[[(2S)-2-aminopropanoyl]amino]-4-carboxybutanoyl]amino]-3-carboxypropanoyl]amino]-4-methylpentanoic acid
1 link carried over from the earlier page, awaiting verification.